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and our most vulnerable Missourians out of harm’s way. Through our work together, we were able to make 
positive, substantive changes to our state laws that will in turn improve the quality of life for Missouri 
families all across the state.
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information helpful.
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HOUSE APPROPRIATIONS BILLS

1 	 Public Debt
General Revenue 	 $ 64,790,980 	 $ 59,199,900
Federal Funds 	 0 	 0
Other Funds 	 3,040,998 	 2,748,834
Total 	 $ 67,831,978 # 	 61,948,734

2 	 Elementary and Secondary Education
General Revenue 	 $ 3,146,905,409 	 $ 3,220,532,590
Federal Funds 	 1,086,371,024 	 1,087,047,244
Other Funds 	 1,630,585,938 	 1,481,835,593
Total 	 $ 5,863,862,371 	 $ 5,789,415,427

3 	 Higher Education
General Revenue 	 $ 928,930,254 	 $ 933,638,908
Federal Funds 	 5,783,795 	 3,659,999
Other Funds 	 337,425,964 	 329,520,659
Total 	 $ 1,272,140,013 	 $ 1,266,819,566

4 	 Revenue
General Revenue 	 $ 84,817,692 	 $ 88,434,330
Federal Funds 	 4,104,865 	 4,106,285
Other Funds 	 417,570,940 	 417,591,145
Total 	 $ 506,493,497 	 $ 510,131,760

4 	 Transportation
General Revenue 	 $ 16,094,129 	 $ 19,544,129
Federal Funds 	 138,471,517 	 117,374,861
Other Funds 	 2,018,154,733 	 2,025,293,824
Total 	 $ 2,172,720,379 	 $ 2,162,212,814

5 	 Office of Administration
General Revenue 	 $ 175,979,939 	 $ 174,641,743
Federal Funds 	 82,168,124 	 80,848,933
Other Funds 	 244,085,398 	 47,828,178
Total 	 $ 502,233,461 	 $ 303,318,854

5 	 Employee Benefits
	 General Revenue 	 $ 553,273,629 	 $ 552,246,544
	 Federal Funds 	 200,407,811 	 203,254,397
	 Other Funds 	 176,773,262 	 178,237,485
	 Total 	 $ 930,454,702 	 $ 933,738,426

6 	 Agriculture
	 General Revenue 	 $ 10,449,767 	 $ 11,429,947
	 Federal Funds 	 4,119,200 	 4,227,223
	 Other Funds 	 22,808,719 	 26,674,661
	 Total 	 $ 37,377,686 	 $ 42,331,831
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6 	 Natural Resources
	 General Revenue 	 $ 9,858,085	  $ 10,829,503
	 Federal Funds 	 50,321,492 	 49,996,693
	 Other Funds 	 498,140,316 	 499,654,886
	 Total 	 $ 558,319,893 	 $ 560,481,082

6	 Conservation
	 General Revenue 	 $ 0 	 $ 0
	 Federal Funds 	 0 	 0
	 Other Funds 	 148,119,522 	 149,505,752
	 Total 	 $ 148,119,522 	 $ 149,505,752

7 	 Economic Development
	 General Revenue 	 $ 88,324,611 	 $ 80,948,436
	 Federal Funds 	 215,981,003 	 213,180,393
	 Other Funds 	 66,299,076 	 68,332,133
	 Total 	 $ 370,604,690 	 $ 362,460,962

7 	 Insurance Fin Inst Prof Reg
	 General Revenue 	 $ 0 	 $ 0
	 Federal Funds 	 1,780,723 	 1,783,233
	 Other Funds 	 39,025,593 	 38,885,687
	 Total 	 $ 40,806,316 	 $ 40,668,920

7 	 Labor and Industrial Relations
	 General Revenue 	 $ 2,363,480 	 $ 2,248,549
	 Federal Funds 	 56,269,319 	 56,438,358
	 Other Funds 	 127,007,214 	 132,302,452
	 Total 	 $ 185,640,013 	 $ 190,989,359

8 	 Public Safety
	 General Revenue 	 $ 82,676,629 	 $ 69,471,854
	 Federal Funds 	 216,584,319 	 259,512,068
	 Other Funds 	 400,265,476 	 405,698,166
	 Total 	 $ 699,526,424 	 $ 734,682,088

9 	 Corrections
	 General Revenue 	 $ 670,432,531 	 $ 661,290,269
	 Federal Funds	  5,240,196 	 5,120,976
	 Other Funds 	 49,483,746 	 43,757,083
	 Total 	 $ 725,156,473 	 $ 710,168,328

10 	 Mental Health
	 General Revenue 	 $ 704,514,408 	 $ 730,121,321
	 Federal Funds 	 989,231,138 	 1,036,234,036
	 Other Funds 	 59,302,153 	 70,165,791
	 Total 	 $ 1,753,047,699 	 $ 1,836,521,148
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10 	 Health
	 General Revenue 	 $ 286,713,941 	 $ 330,849,608
	 Federal Funds 	 874,857,218 	 897,128,596
	 Other Funds 	 19,541,552 	 25,263,551
	 Total 	 $ 1,181,112,711 	 $ 1,253,241,755

11 	 Social Services
	 General Revenue 	 $ 1,532,947,954 	 $ 1,532,392,881
	 Federal Funds 	 4,617,465,281 	 4,567,783,131
	 Other Funds 	 2,505,121,648 	 2,510,021,896
	 Total 	 $ 8,655,534,883 	 $ 8,610,197,908

12 	 Elected Officials
	 General Revenue 	 $ 50,632,537 	 $ 51,071,181
	 Federal Funds 	 21,391,823 	 21,684,729
	 Other Funds 	 51,745,567 	 50,800,240
	 Total 	 $ 123,769,927 	 $ 123,556,150

12 	 Judiciary
	 General Revenue 	 $ 181,428,670 	 $ 183,058,930
	 Federal Funds 	 10,624,985 	 10,692,756
	 Other Funds 	 14,368,791 	 14,379,370
	 Total 	 $ 206,422,446 	 $ 208,131,056

12 	 Public Defender
	 General Revenue 	 $ 39,739,909 	 $ 36,422,010
	 Federal Funds 	 125,000 	 125,000
	 Other Funds 	 2,982,583 	 2,983,293
	 Total 	 $ 42,847,492 	 $ 39,530,303

12 	 General Assembly
	 General Revenue 	 $ 33,475,985 	 $ 35,438,373
	 Federal Funds 	 0 	 0
	 Other Funds 	 293,540 	 294,005
	 Total 	 $ 33,769,525 	 $ 35,732,378

13 	 Statewide Leasing
	 General Revenue 	 $ 70,562,638 	 $ 71,014,354
	 Federal Funds 	 18,606,615 	 18,531,107
	 Other Funds 	 13,502,006 	 13,446,298
	 Total 	 $ 102,671,259 	 $ 102,991,759

	 Total Operating Budget
	 General Revenue 	 $ 8,734,913,177 	 $ 8,854,825,360
	 Federal Funds 	 8,599,905,448 	 8,638,730,018
	 Other Funds1 	 8,845,644,735 	 8,535,220,982
	 Total 	 $ 26,180,463,360 	 $ 26,028,776,360
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Supplemental & Capital Improvement Appropriations

14	 Supplemental
	 General Revenue	 $120,046,498	 $0
	 Federal Funds	 89,303,140	
	 Other Funds	 41,065,520	 2.58
	 Total	 $250,415,158	 2.58

16	 SEMA
	 General Revenue	 $8,555,580	 $0
	 Federal Funds	 124,291,299	 0
	 Other Funds	 0	 0
	 Total	 $132,846,879	 $0

	 Total
	 General Revenue	 $128,602,078	 $0
	 Federal Funds	 213,594,439	 0
	 Other Funds	 41,065,520	 2.58
	 Total	 $383,262,037	 $2.58

18	 Capital Improvements
	 General Revenue	 $74,450,000	
	 Federal Funds	 22,350,000	
	 Other Funds	 64,967,748	
	 Total	 $161,767,748

19	 New Construction	
	 General Revenue	 $19,375,000
	 Federal Funds	 0
	 Other Funds	 376,694,084
	 Total	 $376,694,084

House
Bill

FY 2015
TAFP 

After Veto

FY 2015
TAFP
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SCS HB 41 -- SCHOOL FOUNDATION FORMULA
This bill repeals obsolete provisions of law 

regarding the school foundation formula.

CCS SCS HCS HB 42 -- ELEMENTARY AND 
SECONDARY EDUCATION

(Vetoed by the Governor)
This bill changes the laws regarding elementary 

and secondary education.

DEFINITIONS (Sections 160.011 and 167.848, RSMo)
The definition of “graduation rate” is revised 

to the graduation rate determined by the annual 
performance report required by the Missouri School 
Improvement Program.

The bill adds various definitions for terms 
regarding student transfers.

CHARTER SCHOOLS (Section 160.400)
Currently, charter schools may only be operated 

in specified school districts.  The bill repeals the 
current restrictions on when a charter school 
may operate in a provisionally accredited district 
and allows a charter school to operate in any 
provisionally accredited district at any time.  The bill 
adds that they may be operated in a school district 
with all or most of its land area located in Jackson 
County except in school districts that are accredited 
without provisions and with less than 3,000 resident 
students.  A district with most or all of its land in 
St. Louis County may also operate a charter school 
under these provisions.

The bill repeals the requirement that a two-year 
private vocational or technical school be a member 
of the North Central Association in order to be a 
charter school sponsor.  

The bill requires that the contract between a 
sponsor and a charter school contain performance 
consequences aligned with annual performance 
report evaluations of public schools. 

A sponsor’s policies and procedures must require 
charter schools to meet current state academic 
performance standards as well as other standards 
agreed upon by the sponsor and the charter school 
in the performance contract.

When a sponsor notifies a charter school of 
closure, the Department of Elementary and 
Secondary Education must withhold funds to assure 
all obligations of the charter school are met.  The 
state, charter school’s sponsor, or resident district 
must not be liable for any outstanding liability or 
obligations of the charter school.

 APPLICATION AND APPROVAL EXEMPTION 
(Section 160.403)

The bill exempts the Missouri Charter Public 
School Commission from the Department of 
Elementary and Secondary Education’s annual 
application and approval process for entities eligible 
to be a sponsor of a charter school.

 CHARTER SCHOOLS AND SPONSORS       
(Section 160.405)

A charter must include a time frame for 
implementation between a charter school and the 
sponsor as to when a sponsor will intervene in a 
charter school.

Currently, the State Board of Education must 
approve a charter by December 1 of the year prior 
to the proposed opening date of the charter school.  
The bill requires the state board to approve a 
charter by January 31 prior to the school year of the 
proposed opening date of the charter school. 

Currently, when a sponsor approves a charter and 
submits the application to the state board, it must 
include a statement of finding that the application 
meets statutory requirements.  The bill requires the 
sponsor to prepare the statement of finding.

The state board must approve or deny a charter 
application within 60 days of its receipt.  If the state 
board denies a charter application, it must do so 
in writing and identify the specific failures of the 
application to meet statutory requirements.  The 
written denial must be provided to the sponsor 
within 10 business days. 

The bill allows charter schools to provide early 
childhood education if it is specified in the charter. 

Currently, a sponsor may place a charter school 
on probationary status for no more than 12 months.  
The bill increases the time period to no more than 
24 months. 

A charter school that has an annual performance 
report consistent with a classification of accredited 
for three of the last four years and is fiscally viable 
may have an expedited renewal process as defined 
by rule of the Department of Elementary and 
Secondary Education. 

The department must calculate an annual 
performance report for each charter school and must 
publish it in the same manner as they are calculated 
and published for districts and attendance centers. 

The department must create a committee to 
investigate facility access and affordability for 
charter schools.  This committee must report its 
findings to the General Assembly by December 31, 
2015.
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HIGH-QUALITY LOCAL EDUCATIONAL AGENCIES 
(Section 160.408)

High-quality local educational agencies, as defined 
in the bill, must be provided expedited opportunities 
to replicate and expand into unaccredited districts, 
provisionally unaccredited districts, the St. Louis 
City School District, the Kansas City School District, 
St. Louis County, and Jackson County except for 
districts in Jackson County that have less than 3,000 
students and are accredited without provisions. 

A high-quality local educational agency must 
receive 80% or more of the total possible points 
on its annual performance report in three of the 
previous four school years, maintain a graduation 
rate of at least 80% for three of the last four school 
years if the charter school provides a high school 
program, be in material compliance with its legally 
binding performance contract and the charter school 
laws, and be organizationally and fiscally viable as 
specified in the bill. 

The term of the charter must be five years and 
may be renewed for terms of up to 10 years.

NONRESIDENT PUPILS (Section 160.410)
A charter school must enroll nonresident pupils 

who are residents of Missouri and have at least one 
parent employed by the charter school unless the 
pupil’s enrollment will cause a resident student to 
be denied enrollment and must enroll nonresident 
pupils from unaccredited schools in the same or an 
adjoining county who were enrolled in and attended 
an unaccredited school for at least one semester 
immediately prior to requesting the transfer who 
were unable to transfer to an accredited school in 
their district of residence.

If capacity is insufficient to enroll all pupils who 
submit a timely application, the charter school 
must have an admissions process that does not 
discriminate based on the parents’ ability to pay 
fees or tuition.

The bill changes which students are counted in the 
performance of a charter school on the statewide 
assessments.  Students enrolled in the charter 
school from the last Wednesday in September 
through the administration of the Missouri 
Assessment Program test without transferring out of 
the school and re-enrolling must be counted in the 
school’s performance in that year unless otherwise 
exempted as English language learners.

WEIGHTED AVERAGE DAILY ATTENDANCE 
(Section 160.415)

For the purposes of the calculation and distribution 
of state school aid, a charter school’s weighted 
average daily attendance must be adjusted to 

include any nonresident pupil who is a resident of 
Missouri and attends the charter school and whose 
parent is employed there. 

A charter school may receive tuition payments 
from districts in the same or an adjoining county 
for nonresident students who transfer to it from an 
unaccredited school. 

REQUIRED SCHOOL ATTENDANCE              
(Section 160.417)

The bill changes the phrase “minimum number 
of school days and hours required” to “minimum 
amount of school time required.”

MISSOURI CHARTER PUBLIC SCHOOL 
COMMISSION (Section 160.425)

The Missouri Charter Public School Commission 
may employ staff as needed to carry out its duties.  
Commission employees must be considered state 
employees for purposes of membership in the 
Missouri State Employees’ Retirement System and 
the Missouri Consolidated Health Care Plan. 

The bill creates the Missouri Charter Public School 
Commission Revolving Fund in the state treasury.

SCHOOL DISTRICT ACCREDITATION            
(Section 161.084)

If there is no State Board of Education member who 
is a resident of the Congressional district in which a 
school district under consideration for classification 
is located, the state board must assign the school 
district a classification designation of unaccredited 
or change a district’s classification designation from 
accredited to provisionally accredited only after 
notifying the Governor of its intent to change the 
classification of the district.  The Governor must 
make the required appointment to the state board 
within 30 days of the notification. 

CLASSIFICATION DESIGNATIONS (Section 161.087)
When the State Board of Education assigns 

classification designations to school districts, it must 
use one of the following designations:  unaccredited, 
provisionally accredited, accredited, and accredited 
with distinction. 

The state board must develop and implement a 
process to provide assistance teams to borderline 
districts, as determined by the Department of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, and to 
underperforming districts upon assignment of 
a classification of unaccredited or provisionally 
accredited or a determination made by the state 
board.  Each team must have at least 10 members, 
including two active classroom teachers in the 
district, two principals, and one parent of a student 
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in the district.  The department staff member 
assigned to the region may be included in the team’s 
activities but must not be formally assigned to the 
team.  The team must provide recommendations for 
improvement based on the needs of the community 
and the district and an analysis of, at a minimum, 
the assessment data, classroom practices, and the 
communication processes within buildings, within 
the district, and with the community.  The team 
must provide recommendations by June 30, 2016.  
Assignment of teams must be prioritized by the 
state board so that districts with the lower annual 
performance report scores are addressed first.  The 
suggestions must be mandatory for underperforming 
districts but not for borderline districts.  If an 
underperforming district disagrees with any 
suggestion of the assistance team, the district must 
propose a different method of accomplishing the 
goal of the team’s suggestion, and the state board 
must be the final arbiter of the matter.

ATTENDANCE CENTER ACCREDITATION     
(Section 161.238)

The State Board of Education must adopt a policy 
to classify individual attendance centers except for 
attendance centers that do not offer classes above 
the second grade level.  The policy must require 
that an attendance center’s classification be based 
solely on a three-year average of the attendance 
center’s annual performance report scores using 
the three most recent years and the state board 
must assign a classification consistent with the 
three-year average score.

The state board must implement the policy and: 
(1)  Within 45 days of the effective date of these 

provisions, for each district that is classified as 
unaccredited by the state board at that time, classify 
each of the unaccredited district’s attendance 
centers separately from the district as a whole using 
the classification designations provided in Section 
161.087; 

(2)  Within 90 days of the effective date of these 
provisions, for each district that is classified as 
provisionally accredited by the state board at that 
time, classify each of the provisionally accredited 
district’s attendance centers separately from 
the district as a whole using the classification 
designations provided in Section 161.087; and  

(3)  By January 1, 2016, for each urban school 
district, St. Louis City School District, Kansas City 
School District, and school districts with most or 
all of their land in St. Louis County, classify each 
of the district’s attendance centers separately 
from the district as a whole using the classification 
designations provided in Section 161.087.

These classifications must become effective 
immediately and remain in effect until the state board 
develops, adopts, and implements the specified 
classification system.  

By January 1, 2016, the state board must, 
through administrative rule, develop a system of 
classification that accredits attendance centers, 
except for those that do not offer classes above 
the second grade level, within a district separately 
from the district as a whole using the classification 
designations provided in Section 161.087.

Attendance centers must be assigned one of the 
following classification designations:  unaccredited, 
provisionally accredited, accredited, or accredited 
with distinction. 

The state board may assign classification 
numbers outside the range of numbers assigned to 
high schools, middle schools, junior high schools, or 
elementary schools as classification designations 
for attendance centers that are exempt from the 
accreditation classification system.  Public separate 
special education schools within a special school 
district and within a school district are exempt 
from these accreditation requirements.  However, 
a special school district must continue to report 
all scores on its annual performance report to the 
department for all of its schools.  A juvenile detention 
center within a special school district is exempted 
from these accreditation standards.  

Upon adoption of the classification system 
described in these provisions, the state board may 
change any classification it has assigned to an 
attendance center.

An attendance center that does not offer classes 
above the second grade level must be exempt from 
any requirements related to statewide assessments.

These provisions must be effective 30 days 
after publication in the Code of State Regulations 
and must not be subject to the statutory two-year 
delayed effective date.

SCHOOL TRANSFER AND IMPROVEMENT TASK 
FORCE (Section 161.1000)

The bill establishes the School Transfer and 
Improvement Task Force within the Department 
of Elementary and Secondary Education to study 
means to address failing schools, including the 
creation of a school improvement district; options 
for school transfer finance formulas; best practices 
for how to design and finance public virtual and 
blended schools; best practices and possible pilot 
projects to assist transient students; options for 
comprehensive school quality indicators leading to 
student success; options for school quality review 
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models based on successful review models currently 
in use; options for locally-created assessment and 
accountability systems; and best practices in parent 
and community engagement.  

The task force will consist of the following 
members: 

(1)  Three members of the Senate, appointed by 
the President Pro Tem of the Senate, with not more 
than two from the same party; 

(2)  One member from an education policy 
research organization in Missouri, appointed by the 
President Pro Tem of the Senate;

(3)  Three members of the House of 
Representatives, appointed by the Speaker, with not 
more than two from the same party; 

(4)  One member from a statewide business 
association, appointed by the Speaker of the House 
of Representatives; 

(5)  The Commissioner of Education, or his or her 
designee; 

(6)  One member from an education organization 
consisting exclusively of elected officials, appointed 
by the Commissioner of Education; and 

(7)  The Lieutenant Governor, or his or her 
designee.  

The task force must make recommendations by 
February 1, 2016, to the General Assembly.  The 
provisions regarding the task force will expire on 
April 30, 2016. 

DYSLEXIA (Sections 161.1005 and 633.420)
The bill:
(1)  Requires, by July 1, 2016, the Department of 

Elementary and Secondary Education to employ a 
dyslexia therapist, licensed psychometrist, licensed 
speech-language pathologist, certified academic 
language therapist, or certified training specialist 
to serve as the department’s dyslexia specialist.  
The specialist must have a minimum of three years 
of field experience in screening, identifying, and 
treating dyslexia and related disorders; 

(2)  Requires the department to ensure that the 
dyslexia specialist has completed specified training 
and received specified certification; 

(3)  Specifies the qualifications the dyslexia 
specialist must possess and the responsibilities he 
or she will have, including assisting the department 
with developing and administering specified 
programs for school districts no later than the 2016-
17 school year; 

(4)  Establishes the Legislative Task Force on 

Dyslexia and requires the Joint Committee on 
Education to provide technical and administrative 
support as required by the task force to fulfill its 
duties;

(5)  Requires the task force to meet at least 
quarterly and to advise and make recommendations 
to the Governor, General Assembly, and relevant 
state agencies regarding matters concerning 
individuals with dyslexia, including education and 
other adult and adolescent services.  The meetings 
may be held via telephone or video conference;

(6)  Requires the task force to consist of 18 
members who will serve without compensation.  Two 
must be members of the House of Representatives 
appointed by the Speaker of the House.  The 
remaining membership is specified in the bill;  

(7)  Requires the task force to make 
recommendations for a statewide system for 
identification, intervention, and delivery of supports 
for students with dyslexia including the development 
of resource materials and professional development 
activities, which must be included in a report to the 
Governor and legislature and must include findings 
and proposed legislation.  The report must be made 
available no longer than 12 months from the task 
force’s first meeting; and

(8)  Specifies what should be included in the 
recommendations and resource materials developed 
by the task force. 

The task force authorized under these provisions 
will expire on August 31, 2017.

STATE BOARD OF EDUCATION INTERVENTION 
POWERS (Section 162.081)

The bill allows the State Board of Education to 
lapse the corporate organization of all or part of 
an unaccredited school district.  If the state board 
appoints a special administrative board for the 
operation of a part of an unaccredited school district, 
it must determine an equitable apportionment of 
state and federal aid for the part of the district.  
In addition, the school district must provide local 
revenue in proportion to the weighted average daily 
attendance of the part governed by the special 
administrative board.

The state board may appoint members of the 
elected board to a special administrative board but 
members of the elected board must not comprise 
more than 49% of the special administrative board’s 
composition.

Nothing in this provision must be construed to permit 
either the state board or a special administrative 
board to raise, in any way not specifically allowed 
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by law, the tax levy of the district or any part of the 
district without a vote of the people. 

When the state board determines another form of 
governance for an unaccredited district, that other 
form of governance will be subject to the following 
provisions of law: it will retain the authority granted 
to a board of education; it will expire at the end of the 
third year of its appointment unless reauthorized; it 
will not be deemed to be the state or a state agency; 
and it will not be considered a successor entity for 
purposes of employment contracts, unemployment 
compensation, or any other purpose.

If the state board reasonably believes that a school 
district is unlikely to provide for the minimum number 
of school hours required in a school term because of 
financial difficulty, the state board may, prior to the 
start of the school term, allow continued governance 
by the existing district school board under terms and 
conditions established by the state board.  As an 
alternative, the state board may lapse the corporate 
organization of the district and implement one of the 
options available to the state board to intervene in 
an unaccredited district.  However, this provision 
must not apply to any district solely on the basis of 
financial difficulty resulting from paying tuition and 
providing transportation for transfer students.

VIRTUAL EDUCATION                                    
(Sections 162.1250 and 167.121)

Currently, when a resident student completes a 
virtual course offered by his or her school district, 
the student’s attendance upon course completion is 
calculated as 49% of the hours of attendance for the 
class delivered in a non-virtual program.  The bill 
specifies that when a student is a candidate for A+ 
tuition reimbursements, the school must attribute no 
less than 95% attendance to any student who has 
completed the virtual course. 

A parent or guardian may enroll his or her child 
in a virtual school of his or her choice if the child 
is enrolled in and has attended, for at least one 
semester immediately prior to enrolling in the virtual 
school, an unaccredited school in any district in 
this state; an attendance center in an unaccredited 
district; an attendance center in a provisionally 
accredited district; an attendance center in a district 
that has most or all of its land area located in 
Jackson County; an attendance center in a district 
that has most or all of its land area located in St. 
Louis County; or an attendance center in the St. 
Louis City School District.

If the child is eligible to begin kindergarten or 
first grade at any of these specified schools, the 
requirement that the child be enrolled in and have 
attended, for at least one semester immediately 

prior to enrolling in the virtual school, any of the 
schools does not apply.

A parent may only enroll a child in a virtual 
school that meets these requirements.  Courses in 
the virtual school must be aligned with the Show-
Me Curriculum Standards and comply with state 
requirements for teacher certification.  The state 
board must reserve the right to request information 
and materials sufficient to evaluate any on-line 
course.  These on-line courses must be considered 
like any other courses offered by a school district or 
charter school.  The student’s district of residence 
must pay tuition for any student who enrolls in a 
virtual school under these provisions.  The tuition 
amount must not exceed the state adequacy target.  
For purposes of these provisions, beginning on July 
1, 2016, the state adequacy target amount used will 
be as calculated as described in the bill.

If an unaccredited school becomes classified 
as provisionally accredited or accredited without 
provisions by the state board or if an unaccredited or 
provisionally accredited district becomes classified 
as accredited without provisions, any student who 
has enrolled in a virtual school described in these 
provisions must be permitted to continue his or her 
educational program in the virtual school through 
the completion of high school.

Unaccredited schools, unaccredited districts, and 
provisionally accredited districts must be responsible 
for notifying students, parents, and guardians of the 
virtual school options described in these provisions.  
The decision to enroll in virtual school coursework 
must be solely at the discretion of the student and 
his or her parent or guardian.  School districts and 
schools must not use the availability of a virtual 
school to prevent a student from transferring to 
another school under the school transfer law.

TRANSIENT STUDENTS                                
(Sections 162.1303 and 162.1305)

Transient student” means any student who 
withdraws from one attendance center and enrolls 
in any other attendance center two or more times 
within two school years.  

The bill requires the Department of Elementary 
and Secondary Education to annually calculate a 
transient student ratio for each attendance center, 
charter school, and local educational agency based 
on the transient student ratios of all the attendance 
centers in the district and publish the transient 
student ratio of each district, attendance center, 
charter school, and local educational agency on its 
website and in the school accountability report card 
of each district, attendance center, charter school, 
and agency.
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The transient student ratio is to be calculated 
using specified data, including the number of 
transient students enrolled in the district or school, 
the number of students who withdrew from the 
district during the school year, the number of 
students who enrolled in the district on or before 
the last Wednesday in September, and the number 
of students who enrolled in the district after the last 
Wednesday of September. 

Each school district and charter school must 
report annually to the department any information 
and data necessary for the department to calculate 
transient student ratios.

The bill specifies that in the first year of attendance 
in a district or charter school, a transient student’s 
score on a statewide assessment must not be used 
when calculating the status or progress scores on 
the district’s or charter school’s annual performance 
report score.  In the second year of attendance, the 
student’s score must be weighted at 30%.  In the 
third year of attendance, the student’s score must 
be weighted at 70%. In the fourth year of attendance 
and any subsequent years of attendance, the 
student’s score must be weighted at 100%.  A 
transient student’s growth score must be weighted 
at 100% for all the years.

PARENT NOTIFICATION OF UNACCREDITED 
STATUS (Section 162.1310)

When the State Board of Education classifies 
any district or attendance center as unaccredited, 
the district must notify the parent or guardian 
of students enrolled in the district or center and 
district taxpayers of the loss of accreditation within 
seven business days.  The notice must also include 
an explanation of which students may be able to 
transfer, the transfer process, and any services 
students may be entitled to receive.  This notice 
must be posted in a conspicuous and accessible 
place in each district attendance center and must be 
sent to each municipality located in the boundaries 
of the school district.

HOME VISITS (Section 162.1313)
The school board of any district that operates 

an underperforming school must adopt a policy 
regarding the availability of home visits by school 
personnel.  The school board’s policy may offer the 
parent or guardian of a student enrolled in the school 
the opportunity to have one or more annual home 
visits and must offer an opportunity for a meeting at 
the school or a mutually agreeable site.

STATE ADEQUACY TARGET CALCULATION 
(Section 163.011)

The bill modifies how the calculation of school 
district current operating expenses is used to 
determine the state adequacy target.  When the 
state adequacy target is recalculated, any increase 
in state funding attributable to an individual district 
must be limited to 200% of the aggregate percentage 
increase in state funding for all of the performance 
districts used in the same recalculation.  

EARLY CHILDHOOD EDUCATION FUNDING 
(Section 163.018)

The bill specifies that charter schools become 
eligible to receive state funding for early childhood 
education at the same time as the district in which 
they are located becomes eligible.  The bill also 
changes the age range used to determine the 4% 
cap on the total number of pupils included in the 
average daily attendance who are eligible for free 
or reduced lunch in order to be eligible for early 
childhood education funding from ages 3 to 18 to 
ages 5 to 18.

STATE ADEQUACY TARGET ADJUSTMENT  
(Section 163.031)

The bill delays until July 1, 2016, the implementation 
of the provision that requires the department to 
adjust the state adequacy target to accommodate 
available appropriations if the appropriations are 
not sufficient to fully fund all school districts and 
the implementation of the provision prohibiting the 
reduction of payments to hold-harmless districts.

LOCAL SCHOOL BOARD SPONSORS             
(Section 163.036)

When a local school board sponsors a charter 
school, it must only  use an estimate of the district’s 
weighted average daily attendance for the current 
year and must not use a weighted average daily 
attendance count from any preceding year for 
purposes of determining the amount of state aid to 
which it is entitled.

USE OF CERTAIN DATA FROM NEGLECTED 
CHILDREN AND DELINQUENT CHILDREN IN THE 
AGGREGATE DATA OF A SCHOOL DISTRICT 
(Section 167.127)

The bill prohibits the Department of Elementary 
and Secondary Education from creating any report 
or publication related to the Missouri School 
Improvement Program that includes data of any 
children in facilities serving neglected or delinquent 
children residing in a court-ordered group home 
from being aggregated with data from the district’s 
regularly enrolled pupils.
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STUDENT TRANSFERS (Section 167.131)
Currently, the school board of a school district 

that does not maintain an accredited school 
is required to pay the tuition of and provide 
transportation for resident pupils who attend an 
accredited school in another district of the same 
or an adjoining county.  This provision currently 
applies to both unaccredited school districts and 
K-8 school districts that do not offer high school 
grades.  The bill repeals the provisions applicable 
to unaccredited school districts so that it only 
applies to K-8 school districts.

RECEIVING DISTRICTS AND CHARTER 
SCHOOLS (Section 167.132)

A receiving district or a receiving approved 
charter school may negotiate with a sending 
district to accept a reduced tuition rate for transfer 
students and the receiving district or receiving 
approved charter school may limit the number of 
transfer students accepted at the reduced tuition 
rate as calculated under these provisions.  If the 
receiving district or receiving approved charter 
school elects to accept tuition as calculated under 
these provisions and does not limit the number of 
transfer students accepted at this reduced rate, the 
district or approved charter school must receive 
students through the education authority based 
solely on the parent request and available seats. 

Beginning in the 2015-16 school year, if 
a sending district and a receiving district or 
receiving approved charter school have agreed 
upon a reduced tuition rate, the tuition, calculated 
annually by the appropriate education authority, 
must be calculated as the product of the sum of 
the average per-pupil current expenditures of all 
available receiving districts for the sending district 
divided by the number of all available receiving 
districts for the sending district and 70%.

If there is a disagreement as to the amount of 
tuition to be paid, the facts must be submitted to 
the State Board of Education, and its decision will 
be final.  

For each of the first two full school years that 
a receiving district or receiving approved charter 
school charges a rate of tuition as calculated 
under these provisions, accepts a minimum of 25 
transfer students at the reduced rate, and does 
not limit the number of transfer students accepted 
at the reduced rate, if the aggregate scores of 
student growth of all the transfer students in the 
receiving district or receiving approved charter 
school meet or exceed targets established in the 
state accountability system, the receiving district 
or receiving approved charter school must earn 

additional credit in academic achievement on its 
annual performance report.  The department must 
promulgate an administrative rule to implement 
these provisions. 

If a receiving district elects to accept tuition as 
calculated under these provisions and does not 
limit the number of transfer students accepted at 
the reduced rate, the department must consider 
the action as an additional criterion when 
determining whether to assign the receiving district 
a classification of accredited with distinction.

If a receiving district or receiving approved charter 
school elects to accept tuition as calculated under 
these provisions and does not limit the number of 
transfer students accepted at the reduced rate, 
10% of the total amount of tuition in addition to 
the 70% for the receiving district or receiving 
approved charter school must be paid from the 
newly created Supplemental Tuition Fund. 

STUDENT PROMOTION (Section 167.642)
Any underperforming district in St. Louis County 

is prohibited from promoting any student from the 
fifth grade to the sixth grade or from the eighth 
grade to the ninth grade who is two years or more 
below grade level as measured by quantifiable 
student performance data designated by the local 
district.  This provision does not apply to any 
student with an individualized education program 
or any student receiving services through a federal 
Section 504 Plan.

SCHOOL DISTRICT IMPROVEMENT MEASURES 
(Sections 167.685 and 167.688)

Each unaccredited district must offer free 
tutoring and supplemental education services to 
underperforming and struggling students.  A district 
may use funds from the newly created School 
District Improvement Fund to the extent funds are 
available.  An unaccredited district may satisfy the 
free tutoring services requirement by entering into 
a contract with a public library for on-line tutoring 
services.  In addition, an underperforming district 
may implement a new curriculum, as specified 
in the bill; retain an outside expert to advise the 
district or school on regaining accreditation; enter 
into a contract with an education management 
company or education services provider that has 
a demonstrated record of effectiveness operating 
a school or schools; enter into a collaborative 
relationship and agreement with an accredited 
district in which teachers from both districts 
exchange positions for two school weeks; or 
implement any other change suggested by the 
state board, an approved expert or contractor, 
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or an assistance team that the board has reason 
to believe will result in improved performance for 
accreditation purposes.

Any underperforming district that offers an 
attendance recovery program designed exclusively 
to allow students to recapture attendance hours lost 
due to absences must be allowed to include the 
hours in the district’s attendance rate for purposes 
of the Missouri School Improvement Program 
accreditation scoring. 

READING, PERSONALIZED LEARNING PLANS, 
AND STUDENT RETENTION  (Section 167.730) 

Beginning July 1, 2016, every public school in the 
St. Louis City School District and Kansas City School 
District, including charter schools, must incorporate 
a response-to-intervention tiered approach to 
reading instruction for students determined by their 
school to need additional or changed instruction 
to make progress as readers.  At a minimum, the 
reading levels of students in kindergarten through 
tenth grade must be assessed at the beginning 
and middle of the school year.  Students who score 
below district benchmarks must be provided with 
intensive, systemic reading instruction.

Beginning on January 1, 2016, and each January 
1 thereafter, each public school in the St. Louis 
City School District and Kansas City School 
District, including charter schools, must prepare a 
personalized learning plan for any kindergarten or 
first grade student whose most recent school-wide 
reading assessment result shows the student is 
working below grade level.  These provisions must 
not apply to students with an individual education 
plan (IEP), students receiving services through 
a plan prepared under Section 504, or students 
determined to have limited English proficiency.  
For any student with a personalized learning plan, 
the student’s main teacher must consult with the 
student’s parent or guardian during the preparation 
of the plan, and the school must require the written 
consent of the parent or guardian to implement it.  
If a student is still performing below grade level 
through the end of the first grade year, the school 
must refer him or her for assessment to determine 
if an IEP is necessary.  If an IEP is not necessary, 
the personalized learning plan must remain in place 
until the student is reading at grade level.

Any student who is not reading at the second 
grade level in the St. Louis City School District 
and the Kansas City School District by the end of 
second grade may be promoted to third grade only 
if the school provides additional reading instruction 
during the summer and demonstrates that the 
student is ready for third grade at the end of summer 

school; the school provides a “looping” classroom 
in which the student remains with the same teacher 
for multiple years and the student is not reading at 
the third grade level by the end of third grade, the 
student must be retained; or the student’s parents or 
guardians sign a notice that they prefer to have the 
student promoted except that the school must have 
the final determination on the issue. 

The St. Louis City School District, the Kansas City 
School District, and each charter school located in 
them must provide in the annual school accountability 
report card the numbers and percentages by grade 
from first grade to tenth grade in each school of any 
student at any grade level who has been promoted 
but who has been determined as reading below 
grade level, except that any reporting must not 
permit the identification of an individual student.

School districts and charter schools subject to this 
requirement may provide for a student promotion 
and retention program and a reading instruction 
program that are equivalent to those which are 
described in these provisions with the oversight 
and approval of the Department of Elementary and 
Secondary Education.

TRANSFER PROGRAM (Section 167.825)
For school year 2015-16, students who participated 

in the transfer program that existed on July 1, 2013, 
must be allowed to participate under the same terms 
that governed the transfers in school year 2013-14, 
except for the determination of the tuition amount. 

For school year 2015-16, any student who 
transferred from an unaccredited district to an 
accredited district in the same or an adjoining county 
in school year 2013-14 or school year 2014-15 but 
did not attend a public school in the unaccredited 
district for the semester prior to the transfer, unless 
the student was entering kindergarten or first grade 
when he or she transferred, must no longer be 
eligible to transfer in school year 2015-16.

For school year 2015-16 if an unaccredited district 
becomes provisionally accredited or accredited 
without provisions, any resident student who has 
transferred must be permitted to continue his or 
her educational program in the receiving district 
through the completion of middle school, junior 
high school, or high school, whichever occurs 
first, and as specified in the bill.  However, any 
student must have previously attended a school in 
the unaccredited district for at least one semester 
before initially transferring, unless the student 
was entering kindergarten or was a first grade 
student.  The student must maintain residence in 
the unaccredited district.  A student who returns to 
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his or her district of residence must be ineligible to 
transfer again.

Any student who was participating in the school 
transfer program before January 1, 2015, and who 
attended, for at least one semester immediately prior 
to transferring, a school in an unaccredited district 
must have the option of transferring to a virtual 
school as specified in the bill, an approved charter 
school, or another public school in the student’s 
district of residence that offers the student’s grade 
level of enrollment.

STUDENT TRANSFERS (Section 167.826)
Any student may transfer to another public 

school in his or her district of residence that offers 
the student’s grade level of enrollment and that is 
accredited without provisions by the state board 
if the student is enrolled in and has attended an 
unaccredited school in an unaccredited district for 
the full semester immediately prior to requesting 
the transfer.  Any student may transfer to another 
public school in the student’s district of residence 
that offers the student’s grade level of enrollment 
and that is accredited without provisions by the 
state board if the student is enrolled in and has 
attended an unaccredited school, for the full 
semester immediately prior to requesting the 
transfer, in an urban school district, the St. Louis 
City School District, a district that has most or all 
of its land area located in St. Louis County, or a 
district that has most or all of its land area located 
in Jackson County.  However, student transfers 
within the district of residence cannot result in a 
class size and assigned enrollment in a receiving 
school that exceeds the standard level for class 
size and assigned enrollment under the Missouri 
School Improvement Program resource standards.  
The school board of each district that operates an 
unaccredited school must determine the capacity 
at each of the district’s accredited schools.  The 
district’s school board must be responsible for 
coordinating the transfers within the district.  
Students enrolled in and attending an attendance 
center only offering kindergarten through grade two 
are not eligible to transfer to another school.

Any student who has first attempted and is unable 
to transfer to an accredited school within his or 
her district of residence due to a lack of capacity 
at accredited schools in the district of residence 
may apply to the appropriate education authority 
to transfer to an accredited school in another 
district in the same or an adjoining county or an 
approved charter school in another district located 
in the same or an adjoining county.  After the state 
board has assigned classification designations to 

all attendance centers and continuing thereafter, 
any student who is eligible to transfer under these 
provisions and who has first attempted but is unable 
to transfer to an accredited school within his or 
her district of residence due to a lack of capacity 
in accredited schools in the district of residence 
may apply to the appropriate education authority to 
transfer to an accredited school in another district 
located in the same or an adjoining county or to an 
approved charter school in another district located 
in the same or an adjoining county.

The application to the education authority to 
transfer must be made by March 1 before the school 
year in which the student intends to transfer.

A student who is eligible to begin kindergarten or 
first grade at an unaccredited school may apply to 
the appropriate education authority for a transfer 
if he or she resides in the attendance area of the 
unaccredited school on March 1 preceding the 
school year of first attendance.  A student who does 
not apply by March 1 must be required to enroll and 
attend for one semester to become eligible.  Any 
student who does not maintain residence in the 
attendance area of his or her attendance center 
must lose transfer eligibility.  A student who transfers 
but later withdraws must also lose transfer eligibility.

An unaccredited district, provisionally accredited 
district, unaccredited school, or provisionally 
accredited school cannot be eligible to receive 
transfer students, except that, within an unaccredited 
district, students may transfer from unaccredited 
schools to accredited schools, and a transfer student 
who chooses to attend a provisionally accredited 
school in the district of residence must be allowed 
to transfer to the school if there is an available slot.

If a charter school may receive nonresident 
transfer students because it has been operating for 
less than three years but then loses its status as 
an approved charter school immediately after those 
three years because its three-year average score 
on its annual performance report is below 70%, any 
student who previously transferred to the charter 
school may remain enrolled in the charter school 
but no additional nonresident students may transfer 
to the charter school.

Any attendance center with a three-year average 
score of 70% or lower on its annual performance 
report must not be eligible to receive any transfer 
student, regardless of its state board classification 
designation, except that any student who was 
granted a transfer to the attendance center prior to 
the effective date of the bill may remain enrolled in 
that attendance center. 
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Districts and charter schools that receive student 
transfers are not required to exceed the class size 
and assignment enrollment standards of its approved 
policy on class size; hire additional classroom 
teachers; or construct additional classrooms unless 
the school board of the receiving district or the 
receiving approved charter school’s governing 
board has approved the action.

Each receiving district and approved charter 
school must have the right to establish a policy 
for desirable class size and student-teacher ratios 
based on objective means and must not be required 
to accept any transfer student that would violate its 
policy.  A district’s policy may allow for estimated 
growth in the resident student population.  A charter 
school may use the class size, student-teacher 
ratios, and growth projections for student enrollment 
in its charter and charter application when adopting 
a policy.  A district or approved charter school that 
adopts a policy must do so by January 1 annually.  
If a transfer student is denied admission based on a 
lack of space under a policy, the student may appeal 
the ruling to the state board.  The state board 
may limit the policy if it finds the policy is unduly 
restrictive to student transfers.  The decision of the 
state board must be final.

For each student who transfers to another district 
or approved charter school, the student’s district 
of residence must pay the tuition amount for each 
transfer student to the receiving district or receiving 
approved charter school in two increments annually, 
once at the start of the school year and once at the 
start of the second semester of the school year.  
Each receiving district and receiving approved 
charter school must adopt a policy establishing a 
tuition rate by February 1 annually.

If an unaccredited school becomes provisionally 
accredited or accredited without provisions, any 
resident student who transferred under one of the 
transfer options must be permitted to continue his 
or her educational program in that education option 
through the completion of middle school, junior high, 
or high school as specified in the bill.  

For any district that operates an unaccredited 
school, the education authority for the county in which 
the district is located must designate at least one 
accredited district to which the district must provide 
transportation for transfer students.  However, for 
the 2015-16 school year and until the education 
authorities are operational, the Department of 
Elementary and Secondary Education must 
designate at least one accredited district to which 
a district operating an unaccredited school must 
provide transportation for transfer students.  For the 

2015-16 school year, transportation costs for the 
Normandy Schools Collaborative must be paid from 
the newly created Student Transfer Transportation 
Fund.

Beginning in the 2016-17 school year, when 
determining transportation arrangements, neither 
the department nor any education authority can 
contract with or collaborate with any established 
regional association or cooperative of school 
districts located in St. Louis City or St. Louis County.

When costs associated with the provision of 
special education and related services to a student 
with a disability exceed the tuition amount, the 
transfer student’s district of residence must remain 
responsible for paying the excess cost to the receiving 
district or charter school.  When the receiving 
district is a component district of a special school 
district, the transfer student’s district of residence 
must contract with the special school district for the 
entirety of the costs to provide special education 
and related services, excluding transportation.  The 
special school district may contract with a district 
operating an unaccredited school for the provision 
of transportation of a student with a disability.  A 
special school district must continue to provide 
special education and related services, with the 
exception of transportation, to a student with a 
disability transferring from an unaccredited school 
within a component district to an accredited school 
within the same or a different component district 
within the special school district.

When the St. Louis City School District operates 
an unaccredited school, it must remain responsible 
for the provision of special education and related 
services, including transportation, to students with 
disabilities.  A special school district in an adjoining 
county may contract with the St. Louis City School 
District for the reimbursement of special education 
services provided by the special school district for 
transfer students who are residents of the district 
operating an unaccredited school.

Regardless of whether transportation is identified 
as a related service within a student’s individualized 
education program, a receiving district that is 
not part of a special school district must not be 
responsible for providing transportation to a student 
transferring under these provisions.  A district 
operating an unaccredited school may contract 
with a receiving district that is not part of a special 
school district for transportation of students with 
disabilities.  When a district other than St. Louis City 
operates an unaccredited school, it may contract 
with a receiving district that is not part of a special 
school district in the same or an adjoining county 
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for the reimbursement of special education and 
related services provided by the receiving district 
for transfer students who are residents of the district 
operating an unaccredited school.

ELIGIBLE DISTRICTS (Section 167.827)
By August 1, 2015, and by January 1 annually, 

each district eligible to receive transfer students 
must report to the education authority for the 
county in which the district is located the number 
of its available enrollment slots in accredited 
schools by grade level.  Each district operating 
an unaccredited school must report the number of 
available enrollment slots in the district’s accredited 
schools.  Each approved charter school eligible to 
receive transfer students must report the number of 
available enrollment slots by the same dates.

Each education authority with a district operating 
an unaccredited school in its geographic area 
must make information and assistance available 
to parents or guardians who intend to transfer 
their child using one of the transfer options.  The 
parent or guardian who intends to transfer his or her 
child must send initial notification to the education 
authority for the county in which he or she resides 
by March 1 for enrollment in the subsequent school 
year.  The education authority must assign transfer 
students as space allows.  When assigning students 
to approved charter schools, the education authority 
must coordinate with each approved charter school 
and its admissions process if capacity is insufficient 
to enroll all students who submit a timely application.  
An approved charter school must not be required 
to receive any transfer student that would require 
it to institute a lottery procedure for determining 
the admission of resident students.  The education 
authority must give first priority to students who 
live in the same household with family members 
within the first or second degree of consanguinity 
or affinity who have already transferred and who 
apply to transfer to the same accredited school.  If 
insufficient grade-appropriate enrollment slots are 
available for a student to transfer, that student must 
receive first priority the following school year.  The 
authority must only disrupt student and parent choice 
for transfers if the available slots are requested by 
more students than there are slots available.  The 
authority must consider the following factors in 
assigning schools:  the student’s or parent’s choice 
of the receiving school, which must be the most 
important factor; the best interests of the student; 
and distance and travel time.  The authority must 
not consider student academic performance; free 
and reduced price lunch status; or athletic ability in 
assigning a student to a school. 

When assigning transfer students to approved 
charter schools, an education authority must 
coordinate with each approved charter school and 
its admissions process if capacity is insufficient to 
enroll all students who submit a timely application.

An education authority may deny a transfer to a 
student, who in the most recent school year, has 
been suspended from school two or more times or 
has been suspended for an act of school violence, 
as specified in the bill.  A student who is denied a 
transfer for this reason has the right to an in-person 
meeting with a representative of the authority.  Each 
education authority must develop administrative 
guidelines to provide common standards for 
determining disruptive behavior that must include 
criteria under the Safe Schools Act.

The test scores of transfer students attending 
schools in districts other than their district of 
residence must be counted as follows:

(1)  In the first year of attendance in a district or 
approved charter school, a transfer student’s score 
on a statewide assessment must not be included 
when calculating the status or progress scores on 
the district’s or charter school’s annual performance 
report scores.  The growth score must be weighted 
at 100%; 

(2)  In the second year of attendance, a transfer 
student’s score on a statewide assessment must be 
weighted at 30% when calculating the district’s or 
charter school’s performance for purposes of the 
district’s or charter school’s annual performance 
report status or progress score, with the growth 
score weighted at 100%; 

(3)  In the third year of attendance, a transfer 
student’s score on a statewide assessment must be 
weighted at 70% when calculating the district’s or 
charter school’s performance for purposes of the 
district’s or charter school’s annual performance 
report status or progress score, with the growth 
score weighted at 100%; and 

(4)  In the fourth year of attendance and any 
subsequent years of attendance, a transfer student’s 
score on a statewide assessment must be weighted 
at 100% when calculating the district’s or charter 
school’s performance for purposes of the district’s 
or charter school’s annual performance report 
status or progress score, with the growth score 
weighted at 100%.

When performing the requirements of these 
provisions, if an education authority whose 
geographic area includes a district that operates an 
unaccredited school is not coordinating transfers due 
to insufficient funding or because the Governor has 
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not yet appointed a number of members sufficient to 
constitute a quorum to the education authority, the 
department must contract with or collaborate with 
any organizations it chooses, subject to specified 
exceptions, in order to coordinate the transfers.  The 
department and the organization or organizations it 
chooses must fulfill all functions of the education 
authorities, including the duty to perform the tuition 
calculation.  Any applications for transfers and 
any reports of available enrollment slots that the 
education authorities would have received must be 
submitted to the department or the organization or 
organizations it chooses instead.

Beginning in the 2016-17 school year, when 
performing the requirements of these provisions, 
neither the department or any education authority 
can contract with or collaborate with any 
established regional association or cooperative of 
school districts located in St. Louis City or St. Louis 
County.  The regional association or cooperative of 
school districts must not receive any applications 
for transfers or perform any functions assigned to 
the education authorities.

REGIONAL EDUCATION AUTHORITIES       
(Sections 167.830 - 167.845)

The bill establishes three separate regional 
education authorities to coordinate student 
transfers, one for the St. Louis region, a second 
authority for the Kansas City area, and a third 
authority for the rest of the state.  Each authority will 
consist of five members who must be residents of 
their covered area, as specified in the bill, appointed 
by the Governor with the advice and consent of the 
Senate, who will serve for a term of six years.  The 
education authority must coordinate and collaborate 
with local districts, approved charter schools, and 
local governments for the student transfers. 

TRANSFER AND TRANSIENT STUDENT DATA 
(Section 167.890)

The Department of Elementary and Secondary 
Education must compile and maintain student 
performance data scores of all transient and 
transfer students enrolled in districts other than their 
resident districts and make the data available on the 
Missouri Comprehensive Data System.  Personally 
identifiable information must not be accessible on 
the database.

ON-LINE TUTORING SERVICES THROUGH A 
PUBLIC LIBRARY (Section 170.215)

A school district may enter into a contract with a 
public library to provide on-line tutoring services 
through a third-party vendor or a non-profit 
organization for the district’s students.  Tutoring 

services must be conducted through any compatible 
computer to participating students who have a 
library card, both within and without the public 
library facility. 

On-line tutoring services may include assistance 
with homework, collaboration and study tools in 
specified school subjects, access to comprehensive 
writing assistance productivity software, and test 
preparation tools. 

A contract may allow participating students with a 
library card dedicated access to assistance during 
specified hours of the day and specified days of 
the week.  A contract may allow students to submit 
questions to tutors or join on-line study groups. 

On-line tutoring services must be designed and 
implemented to protect individual student privacy, 
prohibit voice communication between the parties, 
and prohibit face-to-face visual communication.  
Any employee of a third-party vendor or nonprofit 
organization with which a public library has 
contracted for the tutoring services must not 
solicit personally identifiable information from any 
participating student. 

Any entity offering tutoring services must maintain 
an archive of all communications between students 
and tutors for two years. 

PARENT PORTALS (Section 170.320)
The bill creates the Parent Portal Fund in the state 

treasury.  Moneys in the fund must be used to assist 
districts in establishing and maintaining a parent 
portal.  School districts may establish a parent portal 
that must be accessible by mobile technology for 
parents to have access to educational information 
and access to student data. 

SCHOOL LEARNING TIME (Section 171.031)
The school board of any unaccredited district, 

provisionally accredited district, or district that is 
accredited but has a three-year average annual 
performance report score consistent with a 
classification of unaccredited or provisionally 
accredited, may, by a majority vote, increase the 
length of the school day and also increase the 
number of annual instruction hours above the 
statutory minimum.  The bill creates the Extended 
Learning Time Fund in the state treasury.  Moneys 
in the fund must be used for schools that extend the 
length of the school day or increase the number of 
hours of required instruction. 

UNOCCUPIED SCHOOL BUILDINGS              
(Section 177.015)

Each district that owns a building that is not 
occupied must annually prepare, by March 15, a 
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public document listing the status of each district-
owned building that is not occupied.  The document 
must include the address of each building and the 
annual cost of maintaining it.  The district must 
post this information on its website and make the 
document available to each district taxpayer.  A 
building will be deemed occupied if it is used for the 
education of children between the ages of four and 
21 for at least three hours a day for a school term.

CHILDREN’S SERVICES FUND (Section 210.861)
In fiscal years 2016 and 2017, in St. Louis County, 

if a district has been designated as unaccredited or 
provisionally accredited, up to 5% of each year’s 
revenues in the Community Children’s Services 
Fund must be devoted to a grant program that 
delivers services directly to schools in the district 
as specified in the bill.  Any moneys distributed 
from the fund to a district must be subject to an 
annual audit.  The Community Children’s Services 
Fund board of directors must, in its budget process 
for the following fiscal year, ensure that the funds 
needed to provide services based on a needs 
assessment is allocated as specified in the bill.  The 
board must undertake a needs assessment for any 
district within 90 days after receipt of a notice of the 
designation.  The needs assessment must be used 
as a basis for contracting of services.  The board 
must appoint one of its members to a direct school 
service coordinating committee, and an additional 
member may be appointed as an ex officio member.  
The committee must provide recommendations and 
oversight to the program of contracted services.  
Any moneys distributed from the fund to a district 
must be subject to an annual audit.  These provision 
will terminate on June 30, 2017. 

BUILDINGS IN UNDERPERFORMING DISTRICTS 
(Section 1)

By September 1, 2015, the bill requires the St. 
Louis City School District, the Kansas City School 
District, and districts in St. Louis County, at any 
time they are underperforming, to obtain an outside 
appraisal for any building they own that is vacant 
and unused for classroom instruction.  A district is 
deemed underperforming when it is unaccredited, 
provisionally accredited, or has a three-year average 
annual performance report score that is consistent 
with a classification of unaccredited or provisionally 
accredited. 

Each district must allow multiple opportunities 
for prospective purchasers to tour the buildings.  A 
district may reserve 30% of its vacant and unused 
buildings as franchise buildings.  Buildings must 
be publicly listed for sale between September 1, 
2015, and October 1, 2015.  Any building that is not 

sold during the specified time period must be made 
available for sale at auction as specified in the bill.  If 
a building is not sold, a district may receive moneys 
from the newly created Reclamation and Demolition 
Fund to demolish it.  

SEVERABILITY (Section 2) 
The bill specifies that if any provision of the bill or 

its application to anyone or to any circumstances is 
held invalid, the remainder of the provisions or its 
application must not be affected.

The bill contains an emergency clause.

SCS HCS HB 50 -- BUSINESS OF INSURANCE 
This bill changes the laws regarding the business 

of insurance.

INSURANCE HOLDING COMPANIES           
(Sections 382.010 - 382.278, RSMo)

The bill:
(1)  Expands the authority of the Director of the 

Department of Insurance, Financial Institutions and 
Professional Registration to assess the financial 
stability and risk of insurance holding companies.  
The department director may seek information 
relevant to the determination of “enterprise risk” 
which is defined in terms of systematic financial 
risks that threaten to deplete capital under Section 
375.1225 or create a hazardous financial condition 
under Section 375.539.  The department director 
may order the production of information and issue 
subpoenas in order to obtain relevant information 
that may legally be obtained by insurance holding 
companies.  Whenever it appears to the department 
director that any person has committed a violation 
of the provisions of the bill and the violation 
prevents the full understanding of the enterprise 
risk to the insurer by affiliates or by the insurance 
holding company system, the violation may 
serve as an independent basis for disapproving 
dividends or distributions and for placing the insurer 
under an order of suspension.  The department 
director may also require additional registration 
information such as financial interest statements 
from affiliates and board of governance member 
statements as specified in the bill.  Upon request 
of the department director, an ultimate controlling 
individual in each insurance holding company 
must file an annual enterprise risk report with the 
department director.  The department director must 
approve or disapprove a request for exemption from 
registration and reporting requirements on the basis 
of non-affiliation within 30 days;

(2)  Requires any controlling person of a domestic 
insurer seeking to divest its controlling interest in 
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the domestic insurer to file a confidential notice 
with the department director, with a copy to the 
insurer, of its proposed divestiture at least 30 days 
prior to the cessation of control.  The department 
director must determine those instances in which 
the party or parties seeking to divest or to acquire a 
controlling interest must be required to file for and 
obtain approval of the transaction.  The acquiring 
person must also file a preacquisition notification 
with the department director containing specified 
information;

(3)  Requires a person acquiring a controlling 
interest in a domestic insurer to sign a statement 
that includes an agreement to file an annual report 
with the department director for so long as control 
exists and an acknowledgment that he or she and 
all subsidiaries within its control in the insurance 
holding company will provide information to the 
department director upon request as necessary to 
evaluate enterprise risk to the insurer;

(4)  Allows for a consolidated public hearing upon 
request of the person filing the required statement 
if the proposed acquisition of control requires 
the approval of more than one state insurance 
commissioner.  In connection with a change of 
control of a domestic insurer, any determination by 
the department director that the person acquiring 
control must be required to maintain or restore the 
capital of the insurer to the required state level must 
be made within 60 days after the date of notification 
of the change in control.  Companies acquired by 
Missouri insurers may be subject to Missouri law 
and will no longer be exempt;

(5)  Requires a disclaimer of affiliation with any 
authorized insurer to be deemed to have been 
granted unless the department director notifies, 
within 30 days following receipt of a complete 
disclaimer, the filing party that the disclaimer is 
disallowed.  If it is disallowed, the disclaiming party 
may request an administrative hearing which must 
be granted;

(6)  Requires the ultimate controlling person 
of every insurer subject to registration to file an 
annual enterprise risk report upon request of the 
department director.  The report must be filed 
with the lead state insurance commissioner of the 
insurance holding company system as determined 
by specified procedures adopted by the National 
Association of Insurance Commissioners.  The 
first report must be due and filed no later than May 
1, 2016, and annually thereafter by May 1 unless 
extended by the lead commissioner for good cause 
shown; 

(7)  Requires the accounting documentation of 
a registered insurer to include information as is 
necessary to support the reasonableness of fees or 
charges to the respective parties.  Other criteria for 
department director supervision of affiliated insurer 
practices are specified in the bill;

(8)  Requires the department director to have the 
power to establish and participate in a supervisory 
college for any domestic insurer that is part 
of an insurance holding company system with 
international operations to determine compliance by 
the insurer with these provisions.  Each registered 
insurer subject to these provisions must be liable 
for and must pay the reasonable expenses of the 
department director’s participation in a supervisory 
college; 

(9)  Specifies the requirements for the reporting and 
disclosure of information between the department 
director and the National Association of Insurance 
Commissioners (NAIC) or other regulatory bodies 
and prohibits all information, documents, and 
copies obtained by or disclosed to the department 
director or in the possession or control of NAIC from 
being subject to the Open Meetings and Records 
Law, commonly known as the Sunshine Law, and 
from being subject to discovery or admissible as 
evidence in any private civil action;

(10)  Specifies that the provisions of Sections 
382.100 to 382.180 must not apply to any insurer, 
information, or transaction if and to the extent that 
the department director by rule, regulation, or order 
must exempt the same from these provisions; and

(11)  Exempts any insurance holding company or 
its affiliates from specified provisions relating to 
enterprise risk reporting if the insurance company 
affiliates of the insurance holding company had total 
premiums of less than $150 million in the preceding 
year and the insurance holding company certifies 
in writing to the department director that more 
than 25% of the employees of its non-insurance 
affiliates, not including insurance affiliates or the 
holding company itself, are engaged in agricultural 
operations.

OWN RISK AND SOLVENCY ASSESSMENTS 
(Sections 382.500 - 382.550)

The bill enacts the provisions of the model 
legislation of the own risk and solvency assessments 
(ORSA) legislation developed by the National 
Association of Insurance Commissioners (NAIC).  
The purpose of the model legislation is to allow 
large- and medium-sized insurers to develop their 
own model of current and future financial risk and 
allow regulators to determine how insurers will react 
to financial stress.
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An insurer must file a report on its solvency risk 
with the Director of the Department of Insurance, 
Financial Institutions and Professional Registration 
upon the director’s request but not more than 
once each year.  Insurers who are required to file 
the report are specified in the bill, and the criteria 
for the report are specified in the bill.  Specified 
insurers must be exempt from the requirements.  
Procedures for sharing information with the NAIC 
and for maintaining records are also specified.  
All documents, materials, or other information, 
including the ORSA summary report, disclosed to 
the department director under these provisions are 
recognized by this state as being proprietary and 
to contain trade secrets and must be confidential 
by law and privileged and not subject to disclosure 
under Chapter 610, the Open Meetings and Records 
Law, commonly known as the Sunshine Law; be 
subject to subpoena; or be subject to discovery 
or admissible as evidence in any private civil 
action.  The department director must not make the 
documents, materials, or other information public 
without the prior written consent of the insurer.  
Any insurer failing without just cause to timely file 
a required ORSA summary report commits a level 
two violation with respect to each day’s delay.  

The provisions of the bill regarding own risk 
and solvency assessments will become effective 
January 1, 2016.

SS SCS HCS#2 HB 63 -- PERSONS SEEKING 
PUBLIC OFFICE

 (Vetoed by the Governor -- Overridden by the 
General Assembly)

This bill exempts a candidate for a special district 
office; a township office in township organization 
counties; or a city, town, or village office from the 
provisions of Sections 115.307 to 115.405, RSMo, 
regarding political parties and the nomination of 
candidates.

The bill prohibits any individual from being a 
candidate for a school district board if he or she has 
previously been employed as the superintendent for 
that school district.

Elections for any school district that becomes an 
urban school district because of the 2000 federal 
census must be held annually at the same times and 
places as general municipal elections for all years 
where one or more terms expire and the term must 
be for three years.

The bill repeals obsolete provisions regarding 
the election of school board members in the St. 
Joseph School District based on the 1960 census 
and requires the district to hold elections annually 

at the same times and places as general municipal 
elections for all years where one or more terms 
expire.  Currently, school board members in the 
St. Joseph School District serve a six-year term.  
The bill changes the term to three years upon the 
expiration of any term after August 28, 2015.

In the St. Joseph School District, a candidate for 
the school board must file a declaration of candidacy 
with the secretary of the school board and must not 
be required to submit a petition.

The bill contains an emergency clause.

HB 88 -- ORGAN DONOR RECOGNITION DAY
This bill designates July 3 of each year as “Organ 

Donor Recognition Day” and recommends people 
of the state to observe the day by participating in 
activities that will increase awareness of organ 
donation.

SS HB 92 -- DEPARTMENT OF NATURAL 
RESOURCES

This bill changes the laws regarding the 
Department of Natural Resources.

SOLID WASTE                                                 
(Sections 29.380 and 260.200 - 260.335, RSMo)

The bill changes the laws regarding solid waste.  
The bill:

(1)  Changes the provisions regarding the audit 
of solid waste management districts by the State 
Auditor.  Currently, the State Auditor must conduct 
an audit of each solid waste management district 
and must thereafter conduct audits of each district 
as he or she deems necessary and may request 
reimbursement from the district for the costs of 
conducting the audit.  The bill allows the State 
Auditor to conduct audits of solid waste management 
districts as he or she deems necessary and if the 
State Auditor does request the reimbursement, the 
district must reimburse the State Auditor for the 
costs with the moneys deposited into the Petition 
Audit Revolving Trust Fund.  The reimbursement 
must be limited to 2% of the district’s annual 
monetary allocation; 

(2)  Revises the independent financial audit 
requirements.  A district receiving more than 
$800,000 of financial assistance annually must 
have an annual independent financial statement 
audit, while districts receiving between $250,000 
and $800,000 are required to have an independent 
financial statement audit every two years.  All other 
districts must be monitored every two years by the 
department and, based upon the findings in the 
monitoring report, may be required to arrange for 
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an independent financial statement audit for the 
monitoring period under review.  Currently, a district 
receiving $200,000 or more of financial assistance 
annually is required to have an annual independent 
financial audit while a district receiving less than 
$200,000 is required to have the audit at least every 
two years;  

(3)  Requires the department to conduct a 
performance audit of grants to each district at least 
once every five years or as deemed necessary 
based upon district grantee performance.  Currently, 
the department must conduct a performance audit 
of grants to each district at least once every three 
years;

(4)  Adds textiles to the products that each solid 
waste management district is required to address 
the recycling, reuse, and handling of in its solid 
waste management plan; 

(5)  Prohibits the executive board of a solid waste 
management district from performing solid waste 
management projects that compete with a qualified 
private enterprise;

(6)  Specifies that a person or entity cannot be 
disqualified from receiving a grant for providing 
solid waste management and recycling services 
on the basis that there exists a familial relationship 
between the applicant and any member of the solid 
waste management district executive board within 
the fourth degree by consanguinity or affinity.  For 
applicants with a familial relationship, the board 
must only approve the grant application if approved 
by a vote of two-thirds of the board.  If an executive 
board member does not abstain from a vote to 
award a grant application to any person or entity 
who is a relative within the specified degree, he 
or she must forfeit membership on the solid waste 
management district executive board and the solid 
waste management district council; 

(7)  Requires model waste management plans to 
provide for economical waste management through 
regional and district cooperation.  Currently, it 
requires the plan to provide for economical waste 
management through regional cooperation; 

(8)  Repeals the provisions requiring any county 
within a region that is not a member of a district 
to submit a solid waste management plan to the 
department;

(9)  Extends the moratorium on increasing the 
sanitary landfill tipping fee, demolition landfill 
tipping fee, and the transfer station tipping fee from 
October 1, 2017, to October 1, 2027;

(10)  Establishes the criteria that a solid waste 
management district may consider in establishing 

the order of district grant priority.  Any allocated 
district moneys remaining in any fiscal year due to 
inadequate grant applications must be reallocated 
for grant applications in subsequent years or for 
solid waste projects other than district operations.  
Any allocated district moneys remaining after five 
years must revert to the Solid Waste Management 
Fund;

(11)  Establishes a time line for the department to 
approve or deny a grant application that has been 
approved by a solid waste management district; 

(12)  Changes the provisions regarding the 
appointing authority, membership, and duties of the 
Solid Waste Advisory Board, including preparing an 
annual report by July 1 to each committee and task 
force of the General Assembly having jurisdiction 
over solid waste; and

(13)  Requires the advisory board to hold regular 
meetings on a quarterly basis.  A special meeting 
of the board may occur upon a majority vote of all 
members at a regular quarterly meeting.

OIL AND GAS PRODUCTION                         
(Sections 259.010 - 259.210)

Currently, the State Oil and Gas Council is 
composed of eight members with one being from 
the Division of Geology and Land Survey within 
the Department of Natural Resources.  The bill 
replaces this member with the State Geologist and 
removes the requirement that one of the public 
members on the council be a resident of a third or 
fourth classification county.  The bill removes the 
division from the advisory committee to the council 
and replaces it with the department and transfers 
certain authority from the council to the department. 

The definition of “oil” is modified to include 
hydrocarbons that do not flow to a wellhead but are 
produced by other means.

The bill creates the Oil and Gas Resources Fund 
consisting of all gifts, donations, transfers, moneys 
appropriated by the General Assembly, permit 
application fees, operating fees, closure fees, late 
fees, severance fees, and bequests to only be used, 
after appropriation, to administer the provisions of 
law relating to oil and gas and to collect, process, 
manage, interpret, and distribute geologic and 
hydrologic resource information pertaining to oil and 
gas potential. 

The bill repeals the provision allowing moneys in 
the Oil and Gas Remedial Fund to be used to pay 
the expenses incurred by the council.
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A permit must be obtained from the State Geologist 
prior to commencing injection activities for enhanced 
recovery of oil or gas or for the disposal of fluids.

Currently, the council does not charge a fee for 
obtaining a permit for drilling operations.  The bill 
allows the Department of Natural Resources to 
conduct a comprehensive review and propose 
a new fee structure or propose changes to the 
oil and gas fee structure that may include permit 
application fees, operating fees, closure fees, late 
fees, and an extraction or severance fee.  Upon 
completion of the review, the department must 
submit a proposed fee structure or changes to the 
council.  If the council approves, by a two-thirds 
majority vote, the fee structure recommendations, 
the council must authorize the department to file 
a notice of proposed rulemaking containing the 
recommended fee structure that will take effect if it 
is not disapproved by the General Assembly.  The 
authority to revise the fee structure in this manner will 
expire on August 28, 2025.  If any applicant fails to 
pay the appropriate fee, a penalty may be assessed 
and relief may be sought by the department in the 
Circuit Court of Cole County or, in the case of well 
fees, in the circuit court in which the well is located. 

Currently, orders regarding spacing units are 
entered by the State Geologist.  The bill requires 
the department to enter the orders and repeals 
the exemption for noncommercial gas wells from 
the provisions regarding spacing units set by the 
council. 

Currently, an applicant seeking a permit for a 
noncommercial gas well must file a bond or other 
instrument of credit acceptable to the council.  The 
bill repeals the allowance to file any other instrument 
of credit.

Currently, the council is required to bring 
suit against any person appearing to violate or 
threatening to violate the provisions of law relating 
to oil and gas or any rule, regulation, or order of 
the council.  The bill allows the department or the 
council to request the Attorney General to bring the 
suit. 

PERMIT APPEAL PROCEDURES (Sections 260.235, 
260.395, 444.600 - 643.078, 644.051, and 644.056)

Currently, when certain permits or licenses are 
issued, renewed, denied, suspended, or revoked by 
the Department of Natural Resources, the decision 
is often appealed to the commission with appropriate 
jurisdiction, including the Hazardous Waste 
Management Commission, the Safe Drinking Water 
Commission, the Air Conservation Commission, 
the Clean Water Commission, and the Missouri 
Mining Commission.  The bill changes the appeals 

procedure to require the applicant, or for some 
permits any aggrieved party, to appeal the decision 
by filing a petition with the Administrative Hearing 
Commission within 30 days.  The Administrative 
Hearing Commission may consider certain factors 
regarding permit decisions for mining as specified 
in the bill.  The Administrative Hearing Commission 
would then issue a recommended decision to the 
commission with appropriate jurisdiction.  The 
commission with appropriate jurisdiction must then 
issue the final decision, and the decision must be 
subject to judicial review except the Administrative 
Hearing Commission must issue the final decision 
for all permits relating to solid waste. 

Currently, the department director is required to 
order an abatement, file an abatement complaint 
with the Clean Water Commission, or file a complaint 
to revoke a permit when a violation of the Missouri 
Clean Water Law has failed to be corrected.  The 
bill changes the revocation process so that the 
director may not revoke a permit but may request 
legal action by the Attorney General.

WATERS OF THE STATE                                
(Sections 260.500 and 644.016)

The bill changes the definition of “waters of the 
state” by specifying that it is all waters within the 
jurisdiction of this state and removing waters of 
the United States lying within the state from the 
definition as it applies to the provisions of law 
regarding hazardous substance cleanup and the 
Missouri Clean Water Law.

SULFUR DIOXIDE AIR QUALITY (Section 643.650)
The bill requires any owner of a coal-fired 

electric generating source in a one-hour sulfur 
dioxide National Ambient Air Quality Standards 
nonattainment area currently designated as of April 
1, 2015, to develop an ambient air quality monitoring 
or modeling network to characterize the sulfur 
dioxide air quality surrounding the source.  The 
network must adequately monitor the sulfur dioxide 
surrounding the source and must operate for at least 
12 consecutive quarters.  The owner of the source 
must notify the Department of Natural Resources 
of the manner that will be used to characterize the 
air quality around the source.  The location of any 
monitoring network installed by the owner within 
a nonattainment area must be approved by the 
department.

Affected sources in an undesignated area that 
elects to use monitoring to evaluate air quality must 
be consulted by the department on the use of existing 
monitors as well as the location of new monitors 
in the network.  The department must not submit 
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its recommendation to the federal Environmental 
Protection Agency (EPA) on the manner in which 
data will be gathered for the designation process 
that is inconsistent with the elections made by 
affected sources.  If sources have elected to monitor, 
the department must submit recommendations for 
the designation process by the date set by a final, 
effective, and applicable EPA requirement but not 
prior.

The bill also requires the department to consider 
all ambient air quality monitoring network data 
collected by any owner of an electric generating 
source prior to proposing to the Air Conservation 
Commission any sulfur dioxide limitation, emission 
reduction requirement, or other requirement for any 
electric generating source that has elected to install 
a monitoring network with specified exceptions.  

Nothing in these provisions of the bill can prohibit 
the department from entering into an agreement 
with an owner of an electric generating source to 
limit or reduce sulfur dioxide emissions that is below 
the source’s permitted rate.  

MISSOURI CLEAN WATER LAW POLICY 
STATEMENT (Section 644.011)

The bill modifies the policy statement of the 
Missouri Clean Water Law by stating that it 
is the policy of this state to strive to meet the 
objectives of the Missouri Clean Water Law 
while maintaining maximum employment and full 
industrial development of this state.  The Clean 
Water Commission must seek the accomplishment 
of the objectives through the prevention, abatement, 
and control of water pollution by all practical and 
economically feasible methods.

FINDING OF AFFORDABILITY (Section 644.145)
Currently, the Department of Natural Resources 

is required to perform a finding of affordability 
when issuing permits under the Missouri Clean 
Water Law for discharges from specified publicly 
owned treatment works.  The bill also requires that 
the finding be performed when issuing permits for 
discharges from water or sewer treatment works.

Currently, the definitions of “affordability” and 
“finding of affordability” are measured by whether 
an individual customer or household with an income 
equal to the lower of the median household income 
for his or her community or the state can pay a utility 
or sewer bill without undue hardship or without 
being required to make unreasonable sacrifices in 
the individual’s or the household’s essential lifestyle 
or spending patterns or undergo hardships in order 
to make the projected monthly payments for the 
services.  The bill specifies that the measurement 

must be whether an individual or a household with an 
income equal to or lower than the median household 
income for his or her community would be required 
to make unreasonable sacrifices in the individual’s 
or the household’s essential lifestyle or spending 
patterns or undergo hardships in order to make the 
projected monthly payments for the services.

HB 111 -- SALES TAX EXEMPTION FOR USED 
MANUFACTURED HOMES 

This bill authorizes a state and local sales and use 
tax exemption on the sale of a used manufactured 
home.

SCS HCS HBs 116 & 569 -- LABOR 
ORGANIZATIONS

(Vetoed by the Governor)
This bill specifies that a person as a condition or 

continuation of employment cannot be required to:
(1)  Become or refrain from becoming a member of 

a labor organization as defined in the bill;
(2)  Pay dues, fees, assessments, or other similar 

charges to a labor organization; or
(3)  Pay to any charity or third party any equivalent 

amount in lieu of dues, fees, assessments, or other 
charges required by a labor organization.

Any agreement, understanding, or practice 
between a labor organization and an employer that 
violates the rights of employees as specified in the 
bill will be unlawful, null and void, and of no legal 
effect.

Anyone violating a provision of the bill will be guilty 
of a class C misdemeanor, and any person injured 
as a result of a violation or threatened violation of 
the provisions of the bill may recover all resulting 
damages, including costs and reasonable attorney 
fees, and will be entitled to injunctive relief against 
any violator or person threatening a violation. 

It must be the duty of the prosecuting attorney 
of each county and of the Attorney General to 
investigate complaints of violation or threatened 
violation of these provisions, to prosecute any 
person violating them, and to use all means at their 
command to ensure the effective enforcement of the 
provisions.

The provisions of the bill must not apply to 
specified employers, employees, and agreements.

HB 125 -- INDUSTRIAL DEVELOPMENT 
CORPORATIONS

This bill specifies that the director of any industrial 
development corporation formed by a municipality 
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in St. Francois County may be a taxpayer and 
registered voter in the county.

SS HCS HB 137 -- COMPETITIVE BIDDING
This bill prohibits the Commissioner of the Office of 

Administration from awarding points on a request for 
proposal for a contract license office to a bidder for 
a return-to-the-state provision offer.  The Director of 
the Department of Revenue must follow the bidding 
procedures provided by law regarding purchases 
made on competitive bids and may establish the 
rules necessary to implement the procedures.

Specified 501(c)(4) federally tax-exempt 
organizations are added to organizations and 
entities that may be given priority in the competitive 
bidding process when awarding fee office contracts 
with special consideration given to organizations 
and entities that reinvest at least 75% of the net 
proceeds in Missouri charitable organizations.

The leases, agreements, contracts, or subleases 
and any amendments for space, usage, or services 
in any convention center or related facilities owned 
or operated by a regional convention and visitors 
commission or any drafts or unexecuted versions 
of the documents must not be considered public 
records under the Open Meetings and Records 
Law, commonly known as the Sunshine Law, when 
the disclosure may endanger the competitiveness 
of the business or prospects of the commission or 
provide an unfair advantage to its competitors.  This 
provision must not be deemed to include any leases, 
agreements, contracts, or subleases involving a 
professional sport franchise.

The bill contains an emergency clause.

HB 150 -- UNEMPLOYMENT COMPENSATION
(Vetoed by the Governor)

Currently, the maximum total amount of benefits 
any insured worker may receive during any benefit 
year must not exceed 20 times his or her weekly 
benefit amount or 33 1/3% of his or her wage credits, 
whichever is lesser.  This bill repeals that provision 
and limits, beginning January 1, 2016, benefits 
during any benefit year to the following:

(1)  20 weeks if the Missouri average unemployment 
rate is 9% or higher;

(2)  19 weeks if the Missouri average unemployment 
rate is between 8 1/2% and 9%;

(3)  18 weeks if the Missouri average unemployment 
rate is 8% up to and including 8 1/2%;

(4)  17 weeks if the Missouri average unemployment 
rate is between 7 1/2% and 8%;

(5)  16 weeks if the Missouri average unemployment 
rate is 7% up to and including 7 1/2%;

(6)  15 weeks if the Missouri average unemployment 
rate is between 6 1/2% and 7%;

(7)  14 weeks if the Missouri average unemployment 
rate is 6% up to and including 6 1/2%; and

(8)  13 weeks if the Missouri average unemployment 
rate is below 6%.

“Missouri average unemployment rate” means 
the average of the seasonally adjusted statewide 
unemployment rates as published by the United 
States Department of Labor for the time period of 
January 1 through March 31 and July 1 through 
September 30.

The bill revises the definition of “wages” as it 
applies to employment security laws to include 
termination pay and severance pay.  The total 
amount of wages derived from severance pay, if 
paid in a lump sum, must be pro-rated on a weekly 
basis at the rate of pay received by the insured at the 
time of termination for the purposes of determining 
unemployment benefits eligibility.

The bill specifies that an employer who reasonably 
believes that he or she has been assigned an 
erroneous experience rating as a result of the 
purchase of a company must have the right to file a 
timely appeal for recovery of overpayments for the 
last five years due to the erroneous assignment as 
specified in the bill.

Currently, when the average balance of the 
Unemployment Compensation Trust Fund is 
between $600 million and $750 million, an 
employer’s contribution rate must be reduced by 7% 
for the following year.  The bill changes the amount 
to between $720 million and $870 million.  Currently, 
when the average balance in the fund exceeds $750 
million, an employer’s contribution rate is reduced 
by 12% for the following year unless the employer’s 
calculated contribution rate is 6% or greater, in 
which case the reduction may be no more than 10%.  
The bill changes the amount to $870 million.

In the event that the amount of moneys owed 
by the fund for total advancements by the federal 
government exceeds $300 million, the Board of 
Unemployment Fund Financing must be required to 
meet to consider authorizing the issuance, sale, and 
delivery of credit instruments for the entire amount 
of the debt owed.

Currently, interest is charged to employers when 
the state has an outstanding balance for federal 
advancements.  The bill requires employers 
to continue to pay the interest assessment to 
fully finance the credit instruments when credit 
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instruments are issued to pay off the balance of the 
federal advancement.

HB 179 -- VETERAN DESIGNATION ON DRIVER’S 
LICENSES

Currently, a person may receive a veteran 
designation on his or her driver’s license or 
identification card only upon presentation of a 
United States Department of Defense discharge 
document, otherwise known as a DD Form 214, that 
shows a discharge status of “honorable” or “general 
under honorable conditions” that establishes the 
person’s service in the Armed Forces of the United 
States.  This bill allows a person to present a United 
States Uniformed Services Identification Card, 
otherwise known as a DD Form 2, that includes a 
discharge status of “retired” or “reserve retired” to 
also establish the person’s service in the Armed 
Forces of the United States in order to receive a 
veteran designation.

HCS HB 259 -- MISSOURI DAIRY REVITALIZATION 
ACT

This bill establishes the Missouri Dairy 
Revitalization Act of 2015.  In its main provisions, 
the bill:

(1)  Creates the Missouri Dairy Industry 
Revitalization Fund;

(2)  Requires, each fiscal year, the University of 
Missouri to conduct or contract with an independent 
research company to conduct research to determine 
the estimated sales tax revenue generated in the 
state from the sales of dairy products and to provide 
the estimate to the Department of Agriculture by 
October 1 of each year;

(3)  Specifies that no more than 40% of the 
estimated sales tax revenue generated from the 
sales of dairy products during the preceding fiscal 
year may be appropriated from the General Revenue 
Fund to the Missouri Dairy Industry Revitalization 
Fund and the funds must be spent in the following 
order of priority:

(a)  First, to the Dairy Producer Margin Insurance 
Premium Assistance Program;

(b)  Second, to the Missouri Dairy Scholars 
Program; and

(c)  Third, to the Commercial Agriculture Program;
(4)  Requires the department to create and 

administer, through the Missouri Agriculture and 
Small Business Development Authority (MASBDA), 
a dairy producer margin insurance premium 
assistance program for the purpose of assisting 

dairy producers who participate in the federal margin 
protection program in the federal Agricultural Act of 
2014;

(5)  Specifies that all dairy producers who 
participate in the federal margin protection program 
must be eligible to apply and participate in the dairy 
producer margin insurance premium assistance 
program.  A dairy producer must apply with MASBDA 
by January 1 of each year;

(6)  Specifies that participating dairy producers 
who have paid their annual federal premium payment 
and provide proof of the payment to MASBDA must 
receive reimbursement of 70% of their federal 
premium payment up to a maximum premium 
reimbursement rate of $.34 per hundredweight of 
milk;

(7)  Requires the University of Missouri and 
MASBDA to annually provide risk management 
training for Missouri dairy producers;

(8)  Establishes the Missouri Dairy Scholars 
Program, administered by the department, for 
eligible students in an agriculture-related degree 
program who make a commitment to work in 
Missouri’s agriculture industry;

(9)  Requires each year, subject to appropriations, 
the department to make available to eligible students 
up to 80 scholarships in the amount of $5,000 each 
to assist with the costs of tuition and fees at a 
Missouri two-year or four-year college or university;

(10)  Establishes eligibility requirements for 
students, including requirements to sign an 
agreement with the department in which the 
recipient agrees to work in the agriculture industry 
in Missouri for at least two years for every year the 
recipient receives the scholarship and to work on a 
dairy farm or in a dairy-related internship for at least 
three months of each year the recipient receives the 
scholarship; and

(11)  Requires the University of Missouri’s 
Commercial Agriculture Program to conduct an 
annual study of the dairy industry, develop a dairy-
specific plan for how to grow and enhance the dairy 
and dairy processing industries in Missouri, and 
report the results of the study to the department 
and all agriculture-related legislative committee 
chairpersons by January 1 of each year.

HB 269 -- FIRE EXTINGUISHERS ON 
MOTORBOATS 

This bill requires every class 2 motorboat 
operating upon the waters of this state to carry two 
B1 type fire extinguishers, one B2 fire extinguisher, 
or a fixed fire extinguishing system and one B1 type 
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fire extinguisher.  Currently, it is required to carry 
one B2 or two B1 type fire extinguishers.

HB 326 -- DEFINED BENEFIT PENSION PLANS
(Vetoed by the Governor)

This bill clarifies that the board member educational 
requirements of public employee retirement plans 
only apply to defined benefit pension plans.

SCS HB 343 -- MONEY FOLLOWS THE PERSON 
DEMONSTRATION PROGRAM

By September 1, 2015, this bill requires the 
Department of Social Services, in cooperation with 
the Department of Health and Senior Services and 
the Department of Mental Health, to establish a 
committee to assess the continuation of the Money 
Follows the Person Demonstration Program in 
order to support Missourians who have disabilities 
and those who are aging to transition from nursing 
facilities or habilitation centers to quality community 
settings.  The committee must study sustainability 
of the program beyond the current demonstration 
time frame for all transitions to occur by September 
30, 2018.  One member is to be appointed by the 
Speaker of the House of Representatives, one 
member is to be appointed by the President Pro 
Tem of the Senate, and the remaining members are 
to be chosen by the Director of the Department of 
Social Services as specified in the bill representing 
specific agencies and groups.  The committee must 
include fiscal staff from the Department of Social 
Services, the Department of Health and Senior 
Services, the Department of Mental Health, and the 
Division of Budget and Planning within the Office 
of Administration.  The committee may also include 
other members or workgroups deemed necessary to 
accomplish its purposes including, but not limited to, 
representatives from state agencies, local advisory 
groups and community members, and members of 
the General Assembly with valuable input regarding 
the activities of the program.

The committee must:
(1)  Review the extent to which the demonstration 

program has achieved its purposes;
(2)  Assess any possible improvements to the 

program;
(3)  Investigate program elements and costs to 

sustain the program beyond its current demonstration 
period;

(4)  Explore cost savings achieved through the 
demonstration program; and

(5)  Investigate the possibility and need to apply 
for a waiver from the Centers for Medicare and 
Medicaid Services.

By July 1, 2016, the Department of Social 
Services, in cooperation with the Department of 
Health and Senior Services and the Department of 
Mental Health, must make recommendations based 
on the findings of the committee and report them to 
the General Assembly and the Governor.

The provisions of the bill will expire on January 1, 
2017.

HB 361 -- ENGINEER AWARENESS WEEK
This bill designates the third week of February 

as “Engineer Awareness Week” in Missouri.  
Citizens are encouraged to observe the week with 
appropriate activities and events to promote the 
engineering discipline to students, expand public 
recognition of the engineering profession, and 
celebrate engineering accomplishments.

SS HB 384 -- TAXATION
This bill changes the laws regarding taxation.

TAX AMNESTY (Section 32.383, RSMo)
The bill authorizes an amnesty from the 

assessment or payment of all penalties, additions 
to tax, and interest on delinquencies of unpaid 
taxes administered by the Department of Revenue 
which occurred on or prior to December 31, 2014.  
The amnesty must not extend to any taxpayer who 
at the time of payment is a party to any criminal 
investigation or any civil or criminal litigation in 
any court of the United States or this state that is 
pending for nonpayment, delinquency, or fraud 
regarding any tax imposed by this state.  A taxpayer 
must apply for amnesty; pay the unpaid taxes in full 
from September 1, 2015, to November 30, 2015; 
and agree to comply with state tax laws for the next 
eight years from the date of the agreement.  If a 
taxpayer is granted amnesty, he or she will not be 
eligible to participate in any future amnesty for the 
same type of tax. 

The bill creates the Tax Amnesty Fund consisting 
of moneys received from the tax amnesty program.  
Upon appropriation, moneys in the fund must be 
used for an increase in the rate of reimbursement 
to MO HealthNet providers and an increase in the 
number of adults receiving dental coverage under 
MO HealthNet as specified in the bill.  Any excess 
moneys in the fund must be deposited into the 
General Revenue Fund.

The Department of Revenue may enter into an 
agreement with a third-party vendor to provide 
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collection services for eligible delinquent tax 
liabilities to be collected by the department and 
to assist with the administration of the amnesty 
program.  

These provisions will expire on December 31, 
2023.

RECIPROCAL COLLECTION AND OFFSET OF 
INDEBTEDNESS AGREEMENT (Section 32.385)

The bill allows the Director of the Department of 
Revenue and the Commissioner of the Office of 
Administration to enter into a reciprocal collection 
and offset of indebtedness agreement with the 
federal government to offset from federal payments 
to vendors, contractors, and taxpayers for any 
debt owed to the state.  Currently, the department 
has a reciprocal agreement with the United States 
Treasury to offset income tax over-payments.  The 
department director and the commissioner are also 
authorized to enter into a reciprocal agreement 
with any other state to offset from state tax refunds 
and from payments due to vendors and contractors 
providing goods or services to state departments or 
agencies non-tax debt due if the other state extends 
a similar authority to this state.  The requirements of 
the agreements are specified in the bill.  

OFFICE OF TAXPAYER ADVOCATE              
(Sections 37.650 and 136.380)

The bill repeals the provisions regarding the Office 
of Taxpayers’ Ombudsman and establishes the 
Office of Taxpayer Advocate within the Department 
of Revenue who is to be appointed by the Governor 
with the advice and consent of the Senate.  The 
taxpayer advocate will serve a six-year term.  He or 
she must act independently of the department in the 
performance of his or her duties.  The department 
must provide administrative support and staff 
as deemed necessary.  The office must have the 
authority to communicate with any taxpayer and 
any employee of the department regarding any 
individual taxpayer’s tax issues and to have access 
to any records held by any department or agency 
regarding a taxpayer’s tax issues.  The advocate 
must annually report to the General Assembly and 
the Governor regarding cases handled by the office 
and recommendations for changes in tax laws or the 
operation of the department.

TAXPAYER’S BILL OF RIGHTS (Section 136.375)
The Taxpayer’s Bill of Rights is revised to include 

the right to fair and consistent application of Missouri 
tax laws by the Department of Revenue.

STUDY COMMISSION ON STATE TAX POLICY 
(Section 136.450)

The bill establishes the Study Commission on 
State Tax Policy composed of specified tax experts 
and members of the Joint Committee on Tax Policy, 
including one individual representing the needs 
and concerns of individual taxpayers of this state 
appointed by the Minority Floor Leader of the House 
and one appointed by the Minority Floor Leader 
of the Senate.  The commission must establish a 
minimum of five public hearing dates in different 
geographic regions of the state.  The commission 
must study the tax structure of the state and its 
political subdivisions; identify the strengths and 
weaknesses of state tax laws and develop a broad 
range of improvements; investigate measures 
and methods to simplify state tax law, improve 
tax compliance, and reduce administrative costs; 
examine and study any other aspects of state and 
local government that may be related to the state’s 
tax structure; and provide reports of its findings 
and recommendations for legal and administrative 
changes and any proposed legislation to the 
Governor and General Assembly.  The final report 
is due December 31, 2017.  The commission must 
cease all activities by January 1, 2018, and these 
provisions will expire August 28, 2018.

HCS HB 385 -- REAL ESTATE TRANSACTIONS
This bill changes the laws regarding 

communications with brokers relating to real estate 
transactions.  “Correspondence” is defined as 
any written or electronic communication but must 
exclude any text message, instant message, and 
any other information or communication that is 
not designed to be retained or create a permanent 
record for use in any transaction calculated or 
intended to result in the sale, exchange, leasing, or 
rental of real estate.  The bill specifies that the term 
“sold” for purposes of Sections 339.010 to 339.180 
and 339.710 to 339.860, RSMo, must mean that the 
title to the real estate has been transfered or that 
the real estate has become subject to a bona fide 
sale contract or purchase agreement.

HB 391 -- AUTOMOBILE INSURANCE NOTICES
This bill requires any insurer canceling, refusing 

to renew, or refusing to write a policy of automobile 
insurance to send written notice by United States 
Postal Service certificate of mailing, first class mail 
using Intelligent Mail barcode (IMb), or another mail 
tracking method used, approved, or accepted by the 
United States Postal Service.
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HB 400 -- EPILEPSY AWARENESS MONTH
This bill designates the month of November as 

“Epilepsy Awareness Month” and encourages 
citizens to participate in activities and events to 
increase awareness of epilepsy and its related 
symptoms.

HB 402 -- MISSOURI SAFE BOATING WEEK
This bill designates the first full week of May before 

Memorial Day as “Missouri Safe Boating Week” 
and encourages citizens to observe the week with 
appropriate activities and events.

SCS HB 403 -- VETERANS AWARDED THE 
PURPLE HEART

This bill designates Missouri as a “Purple Heart 
State” to honor our combat wounded veterans for 
their service and sacrifice.  

The bill also removes any additional fees charged 
for subsequent sets of special Purple Heart license 
plates.

HB 404 -- MISSOURI’S PEACE OFFICERS 
MEMORIAL WEEK

Currently, May 15 of each year is designated as 
“Missouri’s Peace Officers Memorial Day.”  This 
bill designates the week in which May 15 falls as 
“Missouri’s Peace Officers Memorial Week.”

HB 501 -- HUMAN SEXUALITY COURSE 
MATERIALS

This bill requires any course materials and 
instruction relating to human sexuality and sexually 
transmitted diseases in a public or charter school 
to teach students about the dangers of sexual 
predators, including on-line predators.  Pupils must 
be taught how to behave responsibly and remain 
safe on the Internet and the importance of having 
open communication with responsible adults and 
reporting any inappropriate situation, activity, or 
abuse.  Any course materials and instruction must 
also teach pupils about the consequences, both 
personal and legal, of inappropriate text messaging, 
even among friends.

HB 511 -- ANNEXATION
This bill exempts certain annexations approved by 

a majority of the property owners and by ordinance 
of any municipality that provides water and sanitary 
sewer service within the municipality from boundary 
commission review in St. Louis County.  The 
annexation must not be prohibited by the existence 
of an established unincorporated area.

HB 514 -- TAX INCREMENT FINANCING
This bill authorizes tax increment financing, not to 

exceed $4 million per year, for the redevelopment 
of a former automobile manufacturing plant or a 
former insurance company national service center 
located in St. Louis County.  The former automobile 
manufacturing plant must be a redevelopment 
area containing a minimum of 100 acres that was 
previously used primarily for the manufacture of 
automobiles but ceased operations after the 2007 
calendar year.

The bill adds an additional $12 million per year to 
the tax increment financing cap to be used solely 
for the purpose of tax increment financing projects 
for the retention of a federal employer employing 
over 2,000 geospatial-intelligence jobs.  The bill 
authorizes the state and St. Louis City to enter into 
a financing agreement relating to the redevelopment 
of an area contiguous with a former public housing 
site that has been declared blighted that may lead to 
the retention of a federal employer employing over 
2,000 geospatial-intelligence jobs.  The agreement 
may provide for the appropriation and disbursement 
of state withholding tax revenues and city tax 
revenues generated from the employer for up to 30 
years to fund costs associated with the retention 
of the employer.  The department must request 
an appropriation from the General Assembly of an 
amount sufficient to offset any reduction in available 
withholding tax revenues resulting directly from 
the tax rate reduction or replacement that cannot 
exceed the amount that would have been received 
had the state income tax rates not been reduced or 
replaced.

HB 515 -- PUBLIC RETIREMENT SYSTEMS
This bill changes the laws regarding the Police 

Retirement System of the City of St. Louis, the 
Police Retirement System of Kansas City, the 
Civilian Employees’ Retirement System of the Police 
Department of Kansas City, and the Employees 
Retirement System of the City of St. Louis.  

POLICE RETIREMENT SYSTEM OF THE CITY OF 
ST. LOUIS

The bill changes the laws regarding the disability 
determination process of the Police Retirement 
System of St. Louis.  The bill eliminates the 
board of police commissioners and transfers its 
responsibilities to the chief of police or the system’s 
board of trustees as specified in the bill.  The 
definition of “medical board” is changed from the 
board of three physicians of different disciplines 
appointed by the trustees of the police retirement 
board and responsible for arranging and passing on 
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all required medical examinations and investigations 
regarding an application for disability retirement 
to the health care organization appointed by the 
trustees with those responsibilities.

The bill repeals the provision which specifies that 
the conclusions and recommendations regarding 
an application for disability retirement can be 
based upon the opinion of a single member of the 
medical board or that of an outside specialist if one 
is appointed.

EMPLOYEES RETIREMENT SYSTEM OF THE CITY 
OF ST. LOUIS

The bill allows an employee earning creditable 
service in the Employees Retirement System of 
the City of St. Louis who subsequently becomes 
a policeman for the St. Louis Metropolitan Police 
Department to elect to remain a member of the 
Employees Retirement System of the City of St. 
Louis or transfer membership and creditable service 
to the Police Retirement System of St. Louis.

The Employees Retirement System of the City of 
St. Louis must pay to the Police Retirement System 
of St. Louis an amount actuarially determined to 
equal the liability at the time of the transfer for any 
employee electing to transfer his or her benefits to 
the Police Retirement System of St. Louis.

POLICE RETIREMENT SYSTEM OF KANSAS CITY 
AND THE CIVILIAN EMPLOYEES’ RETIREMENT 
SYSTEM OF THE POLICE DEPARTMENT OF 
KANSAS CITY

The bill changes the laws regarding credit 
for military service for a member of the Police 
Retirement System of Kansas City and the Civilian 
Employees’ Retirement System of the Police 
Department of Kansas City.  Currently, a member 
who is on leave of absence for military service 
must be entitled to service credit for the time spent 
in military service and must not be required to 
pay any member contributions for the time.  The 
bill specifies that, on or after August 28, 2015, a 
member who returns to service from a leave of 
absence for active duty military service must be 
entitled to service credit for the time spent in the 
military service only to the extent the member pays 
any required contributions to the system for the time 
he or she was on leave of absence up to a total of 
five years.  The retirement board of each system 
may waive the required contributions for up to three 
years of creditable service if the member provides 
duty orders under Title 10 or Title 32 U.S.C. and 
discharge from active duty documentation in the 
form of a DD214 or NGB23.

The bill changes the laws regarding the Police 
Retirement System of Kansas City and the Civilian 
Employees’ Retirement System of the Police 
Department of Kansas City by allowing a nonspouse 
beneficiary to elect to directly rollover an eligible 
rollover distribution made on or after January 1, 
2010, to a specified individual retirement account, 
individual retirement annuity, or Roth individual 
retirement account.

SS SCS HCS HBs 517 & 754 -- TAXATION 
This bill changes the laws regarding taxation.  In 

its main provisions, the bill:
(1)  Requires interest to be paid at the current annual 

interest rate determined under Section 32.068, 
RSMo, on any individual or corporation income tax 
refund or overpayment if it is not refunded within 
45 days of the date the return or claim was filed.  
Currently, interest is not allowed on any refund or 
overpayment refunded within 90 days after the last 
date to file plus extensions, if permitted.  The bill 
requires the Director of the Department of Revenue 
to record and deposit all sums of money collected 
or received from the collection of state taxes within 
two business days (Sections 32.069, 136.110, and 
143.811);

(2)  Allows the county collector in a county in 
which townships have been abolished to continue 
to collect a property tax on a county-wide basis for 
road and bridge purposes for one year following 
the abolishment of the townships or until the county 
voters have approved a property tax for those 
purposes, whichever occurs first.  The property 
tax must be the same amount as the property tax 
being levied in the township with the lowest total tax 
rate in the county immediately before the townships 
were abolished.  The collection of the property tax 
must be considered a continuation of an existing tax 
and not a new tax (Section 65.620);  

(3)  Modifies the ballot language regarding the 
repeal of the public safety sales tax in the City of 
Springfield that must be resubmitted to voters every 
five years (Section 94.579);

(4)  Authorizes an income tax dependency 
exemption deduction beginning January 1, 2015, for 
the taxable year in which a stillborn child was born 
if the child would otherwise have been a member 
of the taxpayer’s household and a certificate of 
birth resulting in stillbirth has been issued (Section 
143.161);

(5)  Limits the calculation of state income tax 
withholding on tips received by an employee in 
the course of his or her employment to the amount 
of total tips reported to the employer in a written 
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statement or, if greater, the amount of tips received 
by the employer and remitted to the employee.  If an 
employee shares tips, the employer must withhold 
only from the employee who actually receives the 
shared tips.  The employer’s Missouri income tax 
withholding obligation with respect to an employee’s 
tip income must be limited to the portion of the 
employee’s wages under the control of the employer 
against which the employer is required by federal law 
to withhold federal income taxes on the employee’s 
tips.  Currently, Missouri follows the federal Internal 
Revenue Code on how to determine the amount of 
cash tips that is taxable (Section 143.191);

(6)  Allows a taxpayer to claim a credit or refund 
of an income tax overpayment after the period of 
limitations expires if the taxpayer amends or the 
Internal Revenue Service changes the taxpayer’s 
return after the period of time has expired.  The 
taxpayer must file a claim for the credit or refund 
within one year of the amendment or change 
(Section 143.801);  

(7)  Specifies that any automatic mandatory 
gratuity for a large group imposed by a restaurant 
must not be subject to state sales tax when the 
gratuity is reported as employee tip income and the 
restaurant withholds income tax (Section 144.020);

(8)  Authorizes a state and local sales and use tax 
exemption for an aircraft sold to a nonresident of 
Missouri or a corporation that is not incorporated in 
this state.  To be eligible for the exemption, the aircraft 
cannot be based in the state and must be removed 
from the state within 10 business days of the later 
of the transfer of title or the return to service for any 
maintenance, repairs, or installations associated 
with the transfer of title (Section 144.030);

(9)  Adds a graphing calculator with a taxable 
value of $150 or less to the list of items that are 
exempt from state sales tax during the annual 
sales tax holiday for school supplies and lowers 
the amount allowed for a personal computer or 
computer peripheral device from $3,500 to $1,500 
to qualify for the sales tax exemption during the 
sales tax holiday (Section 144.049); and

(10)  Allows a seller to advertise that the required 
sales tax will be assumed or absorbed into the 
price of the property sold or the service rendered 
if the amount of the tax is stated on the invoice or 
receipt.  Any person who fails to state the assumed 
or absorbed sales tax on the invoice or receipt will 
be guilty of a misdemeanor (Section 144.080).

SS SCS HB 522, HB 34, HB 133, HB 134, HB 810, 
HB 338 & HB 873 -- HIGHWAY AND BRIDGE 
DESIGNATIONS

Currently, the Heroes Way Interchange 
Designation Program allows for designations of 
interstate or state-numbered highway interchanges 
for members of the United States Armed Forces 
killed in action while performing active military duty 
with the Armed Forces in Afghanistan or Iraq on or 
after September 11, 2001.  This bill changes the 
name of the program to the Heroes Way Designation 
Program, allows for the designation of bridges or 
segments of highway on the state highway system, 
and allows a designation for any member of the 
United States Armed Forces killed in action while 
performing active military duty.

The bill designates:
(1)  The portion of State Highway 115 in St. Louis 

City from the intersection of Natural Bridge Avenue 
and Salisbury Street west to the intersection of 
State Highway 115 and Jennings Station Road as 
the Theodore McNeal Highway;

(2)  The portion of U.S. Highway 160 in Ozark 
County from the bridge that crosses Bryant Creek to 
a location two and one-half miles east of the bridge 
as the Jerry Corp Memorial Highway;

(3)  The portion of Highway 63 from the Adair-
Macon County line to the northern border of the city 
limits of Kirksville as the Harriet Beard Highway;

(4)  The portion of Business Highway 71 from the 
Interstate 29 intersection traveling north for two 
miles and located in Andrew County as the Randy 
Bever Memorial Highway;

(5)  The bridge on Highway CC crossing over 
North Fork White River in Ozark County as the Irwin 
C. Cudworth Memorial Bridge;

(6)  The portion of Highway 10 from the western 
border of the city limits of Norborne in Carroll County 
to the eastern border of the city limits of Hardin in 
Ray County as the Ray-Carroll County Veterans 
Memorial Highway; 

(7)  The portion of U.S. Highway 160 in Ripley 
County that is located within the city limits of 
Doniphan as the Billy Yates Highway; 

(8)  The portion of Highway 54 from the Grand 
Glaize Bridge in Camden County to Key Largo 
Road in Camden County as the Veterans Memorial 
Expressway; and

(9)  The portion of State Highway 21 from State 
Route U continuing through the City of Lesterville 
to Elm Street located in Reynolds County as the 
Donald Lee Cook Memorial Highway.
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HB 524 -- ELECTRONIC RELEASE OF MOTOR 
VEHICLE LIENS

This bill allows the Director of the Department 
of Revenue to adopt rules and regulations that 
authorize a lienholder to electronically release a lien 
on property titled with the department when the lien 
was filed electronically with the department.  When 
the lien has been released, the department must 
electronically confirm the receipt of the release.

HB 531 -- LIQUID NICOTINE CONTAINERS
This bill changes the laws regarding liquid nicotine 

containers.  The bill requires any nicotine liquid 
container that is sold at retail in Missouri to satisfy the 
child-resistant effectiveness standards in 16 Code 
of Federal Regulations 1700.15(b) in effect on the 
effective date of the provisions of the bill.  “Nicotine 
liquid container” means a bottle or other container 
of liquid or other substance containing nicotine if the 
liquid or substance is sold, marketed, or intended for 
use in a vapor product.  It must not include a liquid 
or other substance containing nicotine in a cartridge 
that is sold, marketed, or intended for use in a vapor 
product if the cartridge is prefilled and sealed by the 
manufacturer and not intended to be opened by the 
consumer.  Any person who engages in retail sales 
of liquid nicotine containers in Missouri in violation 
of these provisions must be assessed a fine of $250 
for the first violation and $500 for each subsequent 
violation.

The provisions of the bill and any rules adopted 
pursuant to these provisions must be null, void, and 
of no force and effect upon the effective date of the 
final regulations issued by the federal Food and Drug 
Administration or from any other federal agency if the 
regulations mandate child-resistant effectiveness 
standards for nicotine liquid containers.

HB 567 -- ALPHA PHI ALPHA DAY
This bill designates December 4 as “Alpha Phi 

Alpha Day” in Missouri.  Citizens are encouraged 
to observe the day with appropriate activities and 
events to commemorate the founding of the first 
intercollegiate Greek-letter fraternity established for 
African-Americans.

HCS HB 587 -- FEES PAID TO THE DIVISION OF 
FINANCE

This bill increases specified fees paid to the 
Director of the Division of Finance within the 
Department of Insurance, Financial Institutions and 
Professional Registration.  These increases include:

(1)  The investigation fee that must be submitted 
with an application to obtain or renew a license to 

issue checks in this state from $100 to $300;
(2)  The fee that may be assessed for amending 

and reissuing an existing license to issue checks in 
this state from up to $100 to up to $300;

(3)  The annual license fee for an individual to 
engage in the business of a financing institution 
from $300 for each place of business to $500 for 
each place of business; 

(4)  The annual registration fee in order for a person 
to engage in the business of a premium finance 
company from $300 to $500.  Any revised statement 
of a registration form must be accompanied by a fee 
of $300 instead of the current $100;

(5)  The annual license fee in order for a person to 
engage in the business of a sales finance company 
from $300 for each place of business to $500 for 
each place of business;

(6)  The annual registration fee for a lender of 
small loans from $300 to $500;

(7)  The fee that must accompany a registration 
statement for a credit service organization from not 
to exceed $100 to not to exceed $300; and

 (8)  The annual license fee for a lender of 
unsecured loans of $500 or less from $300 per 
location to $500 per location.

SCS HCS HB 613 -- COLLECTION OF PROPERTY 
TAXES

This bill changes the laws regarding the collection 
of property taxes.  In its main provisions, the bill:

(1)  Changes the amount of fees a county collector 
must collect for collecting specified state, county, 
and local taxes and licensing fees that must be 
deposited in the county general fund.  In a county 
where the total amount levied in any year exceeds 
$350,000 and is less than $2 million, the fee is 
2.5% on the first $350,000 collected and 1% on 
anything above that amount.  In a county where 
the total amount levied exceeds $2 million, the fee 
is 1% on all amounts collected.  The bill raises the 
upper threshold amount for a county to be eligible to 
collect the 2.5% on the first $350,000 to $3 million; 

(2)  Requires the county collector in any county 
in which a township has been abolished to continue 
to collect a property tax on a county-wide basis for 
road and bridge purposes for one year following 
the abolishment of the township or until the county 
voters have approved a property tax for those 
purposes, whichever occurs first.  The property tax 
must be the same amount as the property tax being 
levied in the township with the lowest total tax rate 
immediately before the township was abolished.  
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The collection of the property tax is to be considered 
a continuation of a tax and not a new tax;

(3)  Specifies that all merchandise or equipment 
held by a rental company and available for short-
term rentals of less than 365 consecutive days 
which will subsequently or ultimately be sold must 
be considered inventory and exempt from property 
taxes; 

(4)  Requires a county assessor when establishing 
the value of real property to use an income based 
approach as specified in the bill for the assessment 
of real property with federal or state imposed 
restrictions in regard to rent limitations, operational 
requirements, or any other restrictions imposed on 
the property to be eligible for state or federal credits 
and subsidies as residential rental property;

(5)  Changes the laws regarding the advertisement 
of delinquent lands.  Currently, a county collector 
may advertise delinquent land with an assessed 
valuation of $1,000 or less without a legal description 
or the names of the record owners when publishing 
a delinquent land list for delinquent real property 
tax.  The bill increases the assessed valuation to 
$1,500 or less; 

(6)  Changes the laws regarding the advertisement 
of a delinquent lot.  Currently, a county collector 
may advertise a delinquent lot if the lot is in a 
development of 20 or more lots and the lot has 
an assessed valuation of $1,000 or less without a 
legal description or the names of the record owners 
when publishing a delinquent land list for delinquent 
real property tax.  The bill increases the assessed 
valuation to $1,500 or less;

(7)  Allows a collector, agent of a collector, tax 
sale purchaser, or an agent of a tax sale purchaser 
to enter land, without being guilty of trespass, to 
provide, serve, or post notice of a tax sale or tax 
sale redemption rights;  

(8)  Specifies that upon paying the reasonable and 
customary costs of a sale to the county collector 
for the use of the purchaser, his or her heirs, 
successors, or assigns; the owner; lienholder; or 
occupant of any land or lot sold for taxes; or any 
other person having an interest therein must have 
the absolute right to redeem the land at any time 
during the following year and must continue to have 
a defeasible right to redeem the land until the tax 
sale purchaser acquires the deed.  Once the tax sale 
purchaser acquires the deed, the right to redeem 
must expire, provided upon the expiration of the lien 
evidenced by a certificate of purchase under Section 
140.410, RSMo, no redemption must be required.  
The bill prohibits any costs incurred by a tax sale 
purchaser in providing notice of tax sale redemption 

rights required by law from being reimbursable as a 
reasonable and customary cost of sale unless the 
costs are incurred after March 1 following the date 
of purchase of the tax sale certificate by the tax sale 
purchaser at a first or second offering delinquent 
tax sale.  The reasonable and customary costs of 
sale needed to redeem any land or lot sold for taxes 
must be determined by the collector;

(9)  Allows minors and incapacitated and disabled 
persons to redeem any lands belonging to them 
sold for taxes within five years of the date of the last 
payment of taxes encumbering the real estate by the 
minor, incapacitated or disabled person, the party’s 
predecessors in interest, or any representative of the 
person in the same manner as provided in Section 
140.340 for redemption by other persons instead of 
one year after the expiration of the disability;

(10)  Repeals the provision requiring a title search 
report detailing the ownership and encumbrances 
on property purchased at a delinquent land tax 
auction to be declared invalid if the effective date 
is more than 120 days from the date the purchaser 
applies for a collector’s deed and the provision 
requiring a person redeeming property to pay the 
costs incurred by the purchaser in the providing the 
required notice.  The bill specifies that “authorized 
to acquire the deed” means the date chosen by the 
tax sale purchaser that is more than the minimum 
redemption period specified in Section 140.340 
if the tax sale purchaser has complied with the 
requirements entitling the purchaser to the issuance 
of a collector’s deed including payment of the 
recording fee for the collector’s deed, production 
of the original certificate of purchase as required 
under Section 140.420 or production of an original 
affidavit of lost or destroyed certificate approved 
by the collector as to form and substance, and 
payment of all subsequent taxes required to be 
paid under Section 140.440.  The bill specifies how 
any person except a minor or an incapacitated or 
disabled person may receive notice of his or her 
right to redeem property sold at a tax auction, as 
specified in the bill, in a foreign country or outside 
the United States; 

(11)  Changes the laws regarding the purchase 
of delinquent land.  Currently, a purchaser of 
delinquent land, or his or her heirs or assigns, must 
pay all subsequent taxes on the property purchased 
prior to the issuance of any collector’s deed and 
have a deed to be executed and placed on record 
in the proper county within two years from the date 
of the sale.  The bill shortens the time to within 18 
months.  If no person redeems the lands sold for 
taxes prior to the expiration of the right to redeem, 
at the expiration thereof, and on production of the 
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certificate of purchase and upon proof satisfactory 
to the collector that a purchaser or his or her heirs, 
successors, or assigns are authorized to acquire the 
deed, the collector of the county where the sale of 
the lands took place must execute to the purchaser, 
or his or her heirs or assigns, in the name of the 
state, a conveyance of the real estate sold, which 
must vest in the grantee an absolute estate in fee 
simple, subject, however, to all claims thereon for 
unpaid taxes except the unpaid taxes existing at 
the time of the purchase of the lands and the lien 
for which taxes was inferior to the lien for taxes for 
which the tract or lot of land was sold; and

(12)  Authorizes all counties of the third or fourth 
classification to impose, upon voter approval, a 
special road rock fund tax at a rate not to exceed 
$1 per acre for property classified as agricultural 
and horticultural.  Currently, only certain counties 
of the third classification without a township form of 
government are authorized to impose the tax upon 
voter approval.

SS HB 616 -- ASSESSMENT OF PROPERTY TAXES
This bill specifies that all merchandise or 

equipment held by a rental company and available 
for short-term rentals of less than 365 consecutive 
days which will subsequently or ultimately be sold 
must be considered inventory and exempt from 
property taxes. 

The bill specifies that for purposes of assessment, 
any new political subdivision that is created 
by approval of the voters before July 1 of any 
assessment year must be considered effective 
upon certification of the vote.  If the new political 
subdivision is created by approval of the voters on or 
after July 1 of the current assessment year, it must 
be considered effective for assessment purposes in 
the following assessment year.

SCS HCS HB 618 -- DISPOSITION OF HUMAN 
REMAINS

(Vetoed by the Governor)
This bill authorizes an advanced practice 

registered nurse, assistant physician, or physician 
assistant who has been delegated tasks outlined by 
a physician with whom he or she has entered into a 
collaborative practice arrangement or a supervision 
agreement to perform specified phases of the death 
certification process. 

The funeral director or person in charge of final 
disposition of the body must enter into the electronic 
death registration system the personal data from 
the next-of-kin, the medical certification from the 
person responsible for the certification if designated 

to do so, and any other information or data that may 
be required to be placed on the death certificate or 
entered into the system.

 The person authorized to complete the medical 
certification may, in writing, designate any other 
person to enter the medical certification information 
into the electronic death registration system if the 
authorized person has signed a statement stating the 
cause of death.  Any person completing the medical 
certification or entering data into the electronic 
death registration system must be immune from 
civil liability for the certification completion, data 
entry, or determination of the cause of death unless 
the person acts with gross negligence or willful 
misconduct. 

The Department of Health and Senior Services 
must notify all physicians, physician assistants, 
assistant physicians, and advanced practice 
registered nurses of the requirements regarding the 
use of the electronic vital records system. 

By August 30, 2015, the Division of Community 
and Public Health within the department must 
establish a working group to evaluate the electronic 
vital records system, develop recommendations to 
improve the efficiency and usability of the system, 
and report the findings and recommendations to the 
General Assembly by January 1, 2016. 

The bill specifies that if a funeral director has 
knowledge that there is more than one person in a 
class who is equal in priority to choose and control 
the final disposition of a dead human body and who 
do not agree on the disposition, the decision of 
the majority of the people with equal priority must 
control the disposition.  The funeral director must 
allow voting by proxy using a written authorization 
or instrument.

The bill specifies that a person or association 
that owns a cemetery is authorized to disinter 
an individual’s remains and rebury or reinter the 
remains at another location pursuant to written 
instructions signed and acknowledged by a person 
who is the next-of kin, as defined in statutes, at the 
time of death.  If the next-of-kin at the time of death 
is no longer living, a majority of specified members 
of the deceased person’s family may authorize the 
disinterment.

Currently, the cemetery owner is not liable to the 
deceased person’s family or to any third party for 
a disinterment, relocation, or delivery of deceased 
human remains made pursuant to specified 
provisions.  The bill specifies that the cemetery 
operator, funeral director, funeral establishment, or 
any other person or entity involved in the process 
must also not be liable.
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HB 629 -- PUBLIC RETIREMENT SYSTEMS
(Vetoed by the Governor)

This bill changes the laws regarding public 
retirement systems.

POLICE DEPARTMENT RETIREMENT SYSTEMS 
OF KANSAS CITY

The bill changes the laws regarding the Police 
Retirement System of Kansas City and the Civilian 
Employees’ Retirement System of the Police 
Department of Kansas City by allowing a nonspouse 
beneficiary to elect to directly rollover an eligible 
rollover distribution made on or after January 1, 
2010, to a specified individual retirement account, 
individual retirement annuity, or Roth individual 
account.

PUBLIC SCHOOL RETIREMENT SYSTEM OF 
KANSAS CITY

The number of trustees elected by the members 
of the Public School Retirement System Kansas 
City is reduced from four to three beginning at the 
election in 2016.  Beginning at the election in 2016, 
one member must be a teacher or administrator of 
a charter school located in the Kansas City School 
District.  This trustee will be elected for a term of 
four years by the members of the retirement system.

PUBLIC SCHOOL RETIREMENT SYSTEM OF THE 
CITY OF ST. LOUIS

The bill modifies the composition of the board of 
trustees of the Public School Retirement System 
of the City of St. Louis and the qualifications for 
the four trustees elected by and from the active 
members.  At least two trustees must be teachers; 
not more than one trustee must be a nonteacher; and 
beginning in 2016, one trustee must be a teacher or 
administrator at a charter school located in the St. 
Louis City School District.

HB 650 -- AUXILIARY LIGHTING ON 
MOTORCYCLES

This bill allows a motorcycle to be equipped with, 
and an operator of a motorcycle to use, auxiliary 
lighting that is amber and white illumination, 
standard bulb running lights, or light-emitting diode 
pods and strips while operating a motorcycle.  The 
lighting must be non-flashing, non-blinking, non-
oscillating, and directed toward the engine and drive 
train of the motorcycle to prevent interference with 
the motorcyclist’s operation of the motorcycle.

SCS HB 686 -- MOTOR VEHICLE REGISTRATIONS
This bill revises the definition of “junk vehicle” to 

include a vehicle that has been designated as junk 

or a substantially equivalent designation by Missouri 
or any another state.  

The transferor of an interest in a motor vehicle 
or trailer must include the name of the transferor in 
the required notice to the Department of Revenue.  
The bill allows for the electronic signature of the 
transferor on the notice.  A notice of sale is effective 
even though it contains minor errors that are not 
materially misleading.

The bill allows the purchaser of a junk vehicle 
to submit a properly completed application for a 
junking certificate as well as the salvage certificate 
of title or certificate of ownership to the Director of 
the Department of Revenue, and the department 
director must issue a negotiable junking certificate 
to the purchaser that must authorize the holder 
to possess; transport; or, by assignment, transfer 
ownership in the parts, scrap, or junk.

The department must only issue a junking certificate 
for any vehicle issued a junking certificate or similar 
document or classification pursuant to the laws of 
another state, regardless of whether the designation 
has been subsequently changed by law in any other 
state, and a salvage certificate of title or original 
certificate of title must not thereafter be issued for 
the vehicle.  If the vehicle has not previously been 
designated as a junk vehicle, the applicant making 
the original junking certificate application must be 
allowed to rescind the application within 90 days.

Currently, the sale of all 30-day temporary 
registration permits must be recorded on the 
dealer’s monthly sales report.  The bill removes this 
requirement if the sale of the temporary permits is 
already recorded by electronic means as determined 
by the department.

SCS HCS HB 709 -- ENTITIES REGULATED 
BY THE DEPARTMENT OF INSURANCE, 
FINANCIAL INSTITUTIONS AND PROFESSIONAL 
REGISTRATION

This bill changes the laws regarding entities 
regulated by the Department of Insurance, Financial 
Institutions and Professional Registration.  

PRESCRIPTIVE AUTHORITY                         
(Sections 195.070, 334.037, 334.104, and 334.747, 
RSMo)

The bill allows specified advanced practice 
registered nurses, assistant physicians, and 
physician assistants to prescribe Schedule II 
hydrocodone.  Hydrocodone prescriptions are 
limited to a one five-day supply without refill.
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INFORMATIONAL DOCUMENTS                   
(Sections 324.023, 374.015, and 374.018)

The bill allows any board or commission within the 
Department of Insurance, Financial Institutions and 
Profession Registration to issue opinions addressing 
topics relating to the qualifications, functions, or 
duties of any profession licensed by the specific 
board or commission issuing the guidance.  Any 
opinion is for educational purposes only, is in no 
way binding on the licensees of the respective board 
or commission, and cannot be used as the basis 
for any discipline against any licensee.  A board or 
commission may not address topics relating to the 
qualifications, functions, or duties of any profession 
licensed by a different board or commission.  

The bill allows the department Director to issue 
non-binding informal written communications for 
the purpose of informing or educating the insurance 
industry and the general public about a regulatory 
topic or issue.

The bill allows the department director to issue 
a no-action letter stating the intention of the 
department to not take enforcement actions on a 
particular insurer based on a specific set of facts 
presented by the insurer and applicable law as of 
the date of the issuance of the letter.  If there is not 
a change in any material fact or law or a discovery 
of a material misrepresentation or omission made 
by the insurer, the department is estopped from 
bringing any enforcement action against an insurer 
who has been issued a no-action letter concerning 
the conduct that is the subject of the no-action letter.

COORDINATION OF BENEFITS (Section 376.791) 
The bill exempts any individual health insurance 

coverage from specified provisions of Section 
376.777 regarding required policy statements 
relating to the coordination of benefits and requires 
the department director to promulgate rules to 
implement and administer these provisions prior to 
January 1, 2016.

SS#2 HCS HB 722 -- PROHIBITED ORDINANCES 
BY POLITICAL SUBDIVISIONS

(Vetoed by the Governor)
This bill specifies that all merchants, itinerant 

vendors, and peddlers doing business in this state 
must have the option to provide customers with a 
paper or plastic bag for any item or good purchased.  
A political subdivision cannot impose any ban, fee, 
or tax upon the use of paper or plastic bags for 
packaging any item or good purchased or prohibit a 
consumer from using a reusable bag.

The bill also prohibits a political subdivision from 
establishing, mandating, or otherwise requiring an 
employer to provide to an employee a minimum or 
living wage rate or employment benefits that exceed 
the requirements of federal or state laws, rules, or 
regulations.  These provisions must not preempt 
any state law or local minimum wage requirements 
in effect on August 28, 2015.

HCS HB 769 -- DIRECT HEALTH CARE SERVICES
This bill defines a “medical retainer agreement” 

as a contract between a physician and an individual 
patient or the individual patient’s legal representative 
in which the physician agrees to provide certain 
health care services described in the agreement 
to the individual patient for an agreed-upon fee 
and period of time.  A medical retainer agreement 
is not insurance, entering into a medical retainer 
agreement is not the business of insurance, and a 
physician or agent of a physician is not required to 
obtain a certificate of authority or license to market, 
sell, or offer to sell a medical retainer agreement.

To be considered a medical retainer agreement, 
the agreement must meet all of the following 
requirements:

(1)  Be in writing;
(2)  Be signed by the physician or agent of the 

physician and the individual patient or the individual 
patient’s legal representative;

(3)  Allow either party to terminate the agreement 
on written notice to the other party;

(4)  Describe the specific health care services that 
are included in the agreement;

(5)  Specify the fee for the agreement;
(6)  Specify the period of time under the agreement; 

and
(7)  Prominently state in writing that the agreement 

is not health insurance.
Any patient who enters into a medical retainer 

agreement under these provisions may use funds 
from his or her health savings account (HSA), 
flexible spending arrangement (FSA), or health 
reimbursement arrangement (HRA), to pay the fees 
under the patient’s medical retainer agreement, 
subject to any federal or state law regarding 
qualified expenditures from a HSA, FSA, or HRA.  
The employer of an employee with a HSA, FSA, 
or HRA may make contributions to the employee’s 
HSA, FSA, or HRA to cover all or a portion of the 
agreed-upon fees under the employee’s medical 
retainer agreement, subject to any federal or state 
restrictions, or may pay the agreed-upon fees 
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directly to the physician under the medical retainer 
agreement.

These provisions must not be construed as 
prohibiting, limiting, or otherwise restricting a 
physician in a collaborative practice arrangement 
from entering into a medical retainer agreement.

HB 778 -- 22Q AWARENESS WEEK
This bill designates the 22nd week of each year as 

“22q Awareness Week” in Missouri and encourages 
citizens to observe the week with appropriate 
activities and events to increase awareness of 
individuals with a chromosome 22q11.2 deletion.

SS SCS HB 799 -- JUDICIAL CIRCUITS
(Vetoed by the Governor)

This bill changes the laws regarding judicial 
circuits.  The bill:

(1)  Allows Buchanan County to prosecute 
and punish violations of its county orders in the 
Circuit Court of Buchanan County or in the county 
municipal court if the creation of a county municipal 
court is approved by order of the Buchanan County 
Commission; 

(2)  Specifies that any juvenile court employee in 
a single county circuit that changed from a multi-
county circuit on or after August 28, 2015, must 
be considered a state employee; receive state-
provided benefits, including retirement benefits from 
the state retirement plan; and not be subject to the 
rules regarding multi-county circuit court juvenile 
officers;

(3)  Allows the presiding judge of a circuit with 
a diagnostic and reception center operated by the 
Department of Corrections and a mental health 
facility operated by the Department of Mental Health 
as of January 1, 2015, that houses individuals found 
not guilty of a crime by reason of mental disease 
or defect and provides sex offender rehabilitation 
and treatment services to appoint a circuit court 
marshal;

(4)  Divides the current 38th Judicial Circuit into 
two circuits.  Beginning January 1, 2017, Christian 
County will remain within the 38th Judicial Circuit 
while Taney County will be in the newly created 46th 
Judicial Circuit.  Each circuit must have one circuit 
judge.  The circuit judge in the 46th Judicial Circuit 
must be elected in 2016 for a two-year term and 
thereafter in 2018 for a full six-year term;

(5)  Specifies that when an annual judicial 
performance report indicates for three consecutive 
years a judicial circuit with a population of 100,000 
people or more is in need of four or more full-time 

judicial positions, there must be one additional 
circuit judge position authorized in that circuit, 
subject to appropriations;

(6)  Moves Division 12 in the 16th Judicial Circuit 
from Kansas City to the City of Independence;

(7)  Requires, by September 1, 2015, the presiding 
judge of the circuit court in which the municipal 
division is located to report its name and address 
and any other requested information to the Clerk 
of the Missouri Supreme Court.  If a municipality 
elects to abolish or establish a municipal division, 
the presiding judge of the circuit court in which 
the municipal division is located must notify the 
clerk, and the presiding judge of any new municipal 
division must complete the required report within 90 
days of its establishment;

(8)  Requires the Supreme Court to develop rules 
regarding conflict of interest rules for any prosecutor, 
defense attorney, or judge that has a pending case 
before the municipal division of any circuit court; 

(9)  Requires a surcharge of up to $10, in addition 
to all court fees and costs, to be assessed in each 
court proceeding filed in any court within any judicial 
circuit composed of a single non-charter county in 
all civil and criminal cases with specified exceptions 
to fund the development of a justice center in the 
county.  The moneys collected from the surcharge 
must be deposited into a justice center fund and 
only be used for the costs associated with the land 
assemblage and purchase, planning, construction, 
maintenance, and operation of any county or 
municipal judicial facility or justice center.  The bill 
repeals the provision of law requiring any funds 
not needed for the operating costs of the county or 
municipal judicial facility to be transfered quarterly to 
the political subdivision’s general revenue fund and 
requires the political subdivision to maintain records 
identifying all funds received and expenditures 
made from its justice center fund;

(10)  Creates the Jasper County Judicial Fund for 
the purpose of funding a county juvenile center and 
the county judicial facility in Jasper County.  Court 
proceedings in the 29th Judicial Circuit must have 
a specified surcharge assessed in all civil cases, 
misdemeanor criminal cases, and felony criminal 
cases, with specified exceptions, with those 
moneys being deposited into the fund.  The judge 
presiding over the case may waive the surcharge if 
the defendant is found to be indigent and unable to 
pay the costs.  These provisions expire on August 
28, 2025;

(11)  Specifies that in addition to all other court 
costs, a surcharge of up to $10 must be assessed as 
costs in each civil or criminal proceeding, excluding 
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violations of traffic laws or ordinances, filed in 
Howell County except in any proceeding when the 
proceeding or defendant has been dismissed by 
the court or the costs are to be paid by the state, 
county, or municipality.  For violations of the criminal 
laws of the state or county ordinances, including 
infractions, a surcharge must not be collected 
unless it is authorized by the municipal government 
where the violation occurred.  The moneys collected 
from the surcharge must be deposited into a justice 
center fund and only used for the costs associated 
with the land assemblage and purchase, planning, 
construction, maintenance, and operation of any 
county or municipal judicial facility or justice center.  
These provisions expire on August 28, 2025;

(12)  Specifies that in addition to all other court 
costs, a surcharge of up to $10 must be assessed as 
costs in each criminal or civil proceeding, excluding 
violations of traffic laws or ordinances filed in Cape 
Girardeau County except in any proceeding when 
the proceeding or defendant has been dismissed by 
the court or the costs are to be paid by the state, 
county, or municipality.  For violations of the criminal 
laws of the state or county ordinances, including 
infractions, a surcharge must not be collected 
unless it is authorized by the municipal government 
where the violation occurred.  The moneys collected 
from the surcharge must be deposited into a 
justice center fund and only be used for the costs 
associated with the land assemblage and purchase, 
planning, construction, maintenance, and operation 
of any county or municipal judicial facility or justice 
center;

 (13)  Extends the deadline when the Director of 
the Missouri State Public Defender System must 
implement a plan to establish district offices that 
align with judicial circuit boundaries from December 
31, 2018, to December 31, 2021;  

(14)  Specifies that the Director of the Missouri 
State Public Defender System may delegate the 
legal representation of an eligible person to any 
member of the Missouri Bar.  Currently, the director 
may delegate the legal representation of any 
individual to any member of the Missouri Bar; and

(15)  Repeals the provisions regarding the 
appointment of a janitor-messenger in the circuit 
court of the City of St. Louis.

HB 859 -- JACKIE ROBINSON DAY
This bill designates April 15 of each year as “Jackie 

Robinson Day” in Missouri and encourages citizens 
to observe the day in honor of Jackie Robinson, the 
first African-American to play major league baseball.

HB 861 -- MULTIPLE SCLEROSIS AWARENESS 
WEEK

This bill designates the first full week of March 
as “Multiple Sclerosis Awareness Week” in Missouri 
and encourages citizens to participate in appropriate 
activities and events to increase awareness of 
multiple sclerosis.

HB 869 -- MOTOR VEHICLE SALES TAX
The bill authorizes a state and local sales and use 

tax exemption for motor vehicles, trailers, boats, or 
outboard motors owned and used by the following:

(1)  A not-for-profit civic, social, service, or fraternal 
organization in its civic or charitable functions and 
activities;

(2)  A private, not-for-profit elementary school, 
secondary school, or higher education institution 
in the conduct of its educational functions and 
activities; and

(3)  An elementary school, secondary school, or 
higher education institution in the conduct of its 
education functions and activities that are supported 
by public funds.

Any transfer of motor vehicles, trailers, boats, or 
outboard motors because of a corporate merger, 
liquidation, exchanges of stock or securities, capital 
contribution, purchasing a partnership interest, 
dividend distribution, or liquidation of partnership 
interest is also included in the exemption.

HB 874 -- WALT DISNEY - A DAY TO DREAM DAY
This bill designates October 16 each year 

as “Walt Disney - ‘A Day to Dream’ Day” and 
encourages citizens to participate in appropriate 
activities and events to commemorate the life and 
accomplishments of Walt Disney.

SCS HB 878 -- CORPORATE SECURITY ADVISORS
(Vetoed by the Governor)

This bill specifies that the Director of the Department 
of Public Safety must have the sole authority to 
commission corporate security advisors.  A person 
cannot hold a commission as a corporate security 
advisor without a valid peace officer license.  The 
department director must commission corporate 
security advisors as he or she deems appropriate 
taking specified factors into consideration.  A 
licensed corporate security advisor who is not also 
commissioned by the department must not have the 
power of arrest for violations of the criminal code 
except as otherwise provided by law.

The department must establish a minimum 
amount of liability insurance to be provided by a 
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prospective or current employer of the corporate 
security advisor and require the employer to provide 
a statement that the corporate security advisor will 
be included in the policy as a named insured.  An 
application for a license must be made on a form and 
in a manner as the department director prescribes.  
The department must charge a fee, not to exceed 
$200, for each license.

The bill specifies that the provisions of the bill are 
not intended to nor must they be construed as a 
waiver of sovereign immunity or the acknowledgment 
or creation of any liability on the part of the state 
for personal injury, death, or property damage.  
The department and department director must 
have immunity from civil liability arising out of the 
commissioning of corporate security advisors under 
these provisions.

SCS HB 947 -- CONVEYANCE OF STATE 
PROPERTIES

This bill authorizes the Governor to convey 
specified state property located in Christian, 
Greene, Jackson, Pulaski, St. Charles, St. Louis, 
Saline, Shannon, and Vernon counties.

HB 1022 -- RETURN OF PREMIUMS
(Vetoed by the Governor)

This bill allows a casualty insurer to return or 
refund a portion of its expense savings to an insured 
if the insured makes no reportable claim under 
specified coverages within a prescribed period 
of time established by the insurer, regardless of 
whether the claim is due to the fault of the insured.  
The return of savings may be represented as a 
predetermined portion of the premium and must not 
constitute a rebate or an unfair trade practice under 
Sections 375.930 to 375.948, RSMo.

HB 1052 -- LAND SURVEYORS
This bill adds to the description of the practice of 

a professional land surveyor work which involves 
creating, preparing, or modifying electronic or 
computerized data relative to the survey and location 
of rights-of-way and easements.  The survey 
and location of rights-of-way are not exclusive 
to professional land surveyors unless the survey 
affects real property rights as defined in current law.  

The bill specifies that any document prepared 
by a provider of utility or communications services 
between August 27, 2014, and August 28, 2015, 
purporting to affect real property rights must 
remain valid and enforceable even though any legal 
description contained in the document was not 
prepared by a professional land surveyor.

SCS HB 1070 -- OFFICE OF MILITARY ADVOCATE
This bill establishes the Office of Military Advocate 

within the Department of Economic Development for 
the purpose of advocating for the military services 
and military bases in Missouri, creating a long-term 
plan on military sustainability, and helping to fulfill 
the mission of the Missouri Military Preparedness 
and Enhancement Commission.  The office must 
be administered by the military advocate who must 
be appointed by the Governor with the advice and 
consent of the Senate.  The advocate will serve 
a term of six years, and the department must 
provide administrative support and staff as deemed 
necessary to assist the military advocate and to 
fulfill the statutory mission of the commission.

SCS HB 1098 -- BANKS AND TRUST COMPANIES
(Vetoed by the Governor)

This bill modifies the definition of “out-of-state 
bank or trust company” to reflect the name change 
of the Office of Thrift Supervision to the Office of 
the Comptroller of the Currency.  

Currently, prior to acting in any fiduciary 
capacity in this state, an out-of-state bank or trust 
company must file with the Director of the Division 
of Finance within the Department of Insurance, 
Financial Institutions and Professional Registration 
an application for a certificate of reciprocity that 
states specified information.  The bill requires 
the application to also state whether it intends to 
establish a trust representative office, facility, 
branch, or other physical location in the state and 
the activities to be conducted there.

The bill specifies that if an out-of-state bank or 
trust company has established a physical location 
in the state, it may also be served legal process 
at the location by service upon any officer, agent, 
or employee at that location.  The division director 
has the discretion to enter into a memorandum of 
understanding with the bank or state regulator 
of another state to adjust the minimum capital 
requirement or other terms to obtain reciprocity for 
Missouri chartered banks or trust companies in that 
jurisdiction.

HB 1116 -- ROHHAD AWARENESS DAY
This bill designates May 7 of each year as “ROHHAD 

Awareness Day” in Missouri.  Rapid-Onset Obesity 
with Hypothalamic Dysfunction, Hypoventilation 
and Autonomic Dysregulation (ROHHAD) is a rare 
syndrome characterized by rapid-onset obesity in 
the first 10 years of life, impairment of the autonomic 
nervous system, and later onset of reduced lung 
function.  The bill encourages Missouri citizens to 
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participate in awareness and educational activities 
on the symptoms and impact of ROHHAD and to 
support programs that advance the treatment, 
assist in finding a cure, enhance the quality of life of 
ROHHAD children, and ease the financial burden of 
families with children suffering from the syndrome.

HB 1119 -- LINEWORKER APPRECIATION DAY
This bill designates the second Monday in April 

each year as “Missouri Lineworker Appreciation 
Day” and recommends that people of the state 
observe the day with activities that will bring about 
an increased awareness of the profession and 
contributions of lineworkers.

SCS HB 1149 -- DIVISION OF YOUTH SERVICES
This bill changes the laws regarding the Division 

of Youth Services within the Department of Social 
Services. 

The bill defines “youth” as it applies to the 
provisions regarding the division as a person under 
21 years of age committed to the custody of the 
division.

Currently, the division must investigate all 
pertinent circumstances of the background of a 
child who has been committed to facilitate the 
placement of the child in the most appropriate 
program or residential facility and a child committed 
for a status offense cannot be placed in the W.E. 
Sears Youth Center in Poplar Bluff or the Hogan 
Street Regional Youth Center in St. Louis.  The 
bill specifies that the investigation of the child is to 
facilitate the placement and treatment of the child in 
the most appropriate program or residential facility 
and removes the prohibition on the commitment of 
a child who is committed for a status offense to the 
specific facilities but specifies that the child may not 
be placed in any residential facility designated by 
the division as a maximum security facility.

The bill revises the list of programs and facilities 
that the division may establish and operate by 
removing park camps and regional facilities and 
adding moderate care facilities and day treatment 
programs.

The provisions are repealed that allow the division 
to offer on-the-job vocational training that does 
not exceed eight hours a day, allow the State Park 
Board to pay up to $15 a month to a child working 
in a state park or park work camp, and specify 
how the money is to be paid to the child.  The bill 
specifies that the board may pay wages out of its 
appropriations for any work performed in any state 
park by a youth committed to the division, the 
division may provide for the payment of reasonable 

wages for work or tasks performed by the youth, 
and all payments made to or on behalf of the youth 
must be the youth’s property, but the division may 
place restrictions on the youth’s access to the funds 
as the division determines appropriate in the best 
interests of the youth and to assure security in the 
division’s facilities.  

Currently, the division must establish a community 
work program in which offenders committed to the 
custody of the division who are 14 to 18 years of 
age may work on projects developed by specified 
state departments.  The bill allows the division to 
establish a program and allows youth under the 
age of 21 to participate.  The number of youth who 
may participate in a work group on a work project is 
increased from not more than 11 to not more than 
13.  The bill requires staff supervising the work 
projects to receive appropriate training per year 
from the Department of Social Services and the 
division instead of the current at least 20 hours.

The bill creates a special class of trust funds to 
be known as a DYS trust fund for depositing wages 
earned by a youth or for other funds provided for 
the use or benefit of the youth.  These funds will 
be established for each facility where youth are 
located in the custody of the division throughout the 
state, and the division must deposit money in a DYS 
trust fund with a financial institution.  Any earnings 
attributable to the money in the account of a youth 
must be credited to that youth’s DYS trust fund.  Any 
funds not expended by or on behalf of the youth 
before the youth’s release from DYS residential 
care must be paid to the youth upon release from 
DYS residential care.  The division must establish 
by regulation a program for youth to access funds 
for reasonable purposes while the youth is in DYS 
residential care, and the program must include 
training for youth on wise money management, 
maintaining personal financial accounts, and saving 
money for use after discharge from DYS residential 
care.

The bill also creates a special trust fund to be 
known as the DYS Child Benefits Fund for the 
deposit of payments from the Social Security 
Administration to youth in custody of the division.  
Moneys in the fund must not be deemed to be state 
funds and must be used only for the purposes 
specified by federal or state law or regulation of the 
division.  Any funds not expended by or on behalf of 
the youth before release from DYS residential care 
must be distributed as required by federal law.

The division may accept an appointment to serve 
as representative payee or fiduciary, or in a similar 
capacity for payments to a youth, and any money 
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received by the division on behalf of a youth must be 
deposited in either a DYS trust fund or the DYS Child 
Benefits Fund and accounted for in the name of the 
youth or as representative payee of the youth.  The 
division may accept funds which a parent, guardian, 
or other person wishes to provide for the use or 
benefit of the youth.  The funds must be deposited 
in a DYS trust fund in the name of the youth at the 
DYS facility where the youth resides.  Each youth 
must be furnished annually with a statement listing 
every transaction involving funds which have been 
deposited with the division on the youth’s behalf, 
including all receipts and disbursements.

The division must promptly disburse any balance 
of money accumulated in the youth’s account when 
the youth is released from DYS residential care or 
upon the death of the youth as specified in the bill.  
Moneys in the fund may be dispursed as specified 
in the bill and any remaining money of which the 
owner is unknown or cannot be located must be 
reported pursuant to the laws governing the uniform 
disposition of unclaimed property as specified in the 
bill.

The bill prohibits moneys in either fund from being 
transferred to the General Revenue Fund at the end 
of each biennium.  The provisions of the bill must 
not be deemed to apply to funds regularly due the 
State of Missouri for the support and maintenance 
of youth in the care and custody of the division or 
collected by the state as reimbursement for state 
funds expended on behalf of the youth.
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CCS HCS SS SCS SB 5 -- LOCAL GOVERNMENT
This bill changes the laws regarding local 

government.
The bill requires any city, town, or village located 

in St. Louis County to meet minimum standards 
within three years of the effective date of the bill by 
providing the following:

(1)  An annual balanced budget and an annual 
audit by a certified public accountant;

(2)  A cash management and accounting system 
that accounts for all revenues and expenditures;

(3)  Adequate levels of specified insurance 
coverage to minimize risk;

(4)  Access to a complete set of its municipal 
ordinances or an on-line version of the regulations 
or code within 10 business days of any written 
request; 

(5)  An accredited or certified police department 
or a contract for police services with an accredited 
or certified police department within six years of the 
effective date of the bill;

(6)  Written policies regarding the safe operation 
of emergency vehicles, including a policy on police 
pursuit, and the use of force by peace officers 
and written general orders for a police department 
unless it is contracting with another municipality or 
county for police services;

(7)  Written policies for collecting and reporting all 
crime and police stop data for the municipality as 
required by law that must be forwarded to the Office 
of the Attorney General;

(8)  Construction code review by existing staff, 
directly or by contract with an agency; and

(9)  Information published annually on the 
municipality’s, or on the county’s website if there is 
no municipal website, indicating how the municipality 
met the required standards.

Any resident of a municipality may file an affidavit 
with the Attorney General if he or she believes that 
his or her municipality has failed to regularly provide 
the minimum standards.  If the Attorney General 
believes that the facts stated in the affidavit justify 
that the municipality is operating below minimum 
standards, the municipality must have 60 days 
to rectify the noted deficiencies.  If after 60 days 
the municipality is still deemed by the Attorney 
General to have failed to rectify sufficient minimum 
standards, he or she may file suit in the circuit court 
of the county.

If the court finds that the municipality in not 
in compliance with the minimum standards, the 

circuit court of the county must order the following 
remedies: 

(1)  Appointment of an administrative authority for 
the municipality; and 

(2)  Enter an order disincorporating the municipality 
or order the placement of the question on the ballot 
to the registered voters of the municipality.

The bill requires, by September 1, 2015, the 
presiding judge of the circuit court in which the 
municipal division is located to report its name and 
address and any other requested information to the 
Missouri Supreme Court Clerk.  If a municipality 
elects to abolish or establish a municipal division, 
the presiding judge of the circuit court in which the 
municipal division is located must notify the Missouri 
Supreme Court Clerk, and the presiding judge of any 
new municipal division must complete the required 
report within 90 days of its establishment.  

The Missouri Supreme Court must develop rules 
regarding conflict of interest for any prosecutor, 
defense attorney, or judge that has a pending case 
before the municipal division of any circuit court. 

The following conditions must apply to minor 
traffic violations:

(1)  The court must not assess a fine that will make 
the total for the fine and court costs exceed $300;

(2)  The court must not sentence a person to 
confinement, except for specified violations;

(3)  A person must not be placed in confinement 
for failure to pay a fine unless the nonpayment 
violates his or her terms of probation;

(4)  Court costs that apply must be assessed 
against the defendant with specified exceptions; 
and

(5)  Court costs must not be assessed if the case 
is dismissed.

If a person fails to pay court costs, fines, fees, 
or other amounts ordered by a municipal court, the 
court may report any delinquency in excess of $25 
to the Director of the Department of Revenue and 
request that the department seek a setoff of an 
income tax refund.

The bill changes the provisions commonly known 
as Mack’s Creek Law by reducing the threshold 
at which a county, city, town, or village must 
send excess revenues received from minor traffic 
violations to the Director of the Department of 
Revenue to be distributed annually to the schools 
of the county.  Beginning January 1, 2016, or on 
the first day of the fiscal year immediately following 
for any municipality with a fiscal year start date 
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other than January 1, the percentages are reduced 
from 30% to 12.5% of the annual general operating 
revenue from traffic fines for Saint Louis County and 
municipalities in that county and from 30% to 20% 
for all other counties and municipalities. 

Every county, city, town, and village must submit 
an addendum with its annual financial report to the 
State Auditor that contains an accounting of annual 
general operating revenue; the total revenues from 
fines, bond forfeitures, and court costs for minor 
traffic violations occurring within the municipality; 
and the percent of annual general operating 
revenue from traffic violations occurring within the 
municipality.  The addendum must be certified and 
signed by a representative with knowledge of the 
subject matter as to the accuracy of the addendum 
contents, under oath and under penalty of perjury, 
and witnessed by a notary public. 

Every county, city, town, and village must file 
with the State Auditor certification of its substantial 
compliance signed by its municipal judge with the 
following municipal court procedures: 

(1)  Defendants in custody pursuant to an arrest 
warrant issued by a municipal court must be given 
the opportunity to be heard by a judge within 48 
hours for a minor traffic violation or within 72 hours 
for any other violation, otherwise they must be 
released;

(2)  Defendants in municipal custody must not be 
held for more than 24 hours without a warrant after 
arrest;

(3)  Defendants must not be detained in order to 
coerce payment of fines and costs;

(4)  The municipal court must have established 
procedures to allow indigent defendants to present 
proof of their indigency, and the court must take 
this evidence into account when determining 
fines and costs and establishing related payment 
requirements;

(5)  The municipal court may only assess fines 
and court costs as authorized by law;

(6)  An additional charge cannot be issued for 
the defendant’s failure to appear for a minor traffic 
violation; 

(7)  The municipal court conducts proceedings 
in a courtroom that is open to the public and can 
reasonably accommodate the public, the parties, 
and the attorneys; 

(8)  The court must make use of alternative 
payments and community service alternatives; and

(9)  The municipal court has adopted a payment by 
mail or electronic payment system for the payment 
of minor traffic violations.

The State Auditor must notify the Director of 
the Department of Revenue whether or not the 
financial report addendums were timely filed and 
must forward all addendums to the director.  The 
director must also review the addendums filed by 
municipalities as required in Sections 479.359 and 
479.360, RSMo, to determine if any municipality 
failed to file the required addendum or failed to remit 
any excess revenues.

If a county, city, town, or village is determined 
by the director to have failed to remit the excess 
amount of annual general operating revenue or file 
the required addendums, the director must send 
a notice by certified mail advising the municipality 
that it has 60 days to correct the issue.  It may seek 
judicial review of any determination by the director 
in the circuit court in which the municipal division is 
located by filing a petition within 30 days of receipt 
of the determination.  

If a final determination is made that a county, city, 
town, or village failed to make an accurate or timely 
report or to send excess revenues to the director, 
any matters pending in the municipal court must be 
certified to the circuit court in which the municipal 
division is located and reassigned to other divisions 
within the circuit court.  All fines, bond forfeitures, 
and court costs generated from any matter 
reassigned to the circuit court are considered excess 
revenue, and the municipality is not entitled to the 
revenue.  Any amount of moneys the municipality is 
entitled to receive from local sales tax distributions 
must be paid to the director for distribution to the 
schools within the county in the same manner that 
all penalty proceeds are distributed to the extent 
the municipality failed to remit excess revenues.  If 
any county, city, town, or village fails to send excess 
revenues to the director, it must have an election 
upon the question of disincorporation for the county, 
city, town, or village according to the procedure 
specified in the bill.  Upon the affirmative vote 
of 60% of the voters on the question, the county 
governing body is required to disincorporate the 
city, town, or village.

The bill contains a severability clause and if any 
provision of the bill or its application to anyone or to 
any circumstance is held invalid, the remainder of 
the provisions and the application of the provisions 
to others or other circumstances must not be 
affected.
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HCS SS SCS SB 12 -- AGRICULTURE
This bill changes the laws regarding agriculture.

URBAN AGRICULTURAL ZONES                    
(Section 262.900, RSMo)

The bill modifies the definition of “processing UAZ” 
to include a type of urban agricultural zone (UAZ) 
that processes produce for human consumption.  
The bill requires any local sales tax revenues 
received from the sale of agricultural products 
sold by a mobile unit, defined as a motor vehicle, 
associated with a vending UAZ to be deposited into 
the Urban Agricultural Zone Fund.  Fund moneys 
must be equally allocated to school districts and to 
municipalities that have urban agricultural zones for 
UAZ improvements.  A municipality’s allocation of 
fund moneys must be based upon the municipality’s 
percentage of local sales tax revenues deposited 
into the fund.  The municipalities must, upon 
appropriation, provide fund moneys to urban 
agricultural zones within the municipality for 
improvements.

BEEF COMMODITY MERCHANDISING PROGRAM 
(Section 275.352)

Currently, state fees are not allowed to be collected 
by the Beef Commodity Merchandising Program in 
excess of a commensurate amount credited against 
a federal assessment of beef producers.  The bill 
establishes a referendum procedure for the Beef 
Commodity Council to follow in order to authorize the 
collection of state fees or to change the amount of 
the fee that includes submitting a petition approved 
by a two-thirds vote of the council or signed by 
25% of Missouri beef producers to the Director of 
the Department of Agriculture.  The petition must 
establish or modify a checkoff fee and specify the 
amount and manner of collection of the fee to be 
assessed. 

Upon receipt of the petition, the department 
director must perform specified tasks including 
determining the legal sufficiency of the petition, 
establishing a list of beef producers, holding a 
public hearing on the proposed program, publishing 
a notice to beef producers, providing forms for beef 
producers to register with the department in order 
to be eligible to vote, approving or disapproving the 
petition, and holding a referendum after approval of 
a petition.  The bill specifies the criteria to determine 
if the referendum passes.

A proposal to terminate the checkoff fee may be 
made by a majority of the council or by a petition of 
10% of the registered beef producers.  The proposed 
termination must be submitted to a referendum under 
which a simple majority is required for termination.

A referendum to change the amount of the fee or 
to make other major changes cannot be held within 
12 months of a referendum conducted for a similar 
purpose.  The fees imposed must be collected in 
the same manner as that used to collect the federal 
assessment and remitted to the Missouri Beef 
Industry Council.

MISSOURI LIVESTOCK MARKETING LAW    
(Section 277.040)

The bill specifies that all license fees collected by 
the Department of Agriculture under the Missouri 
Livestock Marketing Law cannot yield revenue 
greater than the total cost of administrating the law 
during the ensuing year.

CERTIFIED COMMERCIAL PESTICIDE 
APPLICATORS (Section 281.065)

Currently, a certified commercial pesticide 
applicator must furnish evidence of financial 
responsibility with the Director of the Department of 
Agriculture in order to receive a license.  Following 
the receipt of the initial license, the bill removes 
the requirement for an applicant to furnish the 
evidence for license renewal unless upon request 
of the department.  Annual renewals for surety 
bonds or liability insurance must be maintained at 
the business location from which the applicator is 
licensed.  If the department director so requests in 
writing, the applicator must furnish a copy of the bond 
or certificate within 10 working days of receiving 
the request.  The amount of the required bond or 
insurance is increased from not less than $25,000 
for property damage and bodily injury insurance, 
each separately and for each occurrence, to not less 
than $50,000 for each occurrence.  The department 
director must be notified by the surety or insurer 
within 20 days prior to any cancellation or reduction 
of a bond or insurance policy that provides the 
financial responsibility for the applicator.  If the bond 
or insurance policy is provided by the employer, the 
employer must immediately notify the department 
director upon the applicator’s termination from 
employment or when a condition exists under 
which the applicator is not longer provided bond or 
insurance coverage by the employer.  The applicator 
or applicator’s employer must maintain the bond or 
insurance certificate at the business location from 
which the applicator is licensed.  If the financial 
responsibility furnished becomes unsatisfactory, 
new financial responsibility instruments must 
be immediately executed and maintained at the 
business location or the department director can 
cancel the applicator’s license.
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VEHICLES HAULING LIVESTOCK AND 
AGRICULTURAL PRODUCTS (Section 304.180)

Currently, the total gross weight of any vehicle or 
combination of vehicles hauling livestock cannot 
exceed 85,000 pounds while operating on specified 
highways in the state.  The bill repeals those 
provisions and specifies that the total gross weight 
of a vehicle or combination of vehicles hauling 
livestock cannot exceed 85,500 pounds while 
operating on highways other than the interstate 
highway system with the exception of vehicles 
operated on the Dwight D. Eisenhower System of 
Interstate and Defense Highways.

The bill allows any vehicle or combination of 
vehicles hauling grain or grain co-products during 
times of harvest to exceed the maximum allowable 
weight limitations by up to 10% while operating on 
highways other than the interstate highway system.  
This provision must not apply to vehicles operating 
on the Dwight D. Eisenhower System of Interstate 
and Defense Highways.

LABELING OF MOTOR FUEL PUMPS             
(Section 414.300)

The bill requires the Department of Agriculture to 
propose a rule regarding renewable fuels and the 
labeling of motor fuel pumps by January 1, 2016.

FOREIGN OWNERSHIP OF AGRICULTURAL LAND 
(Section 442.571)

Currently, the sale, transfer, or acquisition of any 
agricultural land by an alien or foreign business 
must be approved by the Director of the Department 
of Agriculture.  The bill requires a sale or transfer of 
agricultural land by an alien or foreign business to be 
submitted to the department director for review only 
if there is no completed Internal Revenue Service 
Form W-9 signed by the purchaser.  Any security 
interest in the agricultural land held by a person as 
an agent, trustee, or other fiduciary for an alien or 
foreign business cannot be divested or invalidated 
by a violation of specified provisions regarding aliens 
and corporations of foreign countries acquiring and 
holding real estate.

LIABILITY FOR LIVESTOCK ACTIVITIES (Section 
537.325)

Currently, an equine activity sponsor, an equine 
professional, or any other person or corporation 
have limited liability for injuries or death from 
accidents resulting from the inherent risks of equine 
activities.  The bill expands the limited liability to 
include a livestock activity sponsor, a livestock 
owner, a livestock facility, and a livestock auction 
market or any of their employees for injuries or death 
of a participant resulting from the inherent risks of 

livestock activities with the exception of specified 
circumstances.

Livestock activities include grazing, herding, 
feeding, branding, milking, or other activities that 
involve the care or maintenance of livestock; a 
livestock show, fair, competition, or auction; a 
livestock training or teaching activity; boarding 
livestock; and inspecting or evaluating livestock.

Currently, equine activity sponsors must post 
a warning sign on or near specified areas where 
equine activities are conducted.  The bill requires 
the warning sign to also be posted where livestock 
activities are conducted.

SCS SB 18 -- SALES TAX LAW MODIFICATIONS
This bill requires the Department of Revenue 

to notify affected sellers when a change in the 
amount of sales tax due is modified by a decision 
of the department director, Administrative Hearing 
Commission, or a court that revises which items or 
services are taxable before the modification can 
take effect for the sellers.  The notification must 
be by United States mail, electronic mail, or other 
secure electronic means of direct communications.  
If the department fails to notify a seller of the 
change, the seller will not be liable for the additional 
taxes due under the modification until the seller is 
notified.  The department must update its website 
with information regarding modifications in sales tax 
law but the updates cannot constitute the required 
notification.

SCS SB 19 -- ALLOCATION OF CORPORATE 
INCOME

Currently, in determining what portion of a 
corporation’s income is taxable in Missouri, the 
business may use a method whereby the ratio of 
instate sales to total sales is multiplied by the net 
income.  A method for determining whether sales 
of tangible property are to be considered instate is 
already established in current law.  This bill specifies 
a process for all other sales. 

For sales of real property or rentals of tangible 
personal property, the portion of the property 
sold or rented that is located in this state must be 
considered an instate sale.  For sales of service, 
the portion of the benefits delivered to purchasers in 
this state must be considered an instate sale.  

For rentals or licenses of intangible property, the 
portion used in this state by the rentee or licensee 
must be considered an instate sale.  Intangible 
property used for marketing must be considered 
used in this state if the good or service being 
marketed is purchased by a consumer in this state.  
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Franchise fees or royalties for intangible property 
must be considered used in this state if the franchise 
is located in this state.

 For sales of intangible property, the portion of the 
sale used in this state must be considered an instate 
sale.  If the sale is for the right to conduct business 
activity in a certain geographic area, the sale must 
be considered instate if the geographic area is in this 
state.  If receipts for sales of intangible property are 
dependent on use or productivity, the sale must be 
considered a lease or rental of intangible property.  
All sales of intangible property other than the right 
to conduct business in a specific area or sales with 
receipts contingent on productivity or use must be 
excluded from the sales factor when determining 
corporate income tax.  

If it cannot be determined or reasonably 
approximated that a sale occurs in this state, the 
sale must be excluded from the sales factor for 
corporate income taxation.

SB 20 -- SALES AND USE TAX EXEMPTION
(Vetoed by the Governor)

This bill authorizes a state and local sales and 
use tax exemption for all materials, manufactured 
goods, machinery, and energy used by commercial 
or industrial laundries in treating, cleaning, or 
sanitizing textiles.  The facility must process at least 
500 pounds of textiles per hour and at least 60,000 
pounds per week to qualify for the exemption.

CCS HCS SS#2 SCS SB 24 -- STRENGTHENING 
MISSOURI FAMILIES ACT

 (Vetoed by the Governor -- Overridden by the 
General Assembly)

This bill establishes the Strengthening Missouri 
Families Act that modifies provisions of the 
Temporary Assistance for Needy Families (TANF) 
Program and the Supplemental Nutrition Assistance 
Program (SNAP).

The bill requires the Department of Social 
Services to conduct an investigation and determine 
if an individual is cooperating with a work activity 
requirement under the TANF Program.  If he or she 
is non-compliant, a representative of the department 
must conduct a face-to-face meeting and explain 
the potential sanction of TANF benefits, as well as 
the requirements to cure a sanction.  The TANF 
recipient must then have six weeks to comply with 
the work activity requirement.  Failure to do so will 
result in a sanction consisting of a 50% reduction 
of benefits for a maximum of 10 weeks.  During the 
period of sanctions, the person must remain on the 
caseload in sanction status and a representative of 

the department must attempt to meet face-to-face 
with the person to explain the existing sanction and 
the requirements to cure the sanction.  To cure a 
sanction, he or she must perform work activities for 
a minimum average of 30 hours per week for one 
month.  If the individual does not cure the sanction, 
the case must be closed.  The bill allows for him 
or her to return to the program by completing work 
activities for a minimum average of 30 hours per 
week within one month of the eligibility interview.  
This provision does not prohibit the state from 
providing child care or any other related social or 
support services for a person who is eligible for 
financial assistance but to whom that assistance is 
not paid because of the person’s failure to cooperate 
with the work activity.  When a TANF recipient 
marries, the new spouse’s income and assets must 
be disregarded for six consecutive months and the 
disregard must be a once-in-a-lifetime benefit for 
the recipient.

Beginning January 1, 2016, the following changes 
must be made to the TANF Program:

(1)  The life-time limit for TANF must be 45 months 
instead of the current 60 months.  This limit must not 
apply to minors and those families qualifying for a 
hardship exemption as specified in the bill;

(2)  The department must implement a cash 
diversion program that grants an eligible TANF 
benefit recipient a lump-sum cash grant for short-
term needs, as well as job referrals or referrals to 
career centers, in lieu of signing up for the long-term 
monthly cash assistance program upon a showing of 
good cause as determined by the department.  This 
lump-sum benefit must not apply toward the life-
time TANF benefit limit.  Good cause may include 
loss of employment, excluding voluntarily quitting or 
a dismissal due to poor job performance or failure 
to meet a condition of employment; catastrophic 
illness or accident of a family member that requires 
an employed recipient to leave employment; a 
domestic violence incident; or another situation or 
emergency rendering an employed family member 
unable to care for the basic needs of the family.  The 
department must set the lump-sum maximum limit 
at three times the family size allowance for use once 
in a 12-month period and for only five instances in 
a lifetime;

(3)  The department must develop a standardized 
program orientation for TANF benefits applicants 
that informs the applicant of the program’s rules and 
work requirements, as well as the consequences if 
the work requirements are not met.  The department 
must not issue a case without receiving confirmation 
that a TANF applicant has undergone the orientation 
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and signed a personal responsibility plan unless the 
individual is otherwise exempt from the work activity 
requirements; and

(4)  Any parent or caretaker seeking assistance 
under the program must engage in work activities 
before becoming eligible for benefits unless he or 
she is otherwise exempt from the work requirement. 

Of the moneys received by the state under the 
federal TANF block grant during each fiscal year, 
the Department of Social Services must, consistent 
with federal law and subject to appropriation, set 
aside a minimum of:

(1)  Two percent of the moneys to fund the 
Alternatives to Abortion Services Program and the 
Alternatives to Abortion Public Awareness Program; 
and

(2)  Two percent of the moneys to fund healthy 
marriage promotion activities and activities 
promoting responsible fatherhood. 

The funds must be used to supplement and 
not supplant other sources of revenue for these 
programs.

The Supplemental Nutrition Assistance Program 
allows states with a certain level of unemployment to 
seek a waiver of the work requirement for assistance 
under the program.  Missouri currently has a waiver.  
Beginning January 1, 2016, the bill specifies that the 
waiver must no longer apply to individuals seeking 
benefits in this state.  This provision must terminate 
on January 1, 2019.

Any ongoing savings resulting from the changes 
to TANF and SNAP under the bill, subject to 
appropriations, must be used to provide child care 
assistance for single parent households, education 
assistance, transportation assistance, and job 
training for individuals receiving benefits under the 
programs as allowable under applicable state and 
federal law.  The department must make an annual 
report to the Joint Committee on Government 
Accountability on the progress of implementation 
of the provisions of the bill, including specified 
information.  The joint committee must meet at 
least once a year to review the report and make 
recommendations to the President Pro-Tem of 
the Senate and the Speaker of the House of 
Representatives.

HCS SCS SBs 34 & 105 -- MILITARY, OVERSEAS, 
AND ABSENTEE VOTING

This bill allows a covered voter, as specified in the 
bill, who has been discharged from military service, 
has returned from a military deployment or activation, 
or has separated from employment outside of the 

United States after the voter registration deadline 
and who is otherwise qualified to register to vote in 
an election in person before the election authority 
until 5:00 p.m. on the Friday before an election if he 
or she can show sufficient evidence of qualifying for 
late registration.  

Currently, certain military and overseas voters 
who are not registered to vote are only permitted 
to vote in elections for federal offices.  The bill 
allows any covered voter to also vote in elections 
for statewide offices, state legislative offices, or 
statewide ballot initiatives by submitting a federal 
postcard application to apply to vote by absentee 
ballot or by submitting a federal postcard application 
at the polling place even though the individual is not 
registered.  A federal postcard application must also 
serve as a voter registration application and the 
election authority must, if satisfied that the applicant 
is entitled to register, place the voter’s name on the 
voter registration file. 

An application for a military-overseas ballot must 
be deemed timely if it is received by 5:00 p.m. on the 
Friday, instead of by 5:00 p.m. on the Wednesday, 
prior to the election.

The bill allows participants in the Address 
Confidentiality Program established under Sections 
589.660 to 589.681, RSMo, to vote by absentee 
ballot if they have safety concerns.

The provisions of the bill regarding participants 
in the Address Confidentiality Program contain an 
emergency clause and will become effective on 
July 1, 2015, or upon its passage and approval, 
whichever occurs first.

SS SB 58 -- COMMITTEES, BOARDS, AND 
COMMISSIONS

This bill changes the laws regarding committees, 
boards, commissions, and task forces.

The bill repeals the provisions regarding a joint 
legislative committee that was created to oversee 
the destruction of certain documents by the 
Commissioner of Administration and the Division of 
Finance (Sections 33.150 and 361.120, RSMo).

The membership of the Governmental Emergency 
Fund Committee is modified by designating the 
Commissioner of Administration as ex officio 
comptroller of the committee and replacing the 
Director of the Division of Facilities Management, 
Design and Construction with the Director of the 
Department of Revenue as a consultant to the 
committee (Section 33.710).

Technical modifications are made to the provisions 
regarding the Criminal Records and Justice 



SUMMARIES OF TRULY AGREED TO AND FINALLY PASSED BILLS – 201557

Information Advisory Committee, and references to 
non-existent boards and commissions are repealed 
(Sections 43.518, 160.530, 191.828, 217.550, 
217.567, 320.092, and 348.439).

Currently, the State Mental Health Commission 
includes one member who is a physician recognized 
as an expert in the evaluation or habilitation 
of persons with disabilities.  The bill requires 
that member to be a physician, licensed clinical 
psychologist, or other licensed clinician recognized 
as an expert in the evaluation or treatment of 
persons with disabilities (Section 630.010).

The bill repeals the provisions regarding several 
committees, commissions, and a task force that 
have been dissolved or have expired as required by 
their authorizing statutes, including:

(1)  The Advisory Committee on Tobacco 
Securitization (Section 8.597); 

(2)  The Joint Committee on Corrections (Sections 
21.440 to 21.465);

(3)  The Joint Committee on Capital Improvements 
and Leases Oversight (Sections 21.530 to 21.537); 

(4)  The Joint Committee on Missouri’s Energy 
Future (Section 21.830); 

(5)  The Joint Committee on the Missouri Criminal 
Code to evaluate removal of offenses from the 
Sexual Offender Registry (Section 21.835); 

(6)  The Joint Committee on Solid Waste 
Management District Operations (Section 21.850); 

(7)  The Joint Committee on Missouri’s Promise 
(Section 21.920);

(8)  The Missouri Investment Trust and its board of 
trustees (Sections 30.953 to 30.971); 

(9)  The Joint Subcommittee on Recovery 
Accountability and Transparency within the Joint 
Committee on Legislative Research (Section 
33.850); 

(10)  The Committee on State-operated Wireless 
Communication Systems (Section 37.250); 

(11)  The Joint Committee on Real Property Tax 
Increment Allocation Redevelopment (Section 
99.863); 

(12)  A joint committee of the General Assembly 
to review Economic Stimulus Act (Section 99.971); 

(13)  A joint committee of General Assembly to 
review Rural Economic Stimulus Act (Section 
99.1057); 

(14)  The SB 844 (2010) version of the provisions 
that created the Missouri Ethics Commission 
(Section 105.955); 

(15)  The Children’s Vision Commission (Section 
167.195);

(16)  The Newborn Hearing Screening Advisory 
Committee (Section 191.934); 

(17)  The Chronic Kidney Disease Task Force 
(Section 192.632); 

(18)  The State Commission on Regulatory 
Barriers to Affordable Housing (Sections 215.261 
and 215.262); 

(19)  The Joint Committee on Gaming and 
Wagering (Section 313.001); and 

(20)  The Missouri Oral Chemotherapy Parity 
Interim Committee (Section 338.321).

CCS HCS SS SCS SB 67 -- COURTS
(Vetoed by the Governor)

This bill changes the laws regarding courts.  In its 
main provisions, the bill:

(1)  Allows Buchanan County to prosecute 
and punish violations of its county orders in the 
Circuit Court of Buchanan County or in the county 
municipal court if the creation of a county municipal 
court is approved by order of the Buchanan County 
Commission;

(2)  Allows the presiding judge of a circuit with 
a diagnostic and reception center operated by the 
Department of Corrections and a mental health 
facility operated by the Department of Mental Health 
as of January 1, 2015, that houses individuals found 
not guilty of a crime by reason of mental disease 
or defect and provides sex offender rehabilitation 
and treatment services to appoint a circuit court 
marshal;

(3)  Requires, by September 1, 2015, the presiding 
judge of a circuit court in which a municipal division 
is located to report its name and address and any 
other requested information to the Clerk of the 
Missouri Supreme Court on a standardized form 
developed by the clerk.  If a municipality elects 
to abolish or establish a municipal division, the 
presiding judge of the circuit court in which the 
municipal division is located must notify the clerk, 
and the presiding judge of any new municipal 
division must complete the required report within 90 
days of its establishment;

(4)  Creates the Jasper County Judicial Fund 
and requires court proceedings in the 29th Judicial 
Circuit to have a specified surcharge assessed in 
all civil cases, misdemeanor criminal cases, and 
felony criminal cases with certain exceptions and 
those moneys to be deposited into the fund.  The 
judge may waive the assessment if the judge finds 
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the defendant to be indigent and unable to pay the 
costs.  Moneys in the fund must be used to pay for 
the costs associated with the purchase, lease, and 
operation of a county juvenile center and the county 
judicial facility.  These provisions expire on August 
28, 2025;  

(5)  Specifies that in addition to all other court 
costs, a surcharge of up to $10 must be assessed 
in each civil and criminal proceeding, excluding 
violations of traffic laws or ordinances, filed in 
Howell County, except in any proceeding when the 
proceeding or defendant has been dismissed by 
the court or the costs are to be paid by the state, 
county, or municipality.  For violations of the criminal 
laws of the state or county ordinances, including 
infractions, the surcharge must not be collected 
unless it is authorized by the municipal government 
where the violation occurred.  The moneys collected 
from the surcharge must be deposited into a justice 
center fund and only used for the costs associated 
with the land assemblage and purchase, planning, 
construction, maintenance, and operation of any 
county or municipal judicial facility or justice center.  
The county or municipality must maintain records 
identifying all surcharges and expenditures made 
from the fund.  These provisions expire on August 
28, 2025;

(6)  Requires a surcharge of $1 to be assessed 
in each court proceeding filed in the Ozark 
Regional Juvenile Detention District, consisting of 
the counties of Christian, Douglas, Ozark, Taney, 
and Wright, with specified exceptions.  All funds 
received from the surcharge must be only used for 
the costs associated with the repair, maintenance, 
and operation of any regional juvenile detention 
district facility.  These provisions expire on August 
28, 2025; and   

(7)  Changes the laws regarding landlord 
tenant proceedings.  Currently, the execution of a 
judgment for the purpose of restoring possession 
can be issued at any time after the judgment but the 
restoration of the property cannot occur until after 
the expiration of the time allowed to file an appeal. 
The bill specifies that the execution must be issued 
no sooner than 10 days after the judgment and the 
execution must be stayed pending an appeal if the 
losing party posts an appeal bond.  Currently, if 
on any date after the date of any original trial, the 
defendant satisfies the judgment and pays all costs, 
the execution for possession of the premises must 
cease and be stayed.  The bill requires that in order 
to cease and stay an execution for possession, the 
defendant must satisfy the judgment on any date 
after the date of any original trial but before the 
judgment becomes final.  Any appeal bond to stay 

execution of a judgment restoring possession must 
be given within 10 days of an entry of judgment by 
the trial court.  Currently, it must be given 10 days 
after it becomes due.

SB 68 -- INDUSTRIAL DEVELOPMENT 
CORPORATIONS

This bill specifies that the director of any industrial 
development corporation formed by a municipality 
in St. Francois County may be a taxpayer and 
registered voter in the county.

SS SCS SB 87 -- AUDITS OF POLITICAL 
SUBDIVISIONS

This bill requires the State Auditor to audit any 
political subdivision of the state if requested to do so 
by a petition only if it is submitted by a person who 
resides or owns real property within the boundaries 
or area of service of the political subdivision, the 
petition is submitted within one year from requesting 
the petition, and it is signed by the required percent 
of qualified voters of the subdivision.  Any person 
who has signed or allegedly signed the petition may 
submit a sworn statement to the State Auditor that 
he or she did not sign the petition or that he or she 
wishes to rescind the signature.  The statement 
must be made within 10 days from submission of 
the petition to the State Auditor.  If the statement is 
timely filed, the signature must be withdrawn and 
must not count toward the required threshold.

SCS SB 93 -- CAMPUS FREE EXPRESSION ACT
This bill establishes the Campus Free Expression 

Act to protect free expression on college and 
university campuses.

 The bill specifies that the outdoor areas of 
campuses of public institutions of higher education 
in this state must be deemed traditional public 
forums.  Public institutions of higher education 
may maintain and enforce reasonable time, place, 
and manner restrictions in service of a significant 
institutional interest only when the restrictions 
employ clear, published, content, and viewpoint-
neutral criteria and provide for ample alternative 
means of expression.  

Any person must be permitted to freely engage 
in noncommercial expressive activity on campus 
as long as the person’s conduct is not unlawful and 
does not materially and substantially disrupt the 
institution’s functioning. 

The Attorney General or any person whose 
expressive rights were violated under these 
provisions may bring an action in a court of 
competent jurisdiction to enjoin any violation or to 
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recover compensatory damages, reasonable court 
costs, and attorney fees.  If a court finds a violation 
occurred, it must award at least $500 for the 
initial violation plus $50 for each day the violation 
continues.  A suit for violation of these provisions 
must be brought within one year of the day the 
cause of action accrues as specified in the bill.

CCS#2 HCS SB 104 -- ELECTIONS
This bill changes the laws regarding elections.  In 

its main provisions, the bill:
(1)  Prohibits an individual from qualifying as a 

candidate for elective public office who has been 
found guilty of or pled guilty to an offense committed 
in another state that would be considered a felony 
in this state;

(2)  Requires an individual who files as a candidate 
for election to public office to be disqualified if he 
or she is delinquent in the payment of specified 
taxes or the individual is a past or present corporate 
officer of any fee office that owes any taxes to the 
state.  Each potential candidate must file an affidavit 
with the Department of Revenue declaring that he or 
she is not aware of any delinquency and include a 
copy of the affidavit with the required declaration of 
candidacy;

(3)  Specifies that Sections 115.307 to 115.405, 
RSMo, regarding political parties and nomination 
of candidates, must not apply to candidates for 
special district offices; township offices in township 
organization counties; or city, town, and village 
offices;

(4)  Requires any action brought challenging the 
ballot title or fiscal note prepared for an initiative 
petition or referendum measure to be fully and finally 
adjudicated within 180 days of filing and more than 
56 days prior to the election in which it is to appear 
or the action must be extinguished unless a court 
extends the period upon a finding of good cause for 
the extension;

(5)  Repeals obsolete provisions regarding the 
election of school board members in the St. Joseph 
School District based on the 1960 census and 
requires the district to hold elections annually at 
the same times and places as general municipal 
elections for all years where one or more terms 
expire.  Currently, school board members in the 
district serve a six-year term.  The bill changes the 
term to three years upon the expiration of any term 
after August 28, 2015;

(6)  Requires all elections for any school district 
that becomes an urban school district because of 
the 2000 federal census must be held annually at 
the same times and places as general municipal 

elections for all years where one or more terms 
expire and the terms must be for three years;

(7)  Specifies that a candidate for the school 
board in the St. Joseph School District must file a 
declaration of candidacy with the secretary of the 
school board and must not be required to submit a 
petition; 

(8)  Modifies provisions regarding the election of 
trustees of a community college district in a district 
that contains the City of St. Louis.  The bill specifies 
that the board must consist of seven members, 
six of whom must be elected to a six-year term 
and one at-large member who must be appointed 
by the Coordinating Board for Higher Education.  
The bill specifies the powers of the board and the 
requirements for serving on the board; and

(9)  Repeals the provision enacted this year in 
SS SCS HCS#2 HB 63 as Section 162.205 that 
prohibits any person from being a candidate for a 
member or director of the school board in any district 
where he or she has previously been employed as 
the district’s superintendent.

The bill contains a severability clause and if any 
provision is held to be invalid for any reason, the 
decision must not invalidate all of the remaining 
provisions of the bill.

SCS SB 107 -- PROFESSIONAL REGISTRATION
This bill allows any board or commission within 

the Division of Professional Registration in the 
Department of Insurance, Financial Institutions and 
Professional Registration to issue, at its discretion, 
oral or written opinions addressing topics relating 
to the qualifications, functions, or duties of any 
profession licensed by the specific board or 
commission issuing the guidance.  Any opinion is 
for educational purposes only, is in no way binding 
on the licensee, and cannot be used as the basis for 
any discipline against a licensee.  The bill specifies 
that a board or commission may not address topics 
relating to the qualifications, functions, or duties 
of any profession licensed by a different board or 
commission.  

The bill changes the laws regarding speech-
language pathologists, speech-language pathology 
assistants, and audiologists.  In its main provisions, 
the bill:

(1)  Allows a speech-language pathology assistant 
to work under the direction and supervision of a 
licensed speech-language pathologist practicing for 
at least one year or a speech-language pathologist 
who is either employed by a federal agency or 
licensed by the Department of Elementary and 
Secondary Education for at least one year;
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(2)  Requires an applicant for registration with the 
Board of Registration for the Healing Arts within the 
Department of Insurance, Financial Institutions and 
Professional Registration as a speech-language 
pathology assistant to furnish evidence of his or 
her completion of bachelor’s level course work and 
clinical requirements in the field of speech-language 
pathology as established by the board.  Currently, an 
applicant must furnish evidence that he or she holds 
a bachelor’s degree in speech-language pathology 
and has completed clinical practicum requirements 
equivalent to that required by a regional accrediting 
body recognized by the United States Department 
of Education or its equivalent;

(3)  Repeals the provision requiring a corporation 
or organization engaged in the business of speech-
language pathology or audiology who employs a 
licensed speech-language pathologist or audiologist 
to file a statement with the board specifying that it 
submits itself to the rules and regulations of the 
board;

(4)  Specifies that the licensing requirements 
do not apply to a person who holds a current 
valid certificate as a speech-language pathologist 
issued by the Department of Elementary and 
Secondary Education prior to January 1, 2016, who 
is an employee of a public school or to any person 
completing the required clinical hours as long as he 
or she is under the direct supervision of a licensed 
speech-language pathologist and has not completed 
more than the number of clinical hours required by 
rule;

(5)  Repeals the provisions requiring an applicant 
for licensure as a speech-language pathologist or 
audiologist to present written evidence of completion 
of a specified clinical fellowship; 

(6)  Specifies that following an administrative 
hearing proceeding and a finding that the grounds 
for disciplinary action have been met, the board may 
also restrict or limit the person’s ability to practice 
for an indefinite period of time;

(7)  Prohibits a person who has served as a 
member of the Advisory Commission for Speech-
Language Pathologists and Audiologists for two 
consecutive terms from being reappointed until a 
lapse of at least two years has occurred following 
the completion of the person’s two consecutive 
terms; and

(8)  Repeals the provisions allowing a person 
to hold a provisional license to practice speech-
language pathology or audiology.

SB 116 -- SCHOOL DISTRICT RESIDENCY
This bill adds an exemption from the proof of 

residency and domicile for purposes of school 
registration when the family of a student living in 
Missouri co-locates to live with other family members 
or in a military family support community because 
one or both of the student’s parents are stationed 
out of state under specified active duty orders.

SB 141 -- CRIME VICTIMS’ COMPENSATION 
PROGRAM

Currently, the Crime Victims’ Compensation Fund 
can pay an eligible victim up to $200 per week for 
the loss of employment and for injury or death.  This 
bill raises that amount to up to $400 per week. 

The Department of Public Safety may negotiate 
directly with providers of medical care and 
other services on behalf of any victim receiving 
compensation with respect to the costs of the care 
or services.

SS#3 SCS SB 142 -- IMPLEMENTATION IMPACT 
REPORTS

(Vetoed by the Governor)
This bill requires the Department of Natural 

Resources to prepare an implementation impact 
report instead of a regulatory impact report  
when developing, amending, or revising a state 
implementation plan to address National Ambient 
Air Quality Standard nonattainment areas under 
the federal Clean Air Act to comply with federal 
regulations relating to carbon emissions for existing-
source performance standards or non-point source 
management plans under the federal Clean Water Act 
for submission to the United States Environmental 
Protection Agency (EPA) in collaboration with 
other pertinent state departments and the Public 
Service Commission.  The department must submit 
the implementation report and the proposed plan 
to the Governor, Joint Committee on Government 
Accountability, the President Pro Tem of the Senate, 
and the Speaker of the House of Representatives 
45 days before final submission to the EPA and post 
the plan and report prominently on its website 45 
days prior to submission.  All reports and plans must 
remain on the website for at least one year after final 
submission to the EPA.  The report must take into 
consideration the unique policies, energy needs, 
resource mix, reliability, and economic priorities of 
Missouri and must include specified criteria.  The 
Department of Natural Resources must hold at least 
one stakeholder meeting in order to solicit input 
from specified groups when developing, amending, 
or revising a plan.
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Before final submission of a plan to the EPA, the 
Joint Committee on Government Accountability may 
conduct at least two public hearings within 45 days 
of receiving the report and plan in order to seek 
public comment.

Nothing in the provisions of the bill must be 
construed as otherwise conferring upon the Public 
Service Commission or the Department of Natural 
Resources jurisdiction over the service, rates, 
financing, accounting, or management of any rural 
electric cooperative or municipally-owned utility 
or to amend, modify, or otherwise limit the rights 
to provide service as otherwise provided by law.  
Nothing in these provisions can be construed to 
effect, limit, or supersede the provisions regarding 
the development of emissions standards for certain 
carbon dioxide sources.

SS SCS SB 145 -- TREATMENT OF EATING 
DISORDERS

This bill requires all health benefit plans delivered, 
issued for delivery, continued, or renewed on or 
after January 1, 2017, in accordance with current 
law requirements for coverage of mental health 
disorders, to provide coverage for the diagnosis 
and treatment of eating disorders.  The bill limits 
coverage under these provisions to services provided 
by specified health care providers who must be 
acting within their applicable scope of coverage in 
accordance with a treatment plan.  Coverage under 
the bill is limited to medically necessary treatment, 
and the treatment plan, upon request by the health 
benefit plan or health carrier, must include all 
elements necessary for a plan or carrier to pay 
claims.  Medical necessity determinations and care 
management for the treatment of eating disorders 
must consider the overall medical and mental health 
needs of the individual with the eating disorder, 
must not be based solely on weight, and must 
take into consideration the most recent specified 
guideline adopted by the American Psychiatric 
Association in addition to current standards based 
upon the medical literature generally recognized as 
authoritative in the medical community.  Coverage 
may be subject to other general exclusions and 
limitations of the contract or benefit plan not in 
conflict with the provisions of the bill.

HCS SS SCS SB 149 -- TAX INCENTIVES FOR 
DATA STORAGE

This bill authorizes a state and local sales and use 
tax exemption for project taxpayers for all machinery, 
equipment, computers, electrical energy, gas, water, 
and other utilities, including telecommunication and 
Internet services, used in a new data storage center 

facility for a project period of up to 15 years from the 
date of conditional approval and subject to specified 
requirements.  The bill authorizes a state and local 
sales and use tax exemption for purchases of tangible 
personal property for the construction of a new data 
storage center.  The exemptions must be limited to 
the net fiscal benefit of the state calculated over a 
10-year period.  In order to receive the exemption, 
an application must be made to the Department 
of Economic Development for certification.  The 
application must show that the project will result in 
at least $25 million of new facility investment within 
36 consecutive months and create at least 10 new 
jobs within 36 consecutive months with wages of at 
least 150% of the county average wage. 

The bill authorizes a state and local sales 
and use tax exemption for project taxpayers for 
expanding data center projects for up to 10 years 
for all machinery, equipment, computers, electrical 
energy, gas, water, and other utilities, including 
telecommunication and Internet services used in 
an expanding data storage center.  The exemption 
will only apply to the increase in expenditures for 
utilities over the expenditures prior to the expansion.  
In order to receive the exemption, an application 
must be made to the Department of Economic 
Development for certification.  The application must 
show that the project will result in at least $5 million 
of new facility investment during a period of up to 
12 consecutive months and create at least five new 
jobs during a period of up to 24 consecutive months 
with wages of at least 150% of the county average 
wage. 

The departments of Economic Development and 
Revenue are authorized to conduct random audits 
to ensure compliance with the requirements for the 
tax exemptions.

HCS SB 156 -- HIGHWAY AND BRIDGE 
DESIGNATIONS

This bill makes the following highway and bridge 
designations: 

(1)  The portion of State Highway 115 in St. Louis 
City from the intersection of Natural Bridge Avenue 
and Salisbury Street west to the intersection of 
State Highway 115 and Jennings Station Road as 
the Theodore McNeal Highway;

(2)  The portion of U.S. Highway 160 in Ozark 
County from the bridge that crosses Bryant Creek to 
a location two and one-half miles east of the bridge 
as the Jerry Corp Memorial Highway;

(3)  The bridge on State Highway 19 crossing over 
the Meramec River in Crawford County between the 
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cities of Cuba and Steelville as the Betty Vickers 
Memorial Bridge; 

(4)  The portion of Business Highway 71 from the 
Interstate 29 intersection traveling north for two 
miles and located in Andrew County as the Randy 
Bever Memorial Highway;

(5)  The bridge on Highway CC crossing over 
North Fork White River in Ozark County as the Irwin 
C. Cudworth Memorial Bridge;

(6)  The portion of Highway 10 from the western 
border of the city limits of Norborne in Carroll County 
to the eastern border of the city limits of Hardin in 
Ray County as the Ray-Carroll County Veterans 
Memorial Highway; 

(7)  The portion of U.S. Highway 160 in Ripley 
County that is located within the city limits of 
Doniphan as the Billy Yates Highway; and

(8)  The portion of Highway 54 from the Grand 
Glaize Bridge in Camden County to Key Largo 
Road in Camden County as the Veterans Memorial 
Expressway.

HCS SB 164 -- FINANCIAL TRANSACTIONS
This bill changes the laws regarding financial 

transactions.

FOREIGN INVESTMENTS BY INSURANCE 
COMPANIES 

Currently, insurance companies organized under 
Missouri law having assets of at least $100 million 
may invest not more than 5% of their admitted assets 
in securities, investments, and deposits issued, 
guaranteed, or assumed by a foreign government 
or foreign corporation.  The bill increases the 
percentage to not more than 20% with not more 
than 10% in a single foreign jurisdiction having a 
sovereign debt rating of SVO “1” or 5% of its admitted 
assets as to any other foreign jurisdiction.  The bill 
also limits investments by an insurer of all kinds 
issued, assumed, accepted, insured, or guaranteed 
by a single person to 5% of the insurer’s admitted 
assets.

An insurer is prohibited from acquiring, directly 
or indirectly through an investment subsidiary, a 
Canadian investment otherwise permitted under 
Missouri law if the aggregate amount of the Canadian 
investments then held by the insurer would exceed 
25% of its admitted assets.  

For any insurer authorized to do business in 
Canada or that has outstanding contracts on lives 
or risks resident or located in Canada, denominated 
in Canadian currency, the 25% limitation must be 
increased by the greater of the amount the insurer 

is required by applicable Canadian law to invest in 
Canada or be denominated in Canadian currency or 
125% of the amount of the insurer’s reserves and 
other obligations under contracts on risks resident 
or located in Canada.

The special investment cap for Canadian 
investments and the limits on investments of all kinds 
issued, assumed, accepted, insured, or guaranteed 
by a single person do not apply to life, health, and 
accident insurers organized under Chapter 376, 
RSMo.

STANDARD VALUATION LAW 
The Standard Valuation Law is established 

that requires Missouri insurers providing life, 
accident and health, annuity and pure endowment, 
or specified deposit policies to meet minimum 
standards of valuation for their financial reserves 
based on the valuation manual adopted by the 
National Association of Insurance Commissioners.

The Director of the Department of Insurance, 
Financial Institutions and Professional Registration 
must annually value or cause to be valued the 
reserves for all outstanding contracts of every 
company issued on or after the operative date of 
the valuation manual.  The bill contains exceptions 
for valuation requirements for policies issued prior 
to the date of the valuation manual and specified 
time limitations based on the effective date of 
policies and the provisions of the bill.  Every insurer 
regulated by the department director must annually 
submit the opinion of the appointed actuary showing 
compliance with the valuation manual to the 
department director.  The criteria for the actuarial 
opinion is specified in the bill. 

The bill specifies the criteria for the confidentiality 
of the information used in the valuation opinion 
submitted to the department director by insurers.  
This information is exempt from the provisions of 
the Open Meetings and Records Law, commonly 
known as the Sunshine Law, and may not be subject 
to subpoena and cannot be subject to discovery 
or be admissible in evidence in any private civil 
action.  The department director is authorized to 
use the confidential information in the furtherance 
of any regulatory or legal action brought against 
the company as part of his or her official duties.  
Specified confidential information may be subject 
to subpoena for the purpose of defending an action 
seeking damages from the appointed actuary or 
may otherwise be released with the written consent 
of the company.

A company that is licensed and doing business in 
Missouri that has less than $300 million of ordinary 
life premium may hold reserves based on the 
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mortality tables and interest rates defined by the 
valuation manual for net premium reserves using 
the methodology as specified in the bill as they 
apply to ordinary life insurance in lieu of the required 
reserves if it meets specified requirements.

QUALIFIED SPOUSAL TRUSTS
Currently, property held by a husband and wife as 

tenants by the entirety, joint tenants, or other form 
of joint ownership with right of survivorship must be 
deemed to be held as tenants by the entirety upon 
its transfer to a qualified spousal trust and must 
retain immunity from the claims of the separate 
creditors of the settlors.  The bill specifies that a 
qualified spousal trust can include without limitation 
a discretionary power to distribute trust property to 
a person in addition to a settlor.  All property at any 
time held in a qualified spousal trust, without regard 
to how the property was titled prior to it being so held, 
must have the same immunity from the claims of a 
separate creditor of either settlor as if the property 
were held outside the trust by the settlors as tenants 
by the entirety, unless otherwise provided in writing 
by the settlor or settlors who transferred the property 
to the trust, and the property must be treated for 
that purpose, including without limitation, federal 
and state bankruptcy laws, as tenants by entirety 
property.  Property held in a qualified spousal trust 
must cease to receive immunity from the claims of 
creditors upon the dissolution of marriage of the 
settlors by a court.  

The respective rights of settlors who are married 
to each other in any property for purposes of a 
dissolution of the settlors’ marriage must not be 
affected or changed by reason of the transfer of that 
property to, or its subsequent administration as an 
asset of, a qualified spousal trust during the marriage 
of the settlors unless both settlors expressly agree 
otherwise in writing.

A transfer to a qualified spousal trust must not 
avoid or defeat the Missouri Uniform Fraudulent 
Transfer Act and any transfer of an asset to a trustee 
of a trust, to the trust itself, or to a share of the trust 
in a manner that is reasonably calculated to identify 
the trust or that share of the trust subjects that asset 
to the terms of the trust or that share.

FUNERAL EXPENSE EXEMPTION IN 
BANKRUPTCY PROCEEDINGS

The bill specifies that when a debtor is the 
beneficiary of a matured life insurance policy, the 
debtor may exempt from bankruptcy up to $15,000 
of the policy proceeds to be used for actual funeral 
or burial expenses when the deceased is the parent, 
child, or spouse of the debtor.

SB 166 -- SPECIAL LICENSE PLATES
Currently, any vehicle owner may apply for a 

special motor vehicle license plate inscribed with the 
words “I Have A Dream.”  This bill changes “I Have 
A Dream” to “Dare to Dream.”  All other provisions 
regarding the specialty license plate remain the 
same.

HCS SS SCS SB 174 -- MISSOURI ACHIEVING A 
BETTER LIFE EXPERIENCE PROGRAM 

This bill establishes the Missouri Achieving 
a Better Life Experience (ABLE) Program.  A 
participant can make tax-deductible contributions to 
an account established for the purpose of financing 
the qualified disability expenses of a designated 
beneficiary.  Designated beneficiaries are persons 
who are eligible individuals who are entitled to 
benefits based on disability or blindness under 
the federal Social Security Act and the blindness 
or disability occurred prior to turning 26 years of 
age.  Persons who are certified as disabled also 
qualify as eligible individuals.  “Eligible individual” 
and “designated beneficiary” are both defined by 
reference to federal law.

The bill establishes the Missouri ABLE Board that 
is charged with establishing and administering the 
ABLE Program.  The membership of the board is 
specified including two persons having demonstrable 
experience and knowledge in the areas of finance 
or the investment and management of public funds, 
one selected by the Speaker of the House of 
Representatives and one selected by the President 
Pro Tem of the Senate.  The board is given power 
and authority similar to that delegated to the Missouri 
Higher Education Savings Program Board.  The 
board can enter into participation agreements with 
participants on behalf of designated beneficiaries 
that are similar to those participation agreements 
entered into under the Missouri Higher Education 
Savings Program.

The bill permits any participant to cancel a 
participation agreement at any time.  However, 
the board must impose a penalty equal to or 
greater than 10% of the earnings of the account 
for any distribution that does not meet specified 
requirements.

Beginning January 1, 2015, the bill exempts from 
taxation by the state or any of its political subdivisions 
the assets of any ABLE account and any income 
therefrom.  Participants may deduct up to $8,000 
per participant or $16,000 if married filing jointly 
from their adjusted gross income.  The maximum 
annual and aggregate contribution amounts that 
can be contributed to an ABLE account may not be 
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less than the amount established for qualified tuition 
savings accounts by the Missouri Higher Education 
Savings Program Board.

The bill requires the Director of Investment of the 
State Treasurer’s Office to conduct a semiannual 
review of the program and annually report his or 
her findings to the board that must subsequently 
disclose the findings at a public meeting.

SCS SB 190 -- KANSAS CITY PUBLIC MASS 
TRANSPORTATION SALES TAX

Currently, the part of the public mass transportation 
sales tax imposed by the City of Kansas City in 
excess of 7.5% expires on December 31, 2015.  This 
bill removes the expiration date.

SB 194 -- BUSINESS FACILITY TAX CREDIT
Currently, specified businesses may qualify for a 

tax credit for building a new facility or expanding an 
existing facility.  The business must commence or 
expand operations by January 1, 2020, to qualify for 
the tax credit.  This bill extends the date to January 
1, 2025.

CCS HCS SCS SB 210 -- HEALTH CARE
Currently, the provisions regarding the ground 

ambulance service reimbursement allowance, 
the nursing facility reimbursement allowance, the 
Medicaid managed care organization reimbursement 
allowance, Medicaid reimbursement payments to 
hospitals, the pharmacy tax, and the assessment 
on intermediate care facilities for the intellectually 
disabled expire on September 30, 2015.  This bill 
extends the expiration date to September 30, 2016.  

The bill specifies that if the Missouri Medicaid 
Audit and Compliance Unit within the Department 
of Social Services changes any interpretation or 
application of the requirements for reimbursement 
for MO HealthNet services from the interpretation 
or application that has been applied previously by 
the state in any audit of a MO HealthNet provider, it 
must notify all affected MO HealthNet providers five 
business days before the change can take affect.  
Failure of the unit to notify a provider of the change 
entitles the provider to continue to receive and retain 
reimbursement until the notification is provided and 
waives any liability of the provider for recoupment or 
other loss of any payments previously made prior to 
the five business days after the notice has been sent.  
The bill requires each provider to provide the unit 
with a valid e-mail address and to agree to receive 
communications electronically.  The notification 
required must be delivered by the United States 
Postal Service or electronic mail to each provider.  
These provisions must not be construed to abrogate 

or limit the department’s statutory requirement to 
establish rules under Chapter 536, RSMo.

The MO HealthNet Division within the department 
cannot recover disproportionate share hospital 
audit recoupments from any Tier I safety net 
hospital, excluding Department of Mental Health 
state-operated psychiatric hospitals, when an 
intergovernmental transfer was used for the non-
federal share of its disproportionate share hospital 
payments.  The bill prohibits general revenue funds 
from being used to offset any expenditure of funds 
to pay the recoupments to the federal government.  
These provisions will expire on September 30, 2022.

SCS SB 224 -- A+ SCHOOLS PROGRAM
(Vetoed by the Governor)

This bill requires a student to be a citizen or 
permanent resident of the United States in order to 
be eligible to receive reimbursements under the A+ 
Schools Program.

HCS SB 231 -- WATERCRAFT
This bill authorizes an exemption from the motor 

fuel tax and any state or local sales and use taxes 
for all sales of motor fuel used in any watercraft.  No 
taxes can be imposed or levied on any motor fuel 
delivered to any marina within this state that sells 
the fuel solely for use in any watercraft and that is 
not accessible to other motor vehicles.  Any motor 
fuel distributor that delivers motor fuel to any marina 
in this state for use solely in any watercraft may 
claim the exemption, and any motor fuel customer 
who purchases motor fuel for use in any watercraft 
at a location other than a marina within this state 
may claim the exemption by filing a claim for refund 
with the Department of Revenue.

The bill requires every class 2 motorboat operating 
upon the waters of this state to carry two B1 type 
fire extinguishers, one B2 fire extinguisher, or a 
fixed fire extinguishing system and one B1 type fire 
extinguisher.  Currently, it is required to carry one 
B2 or two B1 type fire extinguishers.

The bill requires, by January 1, 2016, the Water 
Patrol Division within the State Highway Patrol to 
develop an informational brochure regarding the 
recreational water use laws and distribute it to all 
campgrounds and outfitters that rent or provide 
watercraft for use on a stream or river and to all 
county commissioners.

SS SB 239 -- STATUTORY CAUSE OF ACTION 
AGAINST HEALTH CARE PROVIDERS

Currently, Missouri follows the common law of 
England as of 1607, unless the General Assembly 
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abrogates from the common law statutorily.  This 
bill excludes from the English common law claims 
arising out of the rendering of or failure to render 
health care services by a health care provider.

The bill creates a statutory cause of action for 
damages against a health care provider for personal 
injury or death arising out of the rendering of or 
failure to render health care services.  Currently, 
in any action against a health care provider for 
damages for personal injury or death arising out 
of the rendering of or the failure to render health 
care services, a plaintiff cannot recover more than 
$350,000 for noneconomic damages.  The bill 
specifies that in any action against a health care 
provider for damages, a plaintiff must not recover 
more than $400,000 for noneconomic damages 
for personal injury; no more than $700,000 for 
noneconomic damages for a catastrophic personal 
injury, as defined in the bill; and no more than 
$700,000 for noneconomic damages for death.  
These limitations must increase by 1.7% on an 
annual basis effective January 1 of each year, and 
the value of the limitation must be calculated by the 
Director of the Department of Insurance, Financial 
Institutions and Professional Registration who must 
furnish the value to the Secretary of State who must 
publish the value in the Missouri Register.  When 
a jury does return a verdict awarding noneconomic 
damages exceeding $400,000, and upon a post-trial 
motion, the trial court must determine whether the 
limitation as provided in the bill must apply based on 
the severity of the most severe injuries.  

If a court declares any provision or part of the 
bill unconstitutional, the bill and the provisions it 
amends in their entirety must be invalid and have no 
legal effect as of the date of the judgment.

HCS SB 244 -- SENIOR SAVINGS PROTECTION 
ACT

This bill establishes the Senior Savings Protection 
Act that allows specified individuals associated 
with a broker-dealer to report the occurrence or 
suspected occurrence of financial exploitation of 
qualified adults.  The bill defines “qualified adult” 
as a person who is 60 years of age or older or a 
person who has a disability as defined in the bill and 
is between the ages of 18 and 59.

Any specified individual associated with a 
broker-dealer may notify the Department of Health 
and Senior Services and the Commissioner of 
Securities as well as an immediate family member, 
legal guardian, conservator, co-trustee, successor 
trustee, or agent under power of attorney of the 
qualified adult if he or she believes that financial 

exploitation of a qualified adult has occurred, has 
been attempted, or is being attempted.

Any specified individual associated with a broker-
dealer may refuse a request for disbursement from 
the account of a qualified adult or an account on 
which a qualified adult is a beneficiary or beneficial 
owner if the individual reasonably believes the 
disbursement will result in financial exploitation.  
If the individual refuses disbursement, he or she 
must make a reasonable effort to notify all parties 
authorized to transact business on the account of 
the refusal within two business days.  The individual 
must notify the department and the commissioner 
within three business days.

A broker-dealer, agent, or qualified individual 
who, in good faith and exercising reasonable care, 
complies with these provisions must be immune 
from any civil liability for actions taken in accordance 
with these provisions.

By September 1, 2016, the commissioner must 
develop and make available a website that includes 
training resources to assist broker-dealers and 
agents in the prevention and detection of financial 
exploitation of qualified adults.

CCS#2 HCS SB 254 -- MOTOR VEHICLES
This bill changes the laws regarding license plates 

and intoxication-related offenses.

LICENSE PLATES
Currently, the license plates on trailers, 

motorcycles, motortricyles, and motorscooters must 
be displayed on the rear of the vehicle with the 
letters and numbers right side up.  The bill allows 
the license plates to be displayed horizontally or 
vertically with the letters and numbers plainly visible.

The bill adds assistant physicians and physical 
therapists to the list of authorized health care 
practitioners who may issue a statement for his or 
her patient to receive a disabled placard or license 
plate.

The bill changes the requirements for a notice 
of transfer of interest in a motor vehicle to the 
Department of Revenue to require the name of the 
transferor, allows for the electronic signature of 
the transferor, and allows the notice to be effective 
even though it contains minor errors that are not 
materially misleading.

The bill allows any individual who has received the 
Korea Defense Service Medal to apply for special 
motor vehicle license plates bearing the words 
“KOREA DEFENSE SERVICE MEDAL.”  To obtain 
the plates, he or she must submit an application to 
the Director of the Department of Revenue, furnish 
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proof of eligibility for the plates as the department 
director may require, and pay a $15 fee in addition to 
the regular registration fee.  There must not be any 
additional fee for the personalization of the license 
plates.  The plates are not transferable to any other 
person, but in the event of the death of a qualified 
person, a registered co-owner of the vehicle must 
be entitled to operate the vehicle with the plates 
until they expire.

The bill requires the $10 contribution to obtain 
a God Bless America license plate to be made to 
the World War I Memorial Trust Fund instead of the 
World War II Memorial Fund.

INTOXICATION-RELATION OFFENSES
The bill:
(1)  Allows the Department of Revenue to extend 

the period a motorist is required to maintain the 
ignition interlock device on his or her vehicle by 
three months if the ignition interlock device detects 
an attempt to tamper with the device or detects an 
alcohol concentration above the set point within the 
last three months of the required installation period.  
The time must be extended until he or she has gone 
three months without any violations; 

(2)  Expands the list of offenses for which an 
individual can be allowed to receive limited driving 
privileges if any motor vehicle he or she operates 
has a functioning, certified ignition interlock device;

(3)  Removes the mandatory suspension period for 
an alcohol-related offense but requires an individual 
to have an ignition interlock device installed on his 
or her vehicle.  Currently, except for a first-time DWI 
offense, an alcohol-related driving offense requires 
a specified period of suspension before an individual 
is eligible for limited or restricted driving privileges;

(4)  Removes the prohibition on DWI courts from 
granting limited driving privileges to a participant 
during the first 45 days of participation;

(5)  Defines “continuous alcohol monitoring” as 
automatically testing breath, blood, or transdermal 
alcohol concentration levels and tampering attempts 
at least once every hour and regularly transmitting 
the data; and

(6)  Authorizes a court to order a defendant to 
submit to continuous alcohol monitoring or verifiable 
breath alcohol testing performed a minimum of four 
times a day for any driving while intoxicated, driving 
with an excessive blood alcohol content, boating 
while intoxicated, or boating with an excessive blood 
alcohol content offense.  

The provisions regarding intoxication-related 
offenses become effective January 1, 2017.

SB 272 -- CITY OF COLUMBIA COMMERCIAL 
ZONE

This bill adds Boone County to the municipal 
commercial zone previously established for the 
City of Columbia.  The bill extends that zone north 
from the city limits along U.S. Highway 63 to State 
Route NN and west and south along Route NN to 
State Route 124 and east along State Route 124 to 
U.S. Highway 63.  The zone must also extend east 
from the city limits along State Route WW to the 
intersection of State Route J and continue south on 
State Route J for four miles.

SB 317 -- CONVEYANCE OF STATE PROPERTIES
This bill allows the Governor to convey specified 

state properties located in Christian, Pulaski, 
St. Charles, and St. Louis counties to the State 
Highways and Transportation Commission.

SB 318 -- HIGHWAY DESIGNATIONS
This bill makes the following highway designations:
(1)  The portion of Business Highway 71 from 

the Interstate 29 intersection north for two miles 
and located in Andrew County as the Randy Bever 
Memorial Highway;

(2)  The portion of U.S. Highway 10 from the 
western border of the city limits of Norborne in 
Carroll County to the eastern border of the city limits 
of Hardin in Ray County as the Ray-Carroll County 
Veterans Memorial Highway; and

(3)  The portion of U.S. Highway 160 in Ripley 
County that is located within the city limits of 
Doniphan as the Billy Yates Highway.

SCS SB 321 -- COURT ORDERS OF PROTECTION
This bill changes the laws regarding court orders 

of protection.  In its main provisions, the bill:
(1)  Adds causing or attempting to cause another 

person to engage involuntarily in a sexual act 
without his or her consent to the definition of “sexual 
assault”;

(2)  Revises the definition of “stalking” to 
include when any person purposely engages in an 
unwanted course of conduct that causes alarm to an 
individual who resides in the same household with 
the individual seeking the order of protection when 
it is reasonable in that individual’s situation to have 
been alarmed by the conduct;

(3)  Changes “repeated acts” in the definition of 
“course of conduct” to “two or more acts”; and

(4)  Allows the court to grant an order of protection 
to a victim of sexual assault.
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SB 334 -- INSTITUTIONS OF HIGHER EDUCATION
This bill changes the laws regarding institutions of 

higher education.

STATE TEACHERS COLLEGES                       
(Section 174.030, RSMo)

The bill repeals provisions that limited state 
teachers colleges from conferring postgraduate 
degrees except those necessary to the training of 
teachers or degrees other than those in education 
and arts and sciences.

HARRIS-STOWE STATE UNIVERSITY            
(Section 174.310)

The bill broadens the degree programs that Harris-
Stowe State University may offer.  Currently, Harris-
Stowe is only authorized to offer undergraduate 
degree programs with an emphasis on selected 
applied professional disciplines.  The bill authorizes 
Harris-Stowe to offer baccalaureate degree 
programs and graduate degree programs upon 
the approval of the Coordinating Board for Higher 
Education. 

NORTHWEST MISSOURI STATE UNIVERSITY 
(Section 174.332)

Currently, membership on the Northwest Missouri 
State University’s board of regents is based in part 
on residency in the university’s historic statutory 
service region.  The bill adds the counties of 
Andrew, Clinton, and DeKalb to the historic service 
region for the sole purpose of the composition of the 
board of regents.

HCS SCS SB 336 -- INCOME TAX WITHHOLDING 
ON TIPS

Currently, Missouri follows the federal Internal 
Revenue Code on how to determine the amount of 
cash tips that is taxable.  This bill limits the calculation 
of state income tax withholding on tips received by 
an employee in the course of his or her employment 
to the amount of total tips reported to the employer 
in a written statement or, if greater, the amount of 
tips received by the employer and remitted to the 
employee.  If an employee shares tips, the employer 
must withhold only from the employee who actually 
received the shared tips.  The employer’s Missouri 
income tax withholding obligation with respect to an 
employee’s tip income must be limited to the portion 
of the employee’s wages under the control of the 
employer against which the employer is required by 
federal law to withhold federal income taxes on the 
employee’s tips.

SCS SB 340 -- DETERMINATION OF HEIRS
This bill changes an intersectional reference in the 

statute that specifies the time period in which a will 
must be presented before a person can file a petition 
in the probate division for the administration of an 
estate to determine the heirs when administration of 
the estate has not commenced and a written will of 
the decedent has not been presented.

HCS SCS SB 341 -- PROTECTION OF 
VULNERABLE PERSONS

This bill changes the laws regarding the protection 
of vulnerable persons.

OFFICE OF CHILD ADVOCATE                       
(Section 37.719, RSMo)

The bill authorizes the Office of Child Advocate to 
conduct an independent review of any entity within 
a county that has experienced three or more review 
requests in a year, including the children’s division, 
juvenile office, or guardian ad litem.  The office 
must have the authority to make the necessary 
inquiries and review relevant information and 
records as it deems necessary.  The office may 
make recommendations on changes to any entity’s 
policies and procedures in order to improve the 
delivery of services or the function of the entity.  
Upon completion of a review, the office must submit 
any findings and recommendations to the Office 
of State Courts Administrator and the Children’s 
Division within the Department of Social Services. 

CHILD ABUSE AND NEGLECT HOTLINE POSTERS 
(Section 160.975)

The bill requires each public school and charter 
school to post in a clearly visible location in a 
public area of the school that is readily accessible 
to students a sign in English and in Spanish that 
contains the toll-free child abuse and neglect 
hotline number established by the Children’s 
Division.  Each school must post signs containing 
the same information in all student restrooms in the 
school, to allow for private access to the information 
by students of either gender.  The information 
contained on the signs must be presented on a 
poster at least 11 inches by 17 inches in size, 
contain large print, and be placed at eye level to 
the student for easy viewing.  The hotline number 
must be displayed in bold print, and the signs must 
contain instructions to call 911 for emergencies and 
directions for accessing the division’s website for 
more information on reporting abuse, neglect, and 
exploitation.  The bill requires the division to create 
an acronym to help children to remember the hotline 
number.
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IMMUNIZATION OF CHILDREN (Section 210.003) 
The bill requires all public, private, and parochial 

day care centers, preschools, and nursery schools 
to notify the parent or guardian of each child at 
the time of initial enrollment in or attendance at 
the facility that he or she may request notice of 
whether there are children currently enrolled in or 
attending the facility that have an immunization 
exemption on file.  Beginning December 1, 2015, 
all public, private, and parochial day care centers, 
preschools, and nursery schools must notify the 
parent or guardian of each child currently enrolled in 
or attending the facility that the parent or guardian 
may request notice of whether there are children 
currently enrolled in or attending the facility for 
whom an immunization exemption has been filed.  
Upon request, the facility must notify the parent or 
guardian if there are children currently enrolled in 
or attending the facility that have an immunization 
exemption on file.

REPORTS OF CHILD ABUSE COMMITTED BY 
JUVENILES (Section 210.148) 

The bill specifies that upon the receipt of a hotline 
report of child abuse or neglect where the subject of 
the report is a person younger than 14 years of age 
who has allegedly committed sexual abuse against 
another younger child, the Children’s Division 
must immediately communicate the report to the 
appropriate local office along with any relevant 
information as may be contained in the information 
system.  Upon receipt of the report and information, 
the local office must use a family assessment and 
services approach to respond to the allegation 
contained in the report.  These provisions cannot 
prohibit the local office from commencing an 
investigation if, at any point in using the family 
assessment and services approach, it determines 
that an investigation is required.  The investigation 
must comply with specified provisions and may 
include requesting assistance from the appropriate 
law enforcement agency.  

SAFE SLEEP PRACTICES                              
(Sections 210.221 and 210.223) 

The bill authorizes the Department of Health and 
Senior Services to approve training concerning 
the safe sleep recommendations of the American 
Academy of Pediatrics. 

The bill requires all licensed child care facilities 
that provide care for children under one year of 
age to implement and maintain a written safe sleep 
policy in accordance with the most recent safe sleep 
recommendations of the academy. 

When an infant requires alternative sleep positions 
or special sleeping arrangements, the facility must 
be provided with written instructions, signed by 
the infant’s licensed health care provider, detailing 
the alternative sleep positions or special sleeping 
arrangements for the infant.  The facility must put 
the infant to sleep in accordance with the written 
instructions. 

All employees of licensed child care facilities 
who care for infants younger than one year of 
age or any volunteer who may be assisting at the 
facility must successfully complete department-
approved training on the most recent safe sleep 
recommendations every three years. 

The department must establish rules that include: 
(1)  Amending any current rules which are not in 

compliance with the most recent recommendations 
of the academy, including the rule that permits the 
use of bumper pads in cribs or playpens; 

(2)  Keeping soft or loose bedding away from 
sleeping infants and out of safe sleep environments; 
and 

(3)  Prohibiting blankets or other soft or loose 
bedding from being hung on the sides of cribs.  

The department may adopt emergency rules to 
implement these requirements. 

COMMUNITY CHILDREN’S SERVICES FUNDS 
(Section 210.861) 

Currently, an individual elected treasurer by the 
board of directors of a community children’s services 
fund must furnish a surety bond that meets specified 
requirements before taking office.  The bill adds the 
option of furnishing comparable insurance coverage 
for theft, misappropriation, mismanagement, or other 
acts that otherwise meet the specified requirements 
for a surety bond under these provisions.  The 
board must not be mandated to expend funds by 
an act of state legislation without a majority vote 
of the county or St. Louis City, excluding St. Louis 
County.  The bill prohibits any county, excluding St. 
Louis County, or St. Louis City in which voters have 
approved the levy of a tax under these provisions 
from adding services in addition to those currently 
permitted at the time the levy is approved by voters 
unless the voters approve the additional services in 
the same manner as the original levy was approved. 

ORDERS OF PROTECTION                           
(Sections 455.010 - 455.538)

Current law allows a person, including a child, 
who has been subject to domestic violence by a 
family or household member or any person who has 
been the victim of stalking to be granted an order of 
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protection.  The bill allows the courts to also grant 
an order of protection to a victim of sexual assault.  

Currently, in the provisions regarding orders of 
protection, “sexual assault” is defined as causing or 
attempting to cause another to engage involuntarily 
in any sexual act by force, threat of force, or duress.  
The bill adds causing or attempting to cause 
another person to engage involuntarily in a sexual 
act without that person’s consent.

SCS SB 345 -- FINANCIAL TRANSACTIONS
This bill changes the laws regarding financial 

transactions.
The bill increases specified fees paid to the 

Director of the Division of Finance within the 
Department of Insurance, Financial Institutions and 
Professional Registration.  The increases include:

(1)  The investigation fee that must be submitted 
with an application to obtain or renew a license to 
issue checks in this state from $100 to $300;

(2)  The fee that may be assessed for amending 
and reissuing an existing license to issue checks in 
this state from up to $100 to up to $300;

(3)  The annual license fee in order for an individual 
to engage in the business of a financing institution 
from $300 for each place of business to $500 for 
each place of business;

(4)  The annual registration fee in order for a person  
to engage in the business of a premium finance 
company from $300 to $500.  Any revised statement 
of a registration form must be accompanied by a fee 
of $300 instead of the current $100;

(5)  The annual licensing fee in order for a person to 
engage in the business of a sales finance company 
from $300 for each place of business to $500 for 
each place of business;

(6)  The annual registration fee for a lender of 
small loans from $300 to $500;

(7)  The fee that must accompany a registration 
statement for a credit service organization from not 
to exceed $100 to not to exceed $300; and

(8)  The annual license fee for a lender of unsecured 
loans of $500 or less from $300 per location to $500 
per location.

Currently, the fee amount that a lender may charge 
on a loan for 30 days or longer that is not an open-
end credit loan is not to exceed 10% of the principal 
amount loaned not to exceed $75.  The bill changes 
that to not to exceed 10% of the principal amount 
loaned not to exceed $100.

The bill requires a person seeking a mortgage 
broker license to pass a written examination 
designated as the Nationwide Mortgage Licensing 
System and Registry’s National Test Component 
with Uniform State Content for Mortgage Loan 
Originator Licensing.

SS SCS SB 354 -- AMINO ACID-BASED 
ELEMENTAL FORMULAS

This bill requires the Department of Health and 
Senior Services to provide coverage, subject to state 
and federal appropriations, for the full cost of amino 
acid-based elemental formulas for children younger 
than 19 years of age with a medical diagnosis of 
specified allergies, syndromes, or disorders.

SS SB 366 -- MISSOURI HIGHER EDUCATION 
SAVINGS PROGRAM

This bill allows a participant in the Missouri Higher 
Education Savings (MOST) Program to elect to 
contribute all or part of his or her personal income 
tax refund to his or her MOST account by direct 
deposit.  The amount must be at least $25 and must 
be as a contribution only for the tax year in which 
the refund is issued.  The election must be made on 
a form prescribed by the Department of Revenue 
and may not be changed or revoked.  The election 
must be void if the taxpayer’s refund is offset to pay 
amounts owed by the taxpayer. 

The bill exempts from state income taxation 
refunds of qualified higher education expenses 
received by a beneficiary from an eligible 
educational institution in connection with withdrawal 
from enrollment at the institution when the refund is 
contributed to a qualified tuition savings program of 
which the individual is a beneficiary within 60 days 
of withdrawal. 

The provisions of the bill will become effective 
only upon notification by the State Treasurer to the 
Revisor of Statutes of the passage of H.R. 529 of 
the 114th United States Congress.

SS SB 373 -- DIVISION OF ALCOHOL AND 
TOBACCO CONTROL FUND

This bill creates the Division of Alcohol and 
Tobacco Control Fund and requires 70% of the fees 
collected for liquor licenses and permits to go to 
the fund.  Upon appropriation, money in the fund 
must be used solely by the Division of Alcohol and 
Tobacco Control within the Department of Public 
Safety for the administration of the liquor control 
laws and laws prohibiting the sale of tobacco to 
minors and any duties relating to licensing, training, 
technical assistance, and regulations.
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SB 392 -- FRATERNAL BENEFIT SOCIETY 
AGENTS

Currently, there are two categories of individuals 
within a fraternal benefit society that must not be 
deemed an agent of a fraternal benefit society 
requiring insurance agent licensure.  They are: 

(1)  Any regular salaried officer, employee, or 
secretary who devotes substantially all of his or her 
services to activities other than the solicitation of 
insurance contracts and receives no commission 
or other compensation directly dependent upon the 
amount of business obtained; or

(2)  Any member representative of a society that 
insures its members against death, dismemberment, 
and disability resulting from accident only which 
pays no commission or other consideration for the 
collection of premiums for the contracts. 

This bill changes the second category of 
individuals exempt from insurance agent licensure 
to any member representative of any fraternal 
benefit society who devotes, or intends to devote, 
less than 50% of his or her time to the solicitation 
and procurement of insurance contracts for the 
society.  A member representative is deemed 
to devote 50% or more of his or her time to the 
solicitation and procurement of insurance contracts 
for a society if he or she solicited and procured life 
insurance contracts in the preceding calendar year 
in an amount of insurance in excess of $50,000 or 
writes contracts on any kind or kinds of insurance 
on more than 25 individuals and who has received 
or will receive a commission or other compensation.

SB 405 -- FEES COLLECTED BY THE COUNTY 
COLLECTOR

Currently, a county collector must collect a fee for 
collecting specified state, county, and local taxes 
and licensing fees that must be deposited in the 
county general fund.  In a county where the total 
amount levied for any one year exceeds $350,000 
and is less than $2 million, the fee is 2.5% on the 
first $350,000 collected and 1% on anything above 
that amount.  In a county where the total amount 
levied for any one year exceeds $2 million, the fee 
is 1% on all amounts collected.  This bill raises the 
upper threshold amount for a county to be eligible to 
collect the 2.5% on the first $350,000 to $3 million.

SB 426 -- COMMUNITY MENTAL HEALTH 
LIAISONS

This bill changes the laws regarding information 
and records compiled, obtained, prepared, or 
maintained by a residential facility, specified mental 
health program, specialized service, or any mental 

health facility or program that allows an individual 
to be civilly detained pursuant to Chapter 632, 
RSMo, while providing services to the voluntary 
or involuntary patient.  The bill allows facilities, 
programs, and services to disclose information and 
records, upon request, to individuals designated 
by the Department of Mental Health as community 
mental health liaisons for the purpose of coordination 
of care and services.  Individuals designated by the 
department as community mental health liaisons 
are added to the list of individuals to whom the 
confidential records and files maintained in a court 
proceeding under Chapter 632 must be available.

SCS SB 435 -- CONVEYANCE OF STATE 
PROPERTY IN ST. LOUIS COUNTY

This bill allows the Governor to convey the state’s 
interest in specified property owned by the state in 
St. Louis County to the county.  The instrument of 
conveyance must include a statement recognizing 
the special relationship between the state and St. 
Louis County with regard to the use of the property 
and specifying that the state and county must 
continue to cooperate regarding the use of the 
property.

CCS HCS SCS SB 445 -- ENVIRONMENTAL 
PROTECTION

This bill changes the laws regarding environmental 
protection.

SOLID WASTE
The bill changes the laws regarding solid waste.  

In its main provisions, the bill:
(1)  Changes the provisions regarding the audit 

of solid waste management districts by the State 
Auditor.  Currently, the State Auditor must conduct 
an audit of each solid waste management district 
and must thereafter conduct audits of each district 
as he or she deems necessary and may request 
reimbursement from the district for the costs of 
conducting the audit.  The bill allows the State 
Auditor to conduct audits of solid waste management 
districts as he or she deems necessary and if the 
State Auditor does request the reimbursement, the 
district must reimburse the State Auditor for the 
costs with the moneys deposited into the Petition 
Audit Revolving Trust Fund.  The reimbursement 
must be limited to 2% of the district’s annual 
monetary allocation; 

(2)  Revises the independent financial audit 
requirements.  A district receiving more than 
$800,000 of financial assistance annually must 
have an annual independent financial statement 
audit, while districts receiving between $250,000 
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and $800,000 annually are required to have an 
independent financial statement audit every two 
years.  All other districts must be monitored every 
two years by the department and, based upon the 
findings in the monitoring report, may be required to 
arrange for an independent financial statement audit 
for the monitoring period under review.  Currently, 
a district receiving $200,000 or more of financial 
assistance annually is required to have an annual 
independent financial audit while a district receiving 
less than $200,000 is required to have the audit at 
least every two years;  

(3)  Requires the department to conduct a 
performance audit of grants to each district at least 
once every five years or as deemed necessary 
based upon district grantee performance.  Currently, 
the department must conduct a performance audit 
of grants to each district at least once every three 
years;

(4)  Adds textiles to the products that each solid 
waste management district is required to address 
the recycling, reuse, and handling of in its solid 
waste management plan; 

(5)  Prohibits the executive board of a solid waste 
management district from performing solid waste 
management projects that compete with a qualified 
private enterprise;

(6)  Specifies that a person or entity cannot be 
disqualified from receiving a grant for providing 
solid waste management and recycling services 
on the basis that there exists a familial relationship 
between the applicant and any member of the solid 
waste management district executive board within 
the fourth degree by consanguinity or affinity.  For 
applicants with a familial relationship, the board 
must only approve the grant application if approved 
by a vote of two-thirds of the board.  If an executive 
board member does not abstain from a vote to 
award a grant application to any person or entity 
who is a relative within the specified degree, he 
or she must forfeit membership on the solid waste 
management district executive board and the solid 
waste management district council; 

 (7)  Requires model solid waste management 
plans to provide for economical waste management 
through regional and district cooperation.  Currently, 
it requires the plans to provide for economical waste 
management through regional cooperation;  

(8)  Repeals the provisions requiring any county 
within a region that is not a member of a district 
to submit a solid waste management plan to the 
department;

(9)  Extends the moratorium on increasing the 
sanitary landfill tipping fee, demolition landfill 
tipping fee, and the transfer station tipping fee from 
October 1, 2017, to October 1, 2027;

(10)  Establishes the criteria that a solid waste 
management district may consider in establishing 
the order of district grant priority.  Any allocated 
district moneys remaining in any fiscal year due to 
inadequate grant applications must be reallocated 
for grant applications in subsequent years or for 
solid waste projects other than district operations.  
Any allocated district moneys remaining after five 
years must revert to the Solid Waste Management 
Fund;

(11)  Establishes a time line for the department to 
approve or deny a grant application that has been 
approved by a solid waste management district; 

(12)  Changes the provisions regarding the 
appointing authority, membership, and duties of the 
Solid Waste Advisory Board, including preparing 
an annual report by January 1 to each committee 
and task force of the General Assembly having 
jurisdiction over solid waste; and

(13)  Requires the advisory board to hold regular 
meetings on a quarterly basis.  A special meeting 
of the board may occur upon a majority vote of all 
members at a regular quarterly meeting.

SULFUR DIOXIDE AIR QUALITY 
The bill requires any owner of a coal-fired 

electric generating source in a one-hour sulfur 
dioxide National Ambient Air Quality Standards 
nonattainment area currently designated as of April 
1, 2015, to develop an ambient air quality monitoring 
or modeling network to characterize the sulfur 
dioxide air quality surrounding the source.  The 
network must adequately monitor the sulfur dioxide 
surrounding the source and must operate for at least 
12 consecutive quarters.  The owner of the source 
must notify the Department of Natural Resources 
of the manner that will be used to characterize the 
air quality around the source.  The location of any 
monitoring network installed by the owner within 
a nonattainment area must be approved by the 
department.

Affected sources in an undesignated area that 
elect to use monitoring to evaluate air quality must be 
consulted by the department on the use of existing 
monitors as well as the location of new monitors 
in the network.  The department must not submit 
its recommendation to the federal Environmental 
Protection Agency (EPA) on the manner in which 
data will be gathered for the designation process 
that is inconsistent with the elections made by 
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affected sources.  If sources have elected to monitor, 
the department must submit recommendations for 
the designation process by the date set by a final, 
effective, and applicable EPA requirement but not 
prior.

 The bill also requires the department to consider 
all ambient air quality monitoring network data 
collected by any owner of an electric generating 
source prior to proposing to the Air Conservation 
Commission any sulfur dioxide limitation, emission 
reduction requirement, or other requirement for any 
electric generating source that has elected to install 
a monitoring network with specified exceptions.  

Nothing in these provisions can prohibit the 
department from entering into an agreement with 
an owner of an electric generating source to limit 
or reduce sulfur dioxide emissions that is below the 
source’s permitted rate.

HCS SCS SB 456 -- OWNERSHIP OF MOTOR 
VEHICLES

This bill changes the laws regarding the ownership 
of motor vehicles.

TRANSFERRED LICENSE PLATES                 
(Section 301.140.1, RSMo)

Currently, the operation of a motor vehicle with 
transferred license plates must be lawful for up to 
30 days.  The bill makes it lawful for up to 90 days if 
the dealer is selling the vehicle prior to obtaining a 
certificate of ownership. 

TEMPORARY PERMITS (Section 301.140.4)
Currently, the Director of the Department of 

Revenue or a motor vehicle dealer may issue a 
temporary permit authorizing the operation of a 
motor vehicle or trailer by a buyer for up to 30 days.  
The bill extends the time period to up to 90 days if 
the dealer is selling the vehicle prior to obtaining the 
certificate of ownership. 

CERTIFICATE OF OWNERSHIP (Section 301.190)
Currently, a person acquiring a motor vehicle 

or trailer is required to apply for a certificate of 
ownership within 30 days of acquiring the vehicle 
or trailer.  The bill requires the person to apply 
for a certificate of ownership within 30 days after 
receiving the title from the dealer if the dealer did 
not have the certificate of ownership at the time of 
the purchase. 

TITLE REQUIREMENTS FOR USED MOTOR 
VEHICLES (Sections 301.213 and 407.581)

The bill repeals the provisions authorizing a 
licensed motor vehicle dealer to only purchase or 
accept in trade any motor vehicle for which there 

has been issued a certificate of title and authorizes 
a licensed motor vehicle dealer who has provided 
the department director a surety bond or irrevocable 
letter of credit in an amount of at least $100,000 
in lieu of the $25,000 bond otherwise required for 
licensure to purchase or accept in trade any motor 
vehicle for which there has been issued a certificate 
of ownership and to receive the vehicle subject to 
any existing liens if the dealer receives specified 
items.  Once the prior owner has physically delivered 
the vehicle to the dealer, the prior owner’s insurable 
interest in the vehicle ceases.

If a dealer receives specified documents, he or she 
may sell the vehicle prior to receiving and assigning 
a certificate of ownership to the purchaser.  To sell a 
vehicle under this provision the dealer must prepare 
and deliver to the purchaser an application for title 
for the vehicle in the purchaser’s name and enter into 
a written agreement for the subsequent assignment 
and delivery of the certificate of ownership within 
60 days after delivery of the motor vehicle to the 
purchaser.  The agreement must require the 
purchaser to provide to the dealer proof of financial 
responsibility and proof of insurance.  The dealer 
must maintain the original or an electronic copy 
of the signed agreement and deliver a copy of the 
signed agreement to the purchaser.  The dealer must 
also complete and deliver to the department director 
on a form as the department director prescribes 
showing that the purchaser has purchased the 
vehicle without contemporaneous delivery of the 
title.  The completion of these requirements must 
constitute prima facie evidence of an ownership 
interest vested in the purchaser of the vehicle for 
all purposes other than for a subsequent transfer of 
ownership with specified exceptions. 

Following a sale or other transaction in which a 
certificate of ownership has not been assigned from 
the owner to the dealer, the dealer must apply for 
a duplicate or replacement certificate of ownership 
within 10 business days.  Upon receiving the 
duplicate or replacement certificate of ownership, 
the dealer must assign and deliver it to the purchaser 
within five business days.

If the dealer fails or is unable to deliver a certificate 
of ownership to the purchaser and the purchaser of 
the vehicle is damaged, the dealer must be liable to 
the purchaser for actual damages, plus court costs 
and attorney fees.  If a seller misrepresents to a 
dealer that he or she is the owner of the vehicle and 
specified parties are damaged as a result, the seller 
must be liable to the party for actual and punitive 
damages, plus court costs and attorney fees.  When 
a lienholder is damaged as a result of a licensed 
dealer’s acts, errors, omissions, or violations of 
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these provisions, the dealer must be liable to the 
lienholder for actual damages, plus court costs and 
attorney fees.  The department may use a dealer’s 
repeated or intentional violation of these provisions 
as a cause to suspend, revoke, or refuse to issue or 
renew any license.  The hearing process must be 
the same as currently established for suspended or 
revoked licenses.

MOTOR VEHICLE DEALER LICENSES           
(Section 301.562)

The department may enter into an agreement 
with the holder of a motor vehicle dealer license to 
ensure future compliance with specified provisions.  
The agreement may include an assessment fee of 
up to $500 per violation or $5,000 total, probation 
terms and conditions, and other requirements as 
may be deemed appropriate by the department 
and the license holder.  Any fees collected must be 
deposited into the Motor Vehicle Commission Fund.

ELECTRONIC SIGNATURE FOR TITLE TRANSFERS 
(Section 301.644)

In cases where an insurance company has paid 
or is paying a total loss claim on a motor vehicle 
or trailer, the registered owner or owners may 
use an electronic signature on a limited power of 
attorney, affidavit, or other document to authorize 
the insurance company to assign ownership, and 
the document must not require notarization.

SB 463 -- TAX CREDITS
Currently, the Residential Treatment Agency Tax 

Credit Act will expire on December 31, 2015, and 
the Developmental Disability Care Provider Tax  
Credit Program will expire on December 31, 2016.  
This bill repeals the expiration dates.

SB 474 -- HEROES WAY DESIGNATION PROGRAM
Currently, the Heroes Way Interchange 

Designation Program allows for designations of 
interstate or state-numbered highway interchanges 
for members of the United States Armed Forces 
killed in action while performing active military duty 
with the Armed Forces in Afghanistan or Iraq on or 
after September 11, 2001.  This bill changes the 
name of the program to the Heroes Way Designation 
Program, allows for the designation of bridges or 
segments of highway on the state highway system, 
and allows a designation for any member of the 
United States Armed Forces killed in action while 
performing active military duty.

SB 497 -- SPECIAL PURPOSE DISTRICTS
This bill changes the laws regarding special 

purpose districts. 

DISSOLUTION OF SPECIAL PURPOSE DISTRICTS 
(Sections 67.950 and 67.955, RSMo)

 Currently, a special purpose district may be 
dissolved upon a majority vote of the district.  The 
election may be called upon the filing of a petition 
signed by at least 8% of the voters of the district or 
upon the motion of a majority of the members of the 
governing body. 

This bill requires the petition to be filed with the 
clerk of the circuit court of the county in which the 
district is located or, if the district is in more than 
one county, the circuit court clerk of the county 
having the largest acreage within the district.  The 
bill requires specified information to be included 
with the petition, including a description of the 
boundaries, an allegation that the operation of the 
district is not in the best interests of the inhabitants 
of the district, and a detailed plan for the payment of 
the district’s debt.  The petitioners must pay $50 to 
file the petition with the court.  

The bill specifies that, if the governing board 
of the district determines the dissolution is not in 
the public interest, the district must oppose the 
petition.  The bill specifies the hearing process 
for the petition of dissolution and contains notice 
requirements.  The district, voters, and landowners 
of the district may file exceptions to the dissolution 
no less than five days before the hearing date.  The 
court must consider the exceptions and evidence in 
support of the petition.  Unless the petitioners prove 
that all debts of the district can be paid in full upon 
dissolution, the petition must be dismissed. 

If the court finds it is not in the public interest 
to dissolve the district, the court must dismiss 
the petition.  If the court finds it is in the public 
interest, the court must enter a decree providing 
for the submission of the question of dissolution 
to the voters.  If the voters approve the question 
by a majority, then the court must order the district 
dissolved.  The court must provide for the disposition 
of the district’s property. 

WATER SERVICE (Section 393.015) 
Currently, any sewer provider may contract with 

a water corporation to terminate water service to 
any customer premises for nonpayment of a sewer 
bill.  The bill also allows a sewer provider to contract 
with any municipal water service or water district for 
termination of water service for nonpayment of a 
sewer bill. 

FINDING OF AFFORDABILITY (Section 644.145) 
Currently, the Department of Natural Resources 

is required to perform a finding of affordability 
when issuing permits under the Missouri Clean 
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Water Law for discharges from specified publicly 
owned treatment works.  The bill also requires that 
the finding be performed when issuing permits for 
discharges from water or sewer treatment works. 

Currently, the definitions of “affordability” and 
“finding of affordability” are measured by whether 
an individual customer or household with an 
income equal to the lower of the median household 
income for his or her community or the state can 
pay the utility bill without undue hardship.  The bill 
specifies that the measurement must be whether 
an individual or household with an income equal to 
or lower than the median household income for his 
or her community can pay the bill without hardship 
and without making unreasonable sacrifices in the 
individual’s or the household’s lifestyle. 

COMMUNITY IMPROVEMENT DISTRICT 
ELECTIONS (Section 1) 

The bill specifies that an individual must not cast 
more than one ballot in any election for the board of 
directors of a community improvement district.

SB 500 -- HONEY
Currently, sellers of jams, jellies, and honey whose 

annual sales are $30,000 or less per location are 
exempt from the requirement to maintain separate 
facilities for the manufacture of the items.  This 
bill removes sellers of jams and jellies from this 
provision and increases the annual sales level 
to $50,000 before a seller is required to maintain 
separate facilities for the bottling of honey.

 Currently, sellers of honey are exempt from all 
remaining health standards and regulations for 
the manufacture of honey if they meet certain 
requirements.  The bill exempts sellers of honey from 
health standards and regulations for the bottling of 
honey if they meet certain requirements, including 
that the honey be bottled in the location of the person 
harvesting and selling the honey.  The bill removes 
the requirement that a placard be displayed in a 
prominent location during the sale of honey which 
states that the product has not been inspected by 
the Department of Health and Senior Services and 
the requirement that the honey be labeled that it has 
not been inspected by the department.

SB 524 -- FINANCIAL INSTITUTION FEES
This bill prohibits any contractual fee charged by a 

bank, trust company, association, or credit union for 
overdrawing the balance of a deposit account from 
being deemed as interest.

SCS SB 539 -- PASSPORT SERVICES
This bill allows the county commission or a county 

officer designated by the county commission to 
take or process applications for passports or their 
renewal if the court clerk in the circuit in which the 
county is located does not offer this service.  Fees 
charged for the service must be retained by the 
county office that provides the service.
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ADMINISTRATION, OFFICE OF
SS SB 58—Committees, Boards, and Commissions

ADMINISTRATIVE LAW
SS HB 92—Department of Natural Resources

AGRICULTURE AND ANIMALS
HCS HB 259—Missouri Dairy Revitalization Act
HCS SS SCS SB 12—Agriculture
SB 500—Honey

AGRICULTURE DEPARTMENT
HCS HB 259—Missouri Dairy Revitalization Act
HCS SS SCS SB 12—Agriculture

AIRCRAFT AND AIRPORTS
See also Motor Vehicles; Transportation

SS SCS HCS HBs 517 & 754—Taxation

ALCOHOL
See also Drunk Driving/Boating; Licenses-Liquor and Beer

CCS#2 HCS SB 254—Motor Vehicles
SS SB 373—Alcohol and Tobacco Enforcement

AMBULANCES AND AMBULANCE DISTRICTS
CCS HCS SCS SB 210—Health Care

ANNEXATION
HB 511	Annexation

APPROPRIATIONS
SCS HCS HB 1—Board of Fund Commissioners
CCS SCS HCS HB 2—State Board of Education and Department of 

Elementary and Secondary Education
CCS SCS HCS HB 3—Department of Higher Education
CCS SCS HCS HB 4—Department of Revenue and Department of 

Transportation
CCS SCS HCS HB 5—Office of Administration, Department of 

Transportation, and Department of Public Safety
CCS SCS HCS HB 6—Department of Agriculture, Department of Natural 

Resources, and Department of Conservation
CCS SCS HCS HB 7—Departments of Economic Development; Insurance, 

Financial Institutions and Professional Registration; and Labor 
and Industrial Relations

CCS SCS HCS HB 8—Department of Public Safety
CCS SCS HCS HB 9—Department of Corrections
CCS SCS HCS HB 10—Department of Mental Health, Board of Public 

Buildings, and Department of Health and Senior Services
CCS SCS HCS HB 11—Department of Social Services
CCS SS SCS HCS HB 12—Statewide Elected Officials, the Judiciary, Office 

of the State Public Defender, and General Assembly
CCS SCS HCS HB 13—Real Property Leases and Related Services
HCS HB 14—Supplemental Purposes
HCS HB 16—Supplemental Purposes

SUBJECT INDEX OF 2015 
TRULY AGREED TO AND FINALLY PASSED 

HOUSE BILLS AND SENATE BILLS
Regular Session

SS SCS HCS HB 17—Capital Improvements and Other Purposes; 
Reappropriation

SCS HCS HB 18—Capital Improvement Projects: Maintenance, Repair, 
Replacement, and Improvement of State Buildings and Facilities

SCS HCS HB 19—Capital Improvement Projects

ATHLETICS  
See also Entertainment, Sports, and Amusements

SS HCS HB 137—Competitive Bidding for Fee Offices
HB 859—Jackie Robinson Day

ATTORNEY GENERAL, STATE
SS HB 92—Department of Natural Resources
CCS HCS SS SCS SB 5—Local Government

ATTORNEYS
SS SCS HB 799—Judicial Circuits (Vetoed)

AUDITOR, STATE
SS HB 92—Department of Natural Resources
SS SCS SB 87—Political Subdivisions
CCS HCS SCS SB 445—Environmental Protection

BANKS AND FINANCIAL INSTITUTIONS
See also Credit and Bankruptcy; Credit Unions

HCS HB 587—Fees Paid to the Division of Finance
SCS HB 1098—Bank and Trust Companies (Vetoed)
SCS HB 1149—Division of Youth Services
HCS SS SCS SB 174—Missouri Achieving a Better Life Experience Program
HCS SB 244—Senior Savings Protection Act
SCS SB 345—Financial Transactions (Vetoed)
SB 524—Financial Institution Fees

BOARDS, COMMISSIONS, COMMITTEES, COUNCILS
SS HB 92—Department of Natural Resources
HB 125—Industrial Development Corporations
HB 326—Defined Benefit Pension Plans (Vetoed)
HB 511—Annexation
HB 515—Public Retirement Systems
HB 629—Public Retirement Systems (Vetoed)
SCS HCS HB 709—Entities Regulated by the Department of Insurance, 

Financial Institutions and Professional Registration
SS SB 58—Committees, Boards, and Commissions
SB 68—Industrial Development Corporations
SCS SB 107—Professional Registration
HCS SS SCS SB 174—Missouri Achieving a Better Life Experience Program
SB 334—Institutions of Higher Education
CCS HCS SCS SB 445—Environmental Protection

BOATS AND WATERCRAFT
See also Drunk Driving/Boating; Lakes, Rivers and Waterways; Motor 

Vehicles
HB 269—Fire Extinguishers on Motorboats
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HB 402—Missouri Safe Boating Week
HB 524—Electronic Release of Liens
HB 869—Motor Vehicle Sales Tax
HCS SB 231—Watercraft
CCS#2 HCS SB 254—Motor Vehicles

BONDS - SURETY
See also Liability

HCS SS SCS SB 12—Agriculture
HCS SCS SB 456—Ownership of Motor Vehicles

BUSINESS AND COMMERCE
See also Consumer Protection; Merchandising Practices

HB 531—Liquid Nicotine Containers
SS#2 HCS HB 722—Prohibited Ordinances by Political Subdivisions 

(Vetoed)
HCS SS SCS SB 12—Agriculture
SCS SB 18—Sales Tax Law Modifications
SB 20—Sales and Use Tax Exemption (Vetoed)
HCS SS SCS SB 149—Tax Incentives for Data Storage
SB 194—Business Facility Tax Credit
SCS SB 345—Financial Transactions (Vetoed)
HCS SCS SB 456—Ownership of Motor Vehicles
SB 500—Honey

CEMETERIES
SCS HCS HB 618—Disposition of Human Remains (Vetoed)

CHARITIES
HB 869—Motor Vehicle Sales Tax
SB 463—Tax Credits

CHILDREN AND MINORS
See also Courts, Juvenile

HB 501—Human Sexuality Course Materials
HB 531—Liquid Nicotine Containers
HB 1116—ROHHAD Awareness Day
SCS HB 1149—Division of Youth Services
SCS SB 321—Court Orders of Protection
HCS SCS SB 341—Protection of Vulnerable Persons
SS SCS SB 354—Amino Acid-Based Elemental Formulas

CITIES, TOWNS, AND VILLAGES
See also Political Subdivisions

HB 125—Industrial Development Corporations
HB 511—Annexation
HB 514—Tax Increment Financing
SS SCS HCS HBs 517 & 754—Taxation
SS SCS HB 799—Judicial Circuits (Vetoed)
CCS HCS SS SCS SB 5—Local Government
CCS HCS SS SCS SB 67—Courts (Vetoed)
SB 68—Industrial Development Corporations
SB 272—City of Columbia Commercial Zone

CIVIL PROCEDURE
SS SCS HB 799—Judicial Circuits (Vetoed)
CCS HCS SS SCS SB 67—Courts (Vetoed)
SCS SB 93—Campus Free Expression Act
HCS SB 164—Financial Transactions

SS SB 239—Statutory Cause of Action Against Health Care Providers
SCS SB 340—Probate Law

CIVIL RIGHTS
SCS SB 93—Campus Free Expression Act

CONSTITUTIONAL AMENDMENTS
CCS#2 HCS SB 104—Elections

CONSUMER PROTECTION
See also Business and Commerce; Credit and Bankruptcy

HB 531—Liquid Nicotine Containers
SS#2 HCS HB 722—Prohibited Ordinances by Political Subdivisions 

(Vetoed)
HCS SB 244—Senior Savings Protection Act

CONTRACTS AND CONTRACTORS
SS HCS HB 137—Competitive Bidding for Fee Offices 
HCS HB 769—Direct Health Care Services

CONVEYANCES AND EASEMENTS
See also Property, Real and Personal

SCS HB 947—Conveyance of State Properties
SB 317—Conveyance of State Properties
SCS SB 435—Conveyance of State Property in St. Louis County

CORPORATIONS
HB 125—Industrial Development Corporations
SCS SB 19—Allocation of Corporate Income
SB 68—Industrial Development Corporations

CORRECTIONS DEPARTMENT
See also Prisons and Jails

SS SB 58—Committees, Boards, and Commissions

COUNSELING
See also Mental Health

SS SCS SB 145—Treatment of Eating Disorders

COUNTIES
See also Political Subdivisions

HB 125—Industrial Development Corporations
HB 511—Annexation
SS SCS HCS HBs 517 & 754—Taxation
SCS HCS HB 613—Collection of Property Taxes
SS SCS HB 799—Judicial Circuits (Vetoed)
CCS HCS SS SCS SB 5—Local Government
CCS HCS SS SCS SB 67—Courts (Vetoed)
SB 68—Industrial Development Corporations
SS SCS SB 87—Political Subdivisions
SB 272—City of Columbia Commercial Zone
SB 405—County Collection Fees
SCS SB 539—Passport Services

COUNTY GOVERNMENT
HB 511—Annexation
SS SCS HCS HBs 517 & 754—Taxation
SCS HCS HB 613—Collection of Property Taxes
SS SCS SB 87—Political Subdivisions
SCS SB 539—Passport Services
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COUNTY OFFICIALS
SCS HCS HB 613—Collection of Property Taxes
SB 405—County Collection Fees
SCS SB 539—Passport Services

COURTS
See also Judges

SS SCS HB 799—Judicial Circuits (Vetoed)
CCS HCS SS SCS SB 5—Local Government
CCS HCS SS SCS SB 67—Courts (Vetoed)
CCS#2 HCS SB 104—Elections
SS SB 239—Statutory Cause of Action Against Health Care Providers
SCS SB 321—Court Orders of Protection
SB 426—Community Mental Health Liaisons
SB 497—Special Purpose Districts
SCS SB 539—Passport Services

COURTS, JUVENILE
See also Children and Minors

SS SCS HB 799—Judicial Circuits (Vetoed)
SCS HB 1149—Division of Youth Services
CCS HCS SS SCS SB 67—Courts (Vetoed)

CREDIT AND BANKRUPTCY
See also Banks and Financial Institutions; Consumer Protection

HCS HB 587—Fees Paid to the Division of Finance
HCS SB 164—Financial Transactions

CREDIT UNIONS
See also Banks and Financial Institutions

SB 524—Financial Institution Fees

CRIMES AND PUNISHMENT
See also Victims of Crime

SCS HB 1149—Division of Youth Services
CCS HCS SS SCS SB 5—Local Government
CCS#2 HCS SB 254—Motor Vehicles
SCS SB 321—Court Orders of Protection
HCS SCS SB 341—Protection of Vulnerable Persons

CRIMINAL PROCEDURE
See also Victims of Crime

SS SCS HB 799—Judicial Circuits (Vetoed)
CCS HCS SS SCS SB 5—Local Government
SCS SB 321—Court Orders of Protection

DAIRIES AND DAIRY PRODUCTS
HCS HB 259—Missouri Dairy Revitalization Act

DISABILITIES
CCS SCS HCS HB 42—Elementary and Secondary Education (Vetoed)
SCS HB 343—Money Follows the Person Program
HCS SS SCS SB 174—Missouri Achieving a Better Life Experience Program
CCS HCS SCS SB 210—Health Care
HCS SB 244—Senior Savings Protection Act
CCS#2 HCS SB 254—Motor Vehicles
SB 463—Tax Credits

DRUGS AND CONTROLLED SUBSTANCES
See also Pharmacy

SCS HCS HB 709—Entities Regulated by the Department of Insurance, 
Financial Institutions and Professional Registration

DRUNK DRIVING/BOATING
See also Alcohol; Boats and Watercraft; Licenses-Liquor and Beer

CCS#2 HCS SB 254—Motor Vehicles

ECONOMIC DEVELOPMENT
HB 125—Industrial Development Corporations
HB 514—Tax Increment Financing
SB 68—Industrial Development Corporations
HCS SS SCS SB 149—Tax Incentives for Data Storage
SB 194—Business Facility Tax Credit

ECONOMIC DEVELOPMENT DEPARTMENT
HB 514—Tax Increment Financing
SCS HB 1070—Office of Military Advocate
HCS SS SCS SB 149—Tax Incentives for Data Storage

EDUCATION, ELEMENTARY AND SECONDARY
SCS HB 41—School Funding Formula
CCS SCS HCS HB 42—Elementary and Secondary Education (Vetoed)
SS SCS HCS#2 HB 63—Persons Seeking Public Office (Passed over Veto)
HB 501—Human Sexuality Course Materials
HB 629—Public Retirement Systems (Vetoed)
HB 869—Motor Vehicle Sales Tax
SS SB 58—Committees, Boards, and Commissions
CCS#2 HCS SB 104—Elections
SB 116—School District Residency
SCS SB 224—A+ Schools Program (Vetoed)

EDUCATION, HIGHER
HCS HB 259—Missouri Dairy Revitalization Act
HB 567—Alpha Phi Alpha Day
HB 869—Motor Vehicle Sales Tax
SCS SB 93—Campus Free Expression Act
CCS#2 HCS SB 104—Elections
SCS SB 224—A+ Schools Program (Vetoed)
SB 334—Institutions of Higher Education
SS SB 366—Missouri Higher Education Savings Program 

ELDERLY
SCS HB 343—Money Follows the Person Program
HCS SB 244—Senior Savings Protection Act

ELECTIONS
SS SCS HCS#2 HB 63—Persons Seeking Public Office (Passed over Veto)
HCS SCS SBs 34 & 105—Military, Overseas, and Absentee Voting
CCS#2 HCS SB 104—Elections
SB 497—Special Purpose Districts

ELEMENTARY AND SECONDARY EDUCATION DEPARTMENT
SCS HB 41—School Funding Formula
CCS SCS HCS HB 42—Elementary and Secondary Education (Vetoed)
SCS SB 224—A+ Schools Program (Vetoed)

EMPLOYEES - EMPLOYERS
See also Labor and Management

SCS HCS HBs 116 & 569—Labor Organizations (Vetoed)
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HB 150—Unemployment Compensation (Vetoed)
HB 515—Public Retirement Systems
SS#2 HCS HB 722—Prohibited Ordinances by Political Subdivisions 

(Vetoed)
HCS SCS SB 336—Income Tax Withholding on Cash Tips

EMPLOYMENT SECURITY
HB 150—Unemployment Compensation (Vetoed)

ENERGY
See also Mining and Oil and Gas Production; Motor Fuel; Utilities

SS HB 92—Department of Natural Resources
SS#3 SCS SB 142—Implementation Impact Reports (Vetoed)
CCS HCS SCS SB 445—Environmental Protection

ENGINEERS
HB 361—Engineer Awareness Week

ENTERTAINMENT, SPORTS, AND AMUSEMENTS
SS HCS HB 137—Competitive Bidding for Fee Offices
HB 859—Jackie Robinson Day
HB 874—Walt Disney - A Day to Dream Day

ENVIRONMENTAL PROTECTION
See also Waste-Hazardous

SS HB 92—Department of Natural Resources
SS#2 HCS HB 722—Prohibited Ordinances by Political Subdivisions 

(Vetoed)
SS#3 SCS SB 142—Implementation Impact Reports (Vetoed)
CCS HCS SCS SB 445—Environmental Protection

ESTATES, WILLS, AND TRUSTS
HCS SB 164—Financial Transactions
SCS SB 340—Probate Law

FEDERAL - STATE RELATIONS
SS#3 SCS SB 142—Implementation Impact Reports (Vetoed)
CCS HCS SCS SB 210—Health Care

FEES
SS HB 92—Department of Natural Resources
SS HCS HB 137—Competitive Bidding for Fee Offices
HCS HB 587—Fees Paid to the Division of Finance
SS SCS HB 799—Judicial Circuits (Vetoed)
HCS SS SCS SB 12—Agriculture
CCS HCS SS SCS SB 67—Courts (Vetoed)
SCS SB 345—Financial Transactions (Vetoed)
SS SB 373—Alcohol and Tobacco Enforcement
SB 405—County Collection Fees
SB 524—Financial Institution Fees

FUNERALS AND FUNERAL DIRECTORS
SCS HCS HB 618—Disposition of Human Remains (Vetoed)
HCS SB 164—Financial Transactions

GENERAL ASSEMBLY
SS SB 58—Committees, Boards, and Commissions

GOVERNOR AND  LT. GOVERNOR
SCS HB 947—Conveyance of State Properties
SB 317—Conveyance of State Properties
SCS SB 435—Conveyance of State Property in St. Louis County

HEALTH CARE
See also Insurance-Medical; Medical Procedures and Personnel

HB 400—Epilepsy Awareness Month
HB 501—Human Sexuality Course Materials
HCS HB 769—Direct Health Care Services
HB 778—22q Awareness Week
HB 861—Multiple Sclerosis Awareness Week
HB 1116—ROHHAD Awareness Day
SS SB 58—Committees, Boards, and Commissions
SB 141—Crime Victims’ Compensation Program
SS SCS SB 145—Treatment of Eating Disorders
CCS HCS SCS SB 210—Health Care
SS SB 239—Statutory Cause of Action Against Health Care Providers
HCS SCS SB 341—Protection of Vulnerable Persons
SS SCS SB 354—Amino Acid-Based Elemental Formulas

HEALTH CARE PROFESSIONALS
See also Licenses-Professional; see also individual professions

SCS HCS HB 618—Disposition of Human Remains (Vetoed)
SCS SB 107—Professional Registration
SS SB 239—Statutory Cause of Action Against Health Care Providers

HEALTH DEPARTMENT
SCS HB 343—Money Follows the Person Program
HB 531—Liquid Nicotine Containers
SCS HCS HB 618—Disposition of Human Remains (Vetoed)
HCS SCS SB 341—Protection of Vulnerable Persons
SS SCS SB 354—Amino Acid-Based Elemental Formulas
SB 500—Honey

HEALTH, PUBLIC
HB 88—Organ Donor Recognition Day
HB 400—Epilepsy Awareness Month
HCS SCS SB 341—Protection of Vulnerable Persons

HIGHER EDUCATION DEPARTMENT
SCS SB 224—A+ Schools Program (Vetoed)
SB 334—Institutions of Higher Education

HIGHWAYS AND ROADS
SS SCS HB 522, HB 34, HB 133, HB 134, HB 810, HB 338 & HB 873—

Highway and Bridge Designations
SCS HCS HB 613—Collection of Property Taxes
HCS SB 156—Bridge and Highway Designations
SB 318—Highway Designations
SB 474—Heroes Way Designation Program

HOLIDAYS
HB 88—Organ Donor Recognition Day
HB 361—Engineer Awareness Week
HB 400—Epilepsy Awareness Month
HB 402—Missouri Safe Boating Week
HB 404—Missouri’s Peace Officers Memorial Week
HB 567—Alpha Phi Alpha Day
HB 778—22q Awareness Week
HB 859—Jackie Robinson Day
HB 861—Multiple Sclerosis Awareness Week
HB 874—Walt Disney - A Day to Dream Day
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HB 1116—ROHHAD Awareness Day
HB 1119—Lineworker Appreciation Day

HOSPITALS
CCS HCS SCS SB 210—Health Care

IMMIGRATION
SCS SB 224—A+ Schools Program (Vetoed)

INSURANCE - AUTOMOBILE
HB 391—Automobile Insurance Notices 
HCS SCS SB 456—Ownership of Motor Vehicles

INSURANCE DEPARTMENT
SCS HCS HB 50—Business of Insurance
HCS HB 587—Fees Paid to the Division of Finance
SCS HCS HB 709—Entities Regulated by the Department of Insurance, 

Financial Institutions and Professional Registration
SCS SB 107—Professional Registration
HCS SB 164—Financial Transactions

INSURANCE - GENERAL
SCS HCS HB 50—Business of Insurance
SCS HCS HB 709—Entities Regulated by the Department of Insurance, 

Financial Institutions and Professional Registration
HB 1022—Return of Premiums (Vetoed)
HCS SS SCS SB 12—Agriculture
HCS SB 164—Financial Transactions
SB 392—Fraternal Benefit Society Agents

INSURANCE - LIFE
HCS SB 164—Financial Transactions
SB 392—Fraternal Benefit Society Agents

INSURANCE - MEDICAL
See also Health Care; Medicaid

SCS HCS HB 709—Entities Regulated by the Department of Insurance, 
Financial Institutions and Professional Registration

HCS HB 769—Direct Health Care Services
SS SCS SB 145—Treatment of Eating Disorders

INTERNET, WORLD-WIDE WEB, AND E-MAIL
HB 501—Human Sexuality Course Materials
HCS SS SCS SB 149—Tax Incentives for Data Storage

JUDGES
See also Courts

SS SCS HB 799—Judicial Circuits (Vetoed)

KANSAS CITY
HB 515—Public Retirement Systems
HB 629—Public Retirement Systems (Vetoed)
SS SCS HB 799—Judicial Circuits (Vetoed)
SCS HB 947—Conveyance of State Properties
SCS SB 190—Kansas City Public Mass Transportation Sales Tax

LABOR AND INDUSTRIAL RELATIONS DEPARTMENT
HB 150—Unemployment Compensation (Vetoed)

LABOR AND MANAGEMENT
See also Employees-Employers

SCS HCS HBs 116 & 569—Labor Organizations (Vetoed)	
HB 150—Unemployment Compensation (Vetoed)

SS#2 HCS HB 722—Prohibited Ordinances by Political Subdivisions 
(Vetoed)

CCS HCS SS#2 SCS SB 24—Nonmedical Public Assistance (Passed over 
Veto)

HCS SCS SB 336—Income Tax Withholding on Cash Tips

LAKES, RIVERS AND WATERWAYS
See also Boats and Watercraft

SS HB 92—Department of Natural Resources

LANDLORDS AND TENANTS
CCS HCS SS SCS SB 67—Courts (Vetoed)

LAW ENFORCEMENT OFFICERS AND AGENCIES
See also Water Patrol

HB 404—Missouri’s Peace Officers Memorial Week
HB 515—Public Retirement Systems
HB 629—Public Retirement Systems (Vetoed)
SCS HB 878—Corporate Security Advisors (Vetoed)
CCS HCS SS SCS SB 5—Local Government

LIABILITY
See also Bonds-Surety

SCS HCS HB 618—Disposition of Human Remains (Vetoed)
HCS SS SCS SB 12—Agriculture
SS SB 239—Statutory Cause of Action Against Health Care Providers

LICENSES - DRIVER’S
See also Motor Vehicles

SS HCS HB 137—Competitive Bidding for Fee Offices
HB 179—Veteran Designation on Driver’s Licenses
CCS#2 HCS SB 254—Motor Vehicles

LICENSES - LIQUOR AND BEER
See also Alcohol; Drunk Driving/Boating

SS SB 373—Alcohol and Tobacco Enforcement

LICENSES - MISCELLANEOUS
SCS SB 345—Financial Transactions (Vetoed)
HCS SCS SB 456—Ownership of Motor Vehicles

LICENSES - MOTOR VEHICLE
See also Motor Vehicles

SS HCS HB 137—Competitive Bidding for Fee Offices
SCS HB 403—Veterans Awarded the Purple Heart
SCS HB 686—Motor Vehicle Junking Certificates
SB 166—Special License Plates
CCS#2 HCS SB 254—Motor Vehicles
HCS SCS SB 456—Ownership of Motor Vehicles

LICENSES - PROFESSIONAL
See also Health Care Professionals; see also names of individual 

professions
HCS HB 385—Real Estate Transactions
SCS HCS HB 709—Entities Regulated by the Department of Insurance, 

Financial Institutions and Professional Registration
SCS HB 878—Corporate Security Advisors (Vetoed)
HB 1052—Land Surveyors
HCS SS SCS SB 12—Agriculture
SCS SB 107—Professional Registration
SCS SB 345—Financial Transactions (Vetoed)
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LIENS
HB 524—Electronic Release of Liens
SCS HCS HB 613—Collection of Property Taxes

MANUFACTURED HOUSING 
HB 111—Sales Tax Exemption for Used Manufactured Homes
HB 524—Electronic Release of Liens

MEDICAID
See also Insurance-Medical; Public Assistance

SCS HB 343—Money Follows the Person Program
SS HB 384—Taxation
CCS HCS SCS SB 210—Health Care

MEDICAL PROCEDURES AND PERSONNEL
See also Health Care

SS SB 239—Statutory Cause of Action Against Health Care Providers

MENTAL HEALTH
See also Psychologists

SS SCS SB 145—Treatment of Eating Disorders
SB 426—Community Mental Health Liaisons

MENTAL HEALTH DEPARTMENT
SCS HB 343—Money Follows the Person Program
SS SB 58—Committees, Boards, and Commissions
SB 426—Community Mental Health Liaisons

MERCHANDISING PRACTICES
See also Business and Commerce

HB 531—Liquid Nicotine Containers
SS#2 HCS HB 722—Prohibited Ordinances by Political Subdivisions 

(Vetoed)

MILITARY AFFAIRS
See also National Guard; Veterans 

SCS HB 403—Veterans Awarded the Purple Heart
SS SCS HB 522, HB 34, HB 133, HB 134, HB 810, HB 338 & HB 873—

Highway and Bridge Designations
SCS HB 1070—Office of Military Advocate
HCS SCS SBs 34 & 105—Military, Overseas, and Absentee Voting
SB 116—School District Residency

MINING AND OIL AND GAS PRODUCTION
See also Energy; Motor Fuel

SS HB 92—Department of Natural Resources

MOTOR FUEL
See also Energy; Mining and Oil and Gas Production

HCS SS SCS SB 12—Agriculture
HCS SB 231—Watercraft

MOTOR VEHICLES
See also Aircraft and Airports; Boats and Watercraft; Insurance-

Automobile; Licenses-Drivers; Licenses-Motor Vehicle; 
Transportation

SS HCS HB 137—Competitive Bidding for Fee Offices
HB 524—Electronic Release of Liens
HB 650—Auxiliary Lighting on Motorcycles
SCS HB 686—Motor Vehicle Junking Certificates
HB 869—Motor Vehicle Sales Tax
HCS SS SCS SB 12—Agriculture

CCS#2 HCS SB 254—Motor Vehicles
SB 272—City of Columbia Commercial Zone
HCS SCS SB 456—Ownership of Motor Vehicles

NATIONAL GUARD
See also Military Affairs; Veterans

HCS SCS SBs 34 & 105—Military, Overseas, and Absentee Voting

NATURAL RESOURCES DEPARTMENT
SS HB 92—Department of Natural Resources
SS#3 SCS SB 142—Implementation Impact Reports (Vetoed)
CCS HCS SCS SB 445—Environmental Protection

NURSES
SCS HCS HB 618—Disposition of Human Remains (Vetoed)
SCS HCS HB 709—Entities Regulated by the Department of Insurance, 

Financial Institutions and Professional Registration

NURSING AND BOARDING HOMES
CCS HCS SCS SB 210—Health Care

PHARMACY
See also Drugs and Controlled Substances

SCS HCS HB 709—Entities Regulated by the Department of Insurance, 
Financial Institutions and Professional Registration

CCS HCS SCS SB 210—Health Care

PHYSICAL THERAPISTS
CCS#2 HCS SB 254—Motor Vehicles

PHYSICIANS
SCS HCS HB 618—Disposition of Human Remains (Vetoed)
SCS HCS HB 709—Entities Regulated by the Department of Insurance, 

Financial Institutions and Professional Registration
HCS HB 769—Direct Health Care Services
SS SCS SB 145—Treatment of Eating Disorders
SS SB 239—Statutory Cause of Action Against Health Care Providers
CCS#2 HCS SB 254—Motor Vehicles

POLITICAL PARTIES
SS SCS HCS#2 HB 63—Persons Seeking Public Office (Passed over Veto)

POLITICAL SUBDIVISIONS
See also Cities, Towns and Villages; Counties

HB 125—Industrial Development Corporations
SS HCS HB 137—Competitive Bidding for Fee Offices
HB 511—Annexation
HB 514—Tax Increment Financing
SS HB 616—Assessment of Property Taxes
SS#2 HCS HB 722—Prohibited Ordinances by Political Subdivisions 

(Vetoed)
SS SCS HB 799—Judicial Circuits (Vetoed)
CCS HCS SS SCS SB 5—Local Government
SB 68—Industrial Development Corporations
SS SCS SB 87—Political Subdivisions
CCS#2 HCS SB 104—Elections
HCS SS SCS SB 149—Tax Incentives for Data Storage
SB 497—Special Purpose Districts

PRISONS AND JAILS
See also Corrections Department

SCS HB 1149—Division of Youth Services
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PROPERTY, REAL AND PERSONAL
See also Conveyances and Easements; Taxation and Revenue-Property

HCS HB 385—Real Estate Transactions
HB 511—Annexation
HB 514—Tax Increment Financing
SCS HCS HB 613—Collection of Property Taxes
SCS HB 947—Conveyance of State Properties
HB 1052—Land Surveyors
HCS SS SCS SB 12—Agriculture
HCS SB 164—Financial Transactions
SB 317—Conveyance of State Properties
SCS SB 340—Probate Law
SCS SB 435—Conveyance of State Property in St. Louis County

PSYCHOLOGISTS
See also Mental Health

SS SCS SB 145—Treatment of Eating Disorders

PUBLIC ASSISTANCE
See also Medicaid

SCS HB 343—Money Follows the Person Program
CCS HCS SS#2 SCS SB 24—Nonmedical Public Assistance (Passed over 

Veto)

PUBLIC RECORDS, PUBLIC MEETINGS
SS HCS HB 137—Competitive Bidding for Fee Offices
SS SB 58—Committees, Boards, and Commissions

PUBLIC SAFETY DEPARTMENT
SCS HB 878—Corporate Security Advisors (Vetoed)
SB 141—Crime Victims’ Compensation Program
SS SB 373—Alcohol and Tobacco Enforcement

RETIREMENT - LOCAL GOVERNMENT
HB 515—Public Retirement Systems
HB 629—Public Retirement Systems (Vetoed)

RETIREMENT - SCHOOLS
HB 629—Public Retirement Systems (Vetoed)

RETIREMENT - STATE
HB 326—Defined Benefit Pension Plans (Vetoed)

RETIREMENT SYSTEMS AND BENEFITS - GENERAL
HB 515—Public Retirement Systems
HB 629—Public Retirement Systems (Vetoed)

REVENUE DEPARTMENT
SS HCS HB 137—Competitive Bidding for Fee Offices
SCS HB 403—Veterans Awarded the Purple Heart
SS SCS HCS HBs 517 & 754—Taxation
HB 524—Electronic Release of Liens
SCS HB 686—Motor Vehicle Junking Certificates
HB 869—Motor Vehicle Sales Tax
CCS HCS SS SCS SB 5—Local Government
HCS SS SCS SB 149—Tax Incentives for Data Storage
CCS#2 HCS SB 254—Motor Vehicles
HCS SCS SB 336—Income Tax Withholding on Cash Tips
HCS SCS SB 456—Ownership of Motor Vehicles

SAINT LOUIS
HB 514—Tax Increment Financing
HB 515—Public Retirement Systems
HB 629—Public Retirement Systems (Vetoed)
SS SCS HB 799—Judicial Circuits (Vetoed)

SAINT LOUIS COUNTY
HB 511—Annexation
HB 514—Tax Increment Financing
SCS HB 947—Conveyance of State Properties
SB 317—Conveyance of State Properties
SCS SB 435—Conveyance of State Property in St. Louis County

SALARIES
SS#2 HCS HB 722—Prohibited Ordinances by Political Subdivisions 

(Vetoed)

SECURITIES
HCS SB 244—Senior Savings Protection Act

SEWERS AND SEWER DISTRICTS
SB 497—Special Purpose Districts

SEXUAL OFFENSES
SCS SB 321—Court Orders of Protection

SOCIAL SERVICES DEPARTMENT
SCS HB 343—Money Follows the Person Program
SCS HB 1149—Division of Youth Services
CCS HCS SS#2 SCS SB 24—Nonmedical Public Assistance (Passed over 

Veto)
HCS SCS SB 341—Protection of Vulnerable Persons

STATE EMPLOYEES
HB 326—Defined Benefit Pension Plans (Vetoed)

SURVEYORS 
HB 1052—Land Surveyors

TAX CREDITS
See also Taxation and Revenue - Income

HCS SS SCS SB 174—Missouri Achieving a Better Life Experience Program
SB 194—Business Facility Tax Credit
SB 463—Tax Credits

TAXATION AND REVENUE - GENERAL
SS HB 384—Taxation
HB 514—Tax Increment Financing
SCS SB 19—Allocation of Corporate Income
CCS HCS SCS SB 210—Health Care
SB 405—County Collection Fees

TAXATION AND REVENUE - INCOME
See also Tax Credits

SS HB 384—Taxation
SS SCS HCS HBs 517 & 754—Taxation
SCS SB 19—Allocation of Corporate Income
HCS SCS SB 336—Income Tax Withholding on Cash Tips
SS SB 366—Missouri Higher Education Savings Program 
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TAXATION AND REVENUE - PROPERTY
See also Property, Real and Personal

SS SCS HCS HBs 517 & 754—Taxation
SCS HCS HB 613—Collection of Property Taxes
SS HB 616—Assessment of Property Taxes

TAXATION AND REVENUE - SALES AND USE
HB 111—Sales Tax Exemption for Used Manufactured Homes
SS HB 384—Taxation
SS SCS HCS HBs 517 & 754—Taxation
HB 869—Motor Vehicle Sales Tax
SCS SB 18—Sales Tax Law Modifications
SB 20—Sales and Use Tax Exemption (Vetoed)
HCS SS SCS SB 149—Tax Incentives for Data Storage
SCS SB 190—Kansas City Public Mass Transportation Sales Tax
HCS SB 231—Watercraft

TOBACCO PRODUCTS
HB 531—Liquid Nicotine Containers
SS SB 373—Alcohol and Tobacco Enforcement

TRANSPORTATION
See also Aircraft and Airports; Motor Vehicles

SS SCS HB 522, HB 34, HB 133, HB 134, HB 810, HB 338 & HB 873—
	 Highway and Bridge Designations
HB 650—Auxiliary Lighting on Motorcycles
CCS HCS SS SCS SB 5—Local Government
HCS SS SCS SB 12—Agriculture
HCS SB 156—Bridge and Highway Designations
SCS SB 190—Kansas City Public Mass Transportation Sales Tax
CCS#2 HCS SB 254—Motor Vehicles
SB 272—City of Columbia Commercial Zone
SB 474—Heroes Way Designation Program

TRANSPORTATION DEPARTMENT
SS SCS HB 522, HB 34, HB 133, HB 134, HB 810, HB 338 & HB 873—
	 Highway and Bridge Designations
HCS SB 156—Bridge and Highway Designations
SB 166—Special License Plates
SB 317—Conveyance of State Properties
SB 318—Highway Designations

TREASURER, STATE
HCS SS SCS SB 174—Missouri Achieving a Better Life Experience Program
SS SB 366—Missouri Higher Education Savings Program 

UNEMPLOYMENT COMPENSATION
HB 150—Unemployment Compensation (Vetoed)

UTILITIES
See also Energy

SS HB 92—Department of Natural Resources
HB 1119—Lineworker Appreciation Day
SS#3 SCS SB 142—Implementation Impact Reports (Vetoed)
CCS HCS SCS SB 445—Environmental Protection

VETERANS
See also Military Affairs; National Guard

HB 179—Veteran Designation on Driver’s Licenses
SCS HB 403—Veterans Awarded the Purple Heart

SS SCS HB 522, HB 34, HB 133, HB 134, HB 810, HB 338 & HB 873—
	 Highway and Bridge Designations
SCS HB 1070—Office of Military Advocate
HCS SCS SBs 34 & 105—Military, Overseas, and Absentee Voting
HCS SB 156—Bridge and Highway Designations
SB 318—Highway Designations
SB 474—Heroes Way Designation Program

VETOED BILLS
CCS SCS HCS HB 42—Elementary and Secondary Education
SS SCS HCS#2 HB 63—Persons Seeking Public Office(Passed over Veto)
SCS HCS HBs 116 & 569—Labor Organizations
HB 150—Unemployment Compensation
HB 326—Defined Benefit Pension Plans
SCS HCS HB 618—Disposition of Human Remains
HB 629—Public Retirement Systems
SS#2 HCS HB 722—Prohibited Ordinances by Political Subdivisions
SS SCS HB 799—Judicial Circuits
SCS HB 878—Corporate Security Advisors
HB 1022—Return of Premiums
SCS HB 1098—Bank and Trust Companies
SB 20—Sales and Use Tax Exemption
CCS HCS SS#2 SCS SB 24—Nonmedical Public Assistance (Passed over 

Veto)
CCS HCS SS SCS SB 67—Courts
SS#3 SCS SB 142—Implementation Impact Reports
SCS SB 224—A+ Schools Program
SCS SB 345—Financial Transactions

VICTIMS OF CRIME
See also Crimes and Punishment; Criminal Procedure

SB 141—Crime Victims’ Compensation Program
SCS SB 321—Court Orders of Protection
HCS SCS SB 341—Protection of Vulnerable Persons

VITAL STATISTICS
SCS HCS HB 618—Disposition of Human Remains (Vetoed)

WASTE - HAZARDOUS
See also Environmental Protection

SS HB 92—Department of Natural Resources

WASTE - SOLID
SS HB 92—Department of Natural Resources
CCS HCS SCS SB 445—Environmental Protection

WATER PATROL
See also Law Enforcement Officers and Agencies

HB 269—Fire Extinguishers on Motorboats
HCS SB 231—Watercraft

WATER RESOURCES AND WATER DISTRICTS
SS HB 92—Department of Natural Resources
HCS SB 231—Watercraft
SB 497—Special Purpose Districts
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BILLS STATISTICS 
2015 Regular Session 

Missouri General Assembly

Introduced Third Read* Truly Agreed Vetoed by 
the Governor

House Bills 1,340 252 58 12
House Joint Resolutions 52 5 0 0
House Appropriation Bills 19 18 18 0**
Senate Bills 529 129 55 6
Senate Joint Resolutions 15 3 2 0
TOTALS 1,955 401 131 18

*In chamber of origin
**Does not include line item vetoes
PREPARED BY HOUSE RESEARCH
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